Customer Reviews for

Jane Austen: Seven Novels (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

Average Rating 4.5
( 260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely gorgeous!

This edition of Jane Austen¿s seven novels is an example of book design of the highest order. The multiple color, embossed foil, leather cover is quite simply a work of art. It is very representative of the style of the Regency period, while still being unmistakably ori...
This edition of Jane Austen¿s seven novels is an example of book design of the highest order. The multiple color, embossed foil, leather cover is quite simply a work of art. It is very representative of the style of the Regency period, while still being unmistakably original. The detail and craftsmanship are stunning. The text of the book, while small, is generously leaded and is still highly and comfortably readable. The paper, while necessarily thin to accommodate seven novels without the book becoming bulky and unwieldy, still has a nice feel. I would have liked to have seen elements of the cover design carried through onto the title page in a more elegant way and also incorporated into the title page of each novel. But these are minor quibbles. This edition deserves a place in the library of anybody who admires the work of Jane Austen and/or is a fan of great book design.

posted by Anonymous on May 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The book has defects so look over carefully!

The two stars does not apply to Jane Austen but to the book itself. I bought one from B&N on line and the book (all the pages) were torn away from the cover. It just seemed to fall apart. I then went to the B&N store and I found the same to be true. Of the eight boo...
The two stars does not apply to Jane Austen but to the book itself. I bought one from B&N on line and the book (all the pages) were torn away from the cover. It just seemed to fall apart. I then went to the B&N store and I found the same to be true. Of the eight books they had I found only one that was acceptable. It is hard to notice this because they have been carefully wrapped in plastic (that was smart of them) so be sure to cut off the plastic and physically look at the beginning flap and the ending flap. Do not think you can fix it either - just do not buy it. I also finally found a copy of Anna Rice's Vampire Series leather bound book in a B&N store but here again be sure you physically look at the beginning and ending pages/cover as there were several with the same defect as Jane Austen. This holds true for all the leather bound books Barnes and Noble currently has on sale. The books have serious defects (this has nothing to do with being bargin priced) and they should never have been put up for sale. I am more than disappointed with Barnes & Noble for doing this and taking advantage of its book buying customers. I think this is a case of a large corporation trying to salvage a little money on a very bad product. Too bad.

posted by SusanVT on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Absolutely gorgeous!

    This edition of Jane Austen¿s seven novels is an example of book design of the highest order. The multiple color, embossed foil, leather cover is quite simply a work of art. It is very representative of the style of the Regency period, while still being unmistakably original. The detail and craftsmanship are stunning. The text of the book, while small, is generously leaded and is still highly and comfortably readable. The paper, while necessarily thin to accommodate seven novels without the book becoming bulky and unwieldy, still has a nice feel. I would have liked to have seen elements of the cover design carried through onto the title page in a more elegant way and also incorporated into the title page of each novel. But these are minor quibbles. This edition deserves a place in the library of anybody who admires the work of Jane Austen and/or is a fan of great book design.

    28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    Seven great stories for one great price.

    If you have never read a Jane Austen novel I thouroughly recomend it. Her romance is top notch weither it be comedic or dramatic. She has mastered the art of wit. Her characters are real and completly believable. You will be able to relate to the characters in one way or another. She uses the twists and turns of fate that pull people apart and then brings them back together. I truly love Jane Austen. The only thing bad I have found about this edition is that it is big. I find it harder to read hard back books of this size and weight, it becomes uncomfortable to hold. The price for it was fantastic and the binding is sure to endure the passing of time and the wear of being read. Plus it will look very pretty in your permanent library or as a gift. All around I give it an A+.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Beauty stands the test of time!

    I love this volume! It called to me from the moment I saw the gleam of gold in B&N's leatherbound classics collection. To the reviewer who disapproved of the size and paper quality of this lovely volume: I have had this gorgeous book brightening my living room, standing on edge, for over four months. Except for the dust 'blame my housekeeping' on the bright gilt page edges, it has remained completely stable. In regard to the paper, I find the smooth paper to have a lovely feel, reminiscent of older, beautifully illustrated books I own. The fine, thin grade of the paper is naturally necessary in order to include all seven works in a single volume. This book is a tremendous value for the money. I was recently thrilled to find that my local B&N had been able to restock the book, as it had been sold out for a couple of months, even online. I've bought four more as gifts! The store clerk told me the book is flying off the shelves. I expect it will sell out again soon.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Great meaning

    Amazing meanings to the story, beautiful conditions, a read at home book. I may only be going into junior high, but it is a beautiful story, I am going to get it for my b-day, and can't wait to read it! I advice you to get it.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    Great Buy for Book People

    I love that all of the Jane Austen novels are in included in this beautifully bound book. The cover is so elegant and the gold-edged pages just add to it! I am so happy I bought this book for my library. I do have to say that it is a bit inconvenient to try to read out of it because the book itself is so big. The font size is definitely small which does not bother me but may be bothersome for some. Great book to add to your library especially if you love antique/old-looking books!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Best Book Ever!

    This has got to be the very best compilation of Jane Austen books. It has all seven starting with Sense and Sensibility. It is made out of leather and has a wonderful artistic design of flowers and patterns and lovely colors to add. This is definitely a coffee table book and or permanent library book to keep as well. Its visually stunning and would add to the decor of any room, but most importantly its the kind of book you'll always cherish and keep. As i mentioned, it has ALL the Jane Austen books, which is great for traveling; you only take one book :) Plus it has a neat gold ribbon for bookmarking your pages and the edge of the pages are gold. Its just amazingly wonderful and Im really glad i purchased it because i plan to keep it as a collectors item for future generations. BUY IT!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One downfall

    The only thing I hate about this book is the fact that the print is so very tiny. I have perfect vision, and it's still hard for me to focus on the words or keep my place.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FIRST AND SPLENDID

    Many critics tell us that Austen's first novel, Sense and Sensibility, is not her best. So what? I don't compare Austen's books. I relish the gems they each contain in their own right.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Beautiful Leatherbound Book

    I got this book as a gift from my daughter and granddaughter for my birthday, and it is a beautiful book! I am a collector of Leatherbound books, and this book gives the higher priced book companies a run for their money quality wise. Order it today at a very reasonable price.
    You won't be disappointed!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    Jane Austen Rocks!

    All Austen's wonderful, timeless characters and stories bound into one beautiful book. It makes you feel elegant just holding it. The rhythm and cadence of her writing is timeless and transports you into another world. A book to keep forever to be read over and over, again. A wonderful gift for any avid reader.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Very Beautiful!

    Absolutely gorgeous! A must for any avid book collector.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A beautifully bound edition of a timelessly beautiful work

    This is a must have for all Jane Austen Collectors.
    This edition looks great alongside the other B&N leather bound editions.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Seven Novels, by Jane Austen.

    I am not finished reading this book. One can only have so much Jane Austen. I read Pride and Predjudice before and started reading Sense and Sensibility. My aunt Dodie wanted to borrow it, promising to read it quickly, but it has not yet been returned to my hands. I suppose I'll just have to wait. Do I really need to tell you anything about what a collection of wonderful books it is, when you know it's author is Jane Austen? I think not.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great investment

    A beautiful cover encapsulates all of Jane Austen's greatest literary works where they can be appreciated as one volume and read in a continual manner.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    Jane Austen's Seven Novels

    I love this book. Any true Austen fan would appreciate this novel in more ways than one. This book is the collector's item. What first drew me to the book, other than the fact that it has all her novels, but that its leather bound. Austen is in one of the most profound, scandalous writers, I have ever come to reader. For her time, she gave the public a true insight of what women over come in relationships, and how they are intended for survival. The way Austen writes is captivating. She dissects her characters to the core, so the reader feels like they actually know them. Overall, this is a must have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a Steal!

    This book has all 7 Austin stories and is gold edged, easy to read print and comes with its own built in book mark. It sells for only $19.99. It's a steal and a grand addition to any library. I love it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    For fans of Austen

    This is a great book if you want to consolidate your favorites from Austen--and it's a great price for a good quality book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    Great addition to any collection

    The novels are classic. They have been read, reviewed, and re-read many times over. But what makes THIS book great is how beautiful it is. I have a small library of hard bound books and this one just jumps off the shelf at you with its gold and blue printing on the spine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Austen Collection Is Gorgeous And Wonderful For Gifts As Well As Personal Collections

    One doesn't need to even speak for Jane Austen's works - it's so wonderful to get so many of them in one volume. But the best part is the book itself. I own a lot of these leather-bound titles, and they're lovely on the shelf or for a gift. I have to say I disagree that the books fall apart easily; I have not had that problem at all with any of them. I mean, it depends on the amount of wear and tear you treat a book with; if you leave it open spine up, constantly, or hold it by one side, I'm sure it would come apart eventually like any hardcover title. But I haven't had issue and neither have my friends I've bought them for (or, at least, they haven't said so).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    I've Been Wanting This Book Forever!!

    I love this book. Jane Austen is my favorite author. My husband gave this book to me as an anniversary gift, it brought tears to my eyes. It sits on my nightstand so that I can read a bit of it every night or so, sometimes I read to my husband. Thank you B&N for helping my hubby purchase the perfect gift!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10