Customer Reviews for

The Complete Tales and Poems of Edgar Allan Poe (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

Average Rating 4.5
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Great for a lover of creepy tales.

As long as you don't mind Poes writing style and language of an older time that most people would not be used to now it is a very interesting and entertaining read. A great way to pass the time during a cold winter night. Edgar Allen Poe in my opinion was one of the gr...
As long as you don't mind Poes writing style and language of an older time that most people would not be used to now it is a very interesting and entertaining read. A great way to pass the time during a cold winter night. Edgar Allen Poe in my opinion was one of the greatest writers of weird tales in our history, comparable to H.P. Lovecraft that came after him. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves weird,interesting, and sometimes terrifying tales.

posted by DandB on March 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I love this book, don't get me wrong, but it is missing quiet a

I love this book, don't get me wrong, but it is missing quiet a few of his works.

posted by Mickey3 on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for a lover of creepy tales.

    As long as you don't mind Poes writing style and language of an older time that most people would not be used to now it is a very interesting and entertaining read. A great way to pass the time during a cold winter night. Edgar Allen Poe in my opinion was one of the greatest writers of weird tales in our history, comparable to H.P. Lovecraft that came after him. I would recommend this book to anyone that loves weird,interesting, and sometimes terrifying tales.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Poe Fanatic, But With Good Reason

    If the cover doesn't say Poe I don't know what does (and I'm not talking his name in giant letters). Poe was a literary genius whose work is often left out of many class rooms. The imagine of Poe being dark and depressing is not nearly the whole story as this book proves. Poe planted the seeds for present day Mystery and Sci-Fi. Poe was a genius and I only dock him points on Writing Style because it's a challange for most people to read though his more famous work (such as the Tell Tale heart) are easier, but in by no means a children's story.<BR/><BR/>Poe was more than the common person now thinks him to be.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Uh OH

    I really wanted this book and my mom got it for me for Christmas. I was very happy until I opened it. Every page was bent and damaged like someone had taken a hammer to the sides and dented the pages. I was very upset. We ordered it online and it looked fine from the outside with the exception of a few dents. The font is small, and sometimes can be hard to read.

    Over all, I give this book 5 stars because it's Poe, but if I were rating my damaged copy, I'd give it a 1. CHECK YOUR COPY BEFORE YOU BUY IT!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fabulous Book

    Edgar Allen Poe is one of my all-time favorite poets, and it's great to have all of his short stories and poems in this one book. I recommend it, great layout in the book, and exquisite cover. Definitely a keeper for personal libraries.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Gift

    This book looks really awesome and was the perfect gift to give for Christmas (and it was very affordable).

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Its Edgar Allan Poe...what more can I say?

    I've wanted a complete works for a long time and I saw this one and I had to have it...right price, beautiful cover...it was worth it

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tales+Poems of Edgar Allen Poe

    Even before reading his collection, I was a fan of his writing style. It related most on what kind of poems and stories i tend to write myself. I feel like the girl version of Edgar Allen Poe. As in The raven, "Nevermore."

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    It goes without saying that E.A. Poe is probably the greatest American author of all time, so the work contained within is not only outstanding, but truly worthy of being called masterpiece. What's even better, is that the publisher has done a great job of creating a container that suits the body of work within.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2005

    The Best Edgar Allan Poe Collection Ever!

    I believe that Mark Twain once said: 'The man that does not read good books has no advantage over the man who can't'. I very deeply believe in that quote, even though I'm only 13, and have a lifetime to read, I just love the way Mr. Poe was able to take the world's depressive nature and, somehow, make it somewhat bearable. It isn't often that a person is given the talent to write down their feelings so well, and make them so interesting. I am amazed that Barnes and Noble is able to make such a high quality product, yet sell it for such a great price. This is the sort of book that you can be a little rough with, and, unless you: gave it to your dog as a chew toy, left it out in the rain, and then set it on fire I don't think that you could destroy this book. I'm not exaggerating, this is the kind of book that can be passed down for generations. Thank you Barnes and Noble, for this, and the many other affordable classics that you have published, so that readers, like myself, are able to buy several great books for the price of what one classic by another company would cost.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Very suprised

    Horror terrifies me so I was very squemish about purchasing works by the "Master of Horror." I purchased this book for three reasons: it contains my favorite poem, a friend of mine got me interested, and the cover beckoned to me. I am very pleased with my purchase. I have read all the poems and one story. Very beautiful book. The pages are gilded, but with silver instead of gold.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Always and Forever a Fan of E.A. Poe

    I have loved Edgar Allan Poe since I was a child. My brother used to read them to me when I was little....yes, when I was little. I grew very fond of Poe, thanks to my brother. As I got older and was able to read, I loved to read Poe, every chance I got. When I was in my mid-teens my parents purchased a complete works, book for me for Christmas. But recently I found things were missing.....Poe's Alone and some others. Seeing as my copy was worn, I came across this on the website and feel in love with the cover and the inside page...and learned that it contained the works that weren't in my copy. So I skidaddled, out the door the next day having read the reviews, and me quite pleased with them.
    I am so incredibly in love with this book its not even funny. Its cool,
    and it contains every bit of Poe literature anyone Poe fan could possibly every have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Amazing!

    Amazing book. I just started it and I love it! The quality of the cover and pages are amazing. Buy it! Buy all of the Leatherbound classics. Think about it. If some of these stories (for some odd reason), go out of print, the value of the book will go up. I'm sure that in a few decades, this book will be worth a lot! Such a good book and really good quality.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an amazing Author, Book, and its def. a must have!

    I got this book for my graduation, an i have been looking at it and reading it all the time. I love to read with the darker feel to the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    excellent choice

    This book is very beautifully done and wonderfully put together. Any Poe fan should have this in their collection. I am very happy with it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    A truly great collection.

    A must for any personnel library. The stories are very interesting and can make you think of how the modern authors must have studied POE in there course work. This book can be read anytime of the year but all the more fun in the gloomy fall or when it is night time :) Poe is one author that you have to read and read again just see all the hidden meanings and the forshadowing. I really love reading Poe's works so I'm a little biased towards his works :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    exceptional

    exceptional

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Excellent! This product is very nice and convenient. Edgar Allen

    Excellent!
    This product is very nice and convenient. Edgar Allen Poe is one of the greatest writers in history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Love this book

    Absolutely gorgeous edition.... I'd forgotten how many of his stories I had read before, til I started flipping thru. I can't wait to read the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Poe for Life

    The best complete collection I have ever owned. This would be an excellent gift as well if you can only part with it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    I highly recommend this, as well as all the others in this Leatherbound Classics series!

    Rarely do you see these classic pieces of literature rendered with such sophisticated elegance and beauty, faithfully honoring and respecting the equally unique, creative literary material loved by generations of readers. I have been enjoying them all, and eagerly look forward to each new addition to the series.

    Hopefully, the publisher (who appears to be unreachable) will keep releasing more of these fine collected works, including such classic writers as Baum, Milne, Kipling, Twain, London, Melville, Hemingway, Stoker, Shelley, as well as other poets like Virgil, Longfellow, Keats, Eliot, Hawthorne, and Blake.

    Time will tell, but hope is alive. Get on board with these fantastic masterpieces of literature, and be swept away in worlds of imagination!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9