Customer Reviews for

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

Average Rating 4.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(133)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Best Complete Edition

This complete works of William Shakespeare are for people who do not feel the need/want footnotes that explain parts of the plays in detail like those that are available in books that contain only one of his plays such as the Folger edition for example. Despite of this,...
This complete works of William Shakespeare are for people who do not feel the need/want footnotes that explain parts of the plays in detail like those that are available in books that contain only one of his plays such as the Folger edition for example. Despite of this, for the true Shakespearen fan this book is great because every time a character's name appears in the plays their names are written in full. This is unlike some complete works of Shakespeare that introduces the characters but then shorthands their name at a beginning of a character's line. The typing is easy to read and beautiful. It's also a beautiful hardcover that any book lover would be proud to display on his/her bookshelf. Plus, it comes with it's own golden bookmark attached to the book so you can keep your place. A great book to read from cover to cover if your a Shakespeare fan whether this is your first time through some of his plays or the third or fourth time.

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

NO FOOTNOTES no line numbers

This book is horrible. THere are no footnotes in the whole book. B&N should change this book and include footnotes. THere are also no line numbers line numbers line numbers line numbers.

posted by Anonymous on March 17, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2007

    Best Complete Edition

    This complete works of William Shakespeare are for people who do not feel the need/want footnotes that explain parts of the plays in detail like those that are available in books that contain only one of his plays such as the Folger edition for example. Despite of this, for the true Shakespearen fan this book is great because every time a character's name appears in the plays their names are written in full. This is unlike some complete works of Shakespeare that introduces the characters but then shorthands their name at a beginning of a character's line. The typing is easy to read and beautiful. It's also a beautiful hardcover that any book lover would be proud to display on his/her bookshelf. Plus, it comes with it's own golden bookmark attached to the book so you can keep your place. A great book to read from cover to cover if your a Shakespeare fan whether this is your first time through some of his plays or the third or fourth time.

    48 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    This is the ultimate Shakespeare book!

    If I could only have only one Shakespeare edition to take to a desert island, this would be the one! This is simply the most beuatiful one-volume compilation of Shakespeare available. It's all here: all 37 plays in chronological order, all the sonnets and non-dramatic poems (as well as the tributes by Ben Johnson and other Shakespeare contemporaries in the front). The vintage typeset/lettering is so elegant and classic looking--it looks definative in a way that no other modern printing matches. Locations of scenes are helpfully listed below each act and scene heading (I wish more editions still did this). And, of course, the leather binding and gold leaf edges are a real treat. This is not the edition for people who want a lot of footnotes, but so what? (that would be like putting ketchup on a prime aged steak). I can't recommend this edition enough, and I hope it never goes out of print!

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    A great bargain for what should be an expensive book.

    It's such a beautiful book that Barne's and Noble should move the decimal of the price to the right one space. Sometimes when you purchase Shakespeare's seperate stories they cut some of the lines out. This book has every line and scene. Definately worth buying.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    Tremendous buy

    Many compilations of Shakespeare's works are available, some ranging to well over $100, yet I have found none that are as well assembled, readable, displayable, and purely economical as the Barnes and Noble copy listed here. It is an indespensible addition to your library, and just think, you'll never have to purchase another Shakespeare book...

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    Beautiful leather cover.

    Very nice book for a family or personal library... classic literature to admire and use!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    An Outstanding Presentation of Shakespeare

    A single volume containing all of William Shakespeare's works is a wonder by itself. With Professor Peter Alexander's skillful editing and wonderful understanding of Shakespeare, the works gain improved readability. His chronological layout removes the traditional categories of histories, tragedies, and comedies. To fully enjoy the book, one must read it from the beginning¿focusing on each work and its progressive complexity. The beautiful binding makes this book suitable for any room in the house. I leave mine open on my desk for daily reading.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    A wonderful leather-bound classic for anyone's library

    I purchased this for my grandson for Christmas. He felt he received something wonderful, and I know he will add it to his collection of books. He enjoyed having all of Shakespeare in one volume. An excellent bargain for the price and a quality volume!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The price is right!

    Recently I have become fond of the works of Shakespeare, so I decided to purchase his complete works. Although the font is a bit small and looks a bit cheap, it is a great deal. I just enjoy his work, I wasn't looking for a book with footnotes, a commentary, and line numbers, I just wanted his works...period. Thats what I got as well. The book is a bit large for a nice read at the beach or poolside, but it would suite for reading by the fire on a nice comfy chair. The outside is very aesthetically appealing, and it makes a great addition to your library. All in all, if you are just a casual reader that enjoys the works of Shakespear I do recommend this book, the price is right! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Amazing

    Shakespeare at his finest, this collection is perfect for anyone who loves to read Shakespeare. It has all of his works including his Plays and his Sonnets. An excellent gift for any Shakespeare enthusiast, also makes an excellent display for your bookcase!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    A Wonderful Edition To A Classic Library!

    I'm a lover of William Shakespeare, so upon finding an edition including all of his works, I had to have it. All of his plays are thrilling and his poems are masterfully composed. With all his works, one doesn't have to buy his plays individually. I recommend this to any Shakespeare-lover, or anyone who is interested in him. (This book does not include footnotes, so if one is not used to his writing, it might be challenging.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    review

    Even though I find this difficult to read, not because of the small print, I can still understand what he's saying. The plays seem kind of whacked out, but are beautifully written. The leather and gold edges really showcase this magnificent edition. The print is a little small, but is readable.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "A horse, a horse, My book for a horse!"

    This Complete Works of Shakespeare is magnificent. It includes all of the poems: Phoenix and the Turtle. Venus and Adonis, Lucrece, The Passionate Pilgrim, A lover's complaint and the sonnets. The poems are very hard to find anywhere much less in a complete works (which rarely gets it right anyway). But this version is the best of the Complete Works of Shakespeare you could get. However, on the note of "Complete Works'" rarely getting it right, this one is guilty of the same sin unfortunately. This version of "The Complete Works of Shakespeare" very unfortunately omits "The Two Noble Kinsmen". Not to complain, because this version is still the best "Complete Works". But I guess that it technically doesn't live up to its name in that the works are not complete. Many would argue that this is because John Fletcher wrote half of "The Two Noble Kinsmen" but Shakespeare did write half nonetheless so "Kinsmen" should be included i his complete works. other than that small complaint, this version is flawless and it smells really good :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This edition will be so pretty on your bookshelf

    When I was in sixth grade I stole a copy of his complete works from my town library and read it for years. This edition is way better. It's leather-bound, so it even smells good! I found the print to be on the smaller side- but dark, so it wasn't hard on the eyes. I fell in love with the design on the back cover so much that I actually had it tattooed on my back. Not kidding. Anyway, if you are thinking of gifting this book, YES do it, so the local library's copy won't come up missing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Complete Works of William Shakespeare is an excellent book to keep in one's library. Depending upon your mood, you can choose from the stories given.

    After having purchased my own copy of the book, I purchased this particular one for my sister. It has a gorgeous cover that looks quite nice on the coffee table. Although I don't have as much time as I would like to read since I am a student, the ribbon inside the book makes it easy to just pick up and continue where I left off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is awesome, it contains all the works by William Shakespeare. This man was brilliant. I got it when they had it on sale and it was a great book for a great price. Get it while its still on and even if the sale is over, the price is not above the range of the average consumer. I recommend this to all the fans of William Shakespeare.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2004

    Great Book

    Being fifteen and a shakespeare lover, this book really helped me to define his great literature and get into the book. i love this book and i share it with everyone i know. i hope everyone gets to enjoy it! if you do need help to read this book, i would suggest buying A READERS GUIDE TO SHAKESPEARE BY JOSEPH ROSENBLUM before purchasing this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    highly Recommended - money well spent!

    Worth every dollar! bought it as a xmas gift, and needless to say it was a hit. perfect for any collector or book lover, it's so regal and beautiful the cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Beautiful Books

    This line of B & N Collectible Editions is beautiful. My daughter collects them, and this is a Christmas gift, so I can't review the content for you. The cover and gold edged pages make these books extra special, and a great value, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    A true classic! You can't beat it. Still very relevant today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Edition

    This is a beautifully bound edition of Shakespeare's complete works. It is great value and would make a wonderful gift for a Shakespeare fan. It looks great on the book shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7