Customer Reviews for

The Vampire Chronicles: Interview with a Vampire, The Vampire Lestat, and The Queen of the Damned (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

Average Rating 4.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(97)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Not for tweens and teens, an excellent read!

The Anne Rice vampire series is engaging and excellent. If you expect a tween/teen "Twilight" series, then definitely don't read these. This series is for mature readers, it is detailed, interesting, and you will wonder if vampires were real. The settings and time peri...
The Anne Rice vampire series is engaging and excellent. If you expect a tween/teen "Twilight" series, then definitely don't read these. This series is for mature readers, it is detailed, interesting, and you will wonder if vampires were real. The settings and time periods are meticulously accurate and contributes to the dark possibility of the actual existence of vampires. Anne Rice's books pique interest in the reader to the historical origins of the concept of vampires, and her interpretation adds a current perspective to the mystique of the classic "Dracula" vampire. I read the series when they were published, many years ago, and still maintain the series as one of my favorite reads.

posted by 1850772 on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Leather Binding leaves much to be desired!

The leather binding leaves black smudge marks on your hands while holding the book. Beware!!

posted by SusanVT on February 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for tweens and teens, an excellent read!

    The Anne Rice vampire series is engaging and excellent. If you expect a tween/teen "Twilight" series, then definitely don't read these. This series is for mature readers, it is detailed, interesting, and you will wonder if vampires were real. The settings and time periods are meticulously accurate and contributes to the dark possibility of the actual existence of vampires. Anne Rice's books pique interest in the reader to the historical origins of the concept of vampires, and her interpretation adds a current perspective to the mystique of the classic "Dracula" vampire. I read the series when they were published, many years ago, and still maintain the series as one of my favorite reads.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Vampire Tales By Rice In GORGEOUS Leather Collection!!!

    This is one for the permanent collection. I got it as a gift for a friend and decided to keep it. I had to buy an extra one for her! Three of Rice's best novels are together so you can read one and go straight to the next. The book itself is so lovely - it really looks fabulous on the shelf (with a New Orleans feel to the wrought-iron engraved on the leather). I have several of these collectible edition titles and this one is my favorite.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "Real" Vampires!!!

    Unfortunately, I have to agree with a couple of people here who have stated that if not for Anne Rice's reinvention of the vampire, we would not have Twilight, True Blood, and The Vampire Diaries right now. That said, we can not hold it against Miss Rice to have written a stunning series of novels on what is possibly the greatest creature of the night: the Vampire.

    Rice's vampires are as genuine as you could imagine for what they are. They deal with the curse of eternity the way most human beings would: very bitterly. They present a very unique situation in that they are humans trying to come to terms with not being human anymore. Modern vampires just don't spark on this extremely essential issue; the rules have been so switched around that there isn't a vampire story out there that isn't about a "forbidden" romance that is no more forbidden or impractical that Hugh Hefner and his Bunnies. Rice presents the real meat and potatoes of what a vampire is, and she presents it brilliantly.

    Both of Rice's main characters have to deal with the pain of not being able to live and behave like a normal human being. Louis despises his condition; he is totally averse to murdering a human being for survival, and spends his time trying to atone for the way of "life" he is forced to live. Lestat, on the other hand, is perfectly comfortable with the essential rules of being a vampire, and even goes so far as to openly walk among human beings bearing the truth of what he is (fortunately for him, very few take him at his word). The constant prevelance of sex in modern vampire literature is totally absent; Rice's vampires actually state fairly regularly that the satisfaction of their bloodlust is far better than human intimacy, and that they have no sexual drive whatsoever.

    The Vampire Chronicles (mind you, this is only the first three books of it, although they are the most essential ones) are a timeless presentation of the dark world of a vampire. They remind us to value our time on earth as what we are, and when the time comes, to value that we will eventually die. Extremely humanistic in nature, they are a tragic and yet compelling observation of many of the themes of human nature. They are a challenging but worthwhile read, and their stories stay with you long after you set them down. Five out of five, and in my opinion, an absolute necessity to take in at some point in your life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The book that started it all

    If it was not for Anne Rice and her redemption of what the life of a Vampire is really about then we would not have Twilight, True Blood and the Vampire Diaries. If you have never read the books and was just satisfied with the movies that were based on the book - then your missing out. Take a step back from all the new stuff and read the original.

    I am a huge Anne Rice fan and even though she has left the supernatural. Her style of story telling is classic and has carried with her into the new books about Jesus.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Great book

    I love collecting books. Especially classics in Leatherbound. Great for collecting and saving for children who loves books too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Vampire Chronicles are back in a hardcover and leather-bound edition!

    Read Interview With a Vampire as Louis tells his story of being turned and struggles with the loss of his humanity; or The Vampire Lestat, his maker, who has reasons of his own for becoming the monster he is; or the mother of them all in Queen of The Damned. Beautifully written! For those who haven't read Anne Rice, she is the author who started this phenomenal genre that has since taken the world by storm by writing The Vampire Chronicles and The Mayfair Witches. She literally brought them to life on the page and captivated most of us with their tales.

    I've read all of The Vampire Chronicles but in paperback. I decided it would be great to have them in a leather bound edition for my collection, so I bought this beautiful classic edition for my personal library. For those who haven't read them this would be a good way to collect and read them for yourselves. However, I must alert you to the fact that this volume doesn't contain all of the vampire stories written by Anne Rice. But it can be a nice addition to any library, or a great gift for that Anne Rice fan. I don't know if the publisher will be turning out other volumes with the rest of the stories or not. Let's hope so. It would be a shame not to.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must have!

    This is a big book containing Anne Rice's best works, incl. Interview with the Vampire". I had read these when I was younger and once this came out, I had to have it for it's vintage look. It's a great book and looks nice, too, sitting on the bookshelf. However, it's got some marvelous novels inside that anyone interested in vampire reading should definetely get.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    This is what vampires are all about not sparkly like a fairy.

    This is what vampires are all about not sparkly like a fairy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Truthfully a timeless book

    This is my first time reading Anne Rice vampire stories and I am blow away. I love vampires and stories make them feel so real. I can't ask for more and I couldn't put down the book till I read all the way through. Truthfully great original stories. The book it self is great and I love the look of it next to my "leather" bound Dracula book. Someone said something about getting black on there hand from the cover and I have not had that happen to me nor do I think that will happen. the cover is really cool, while it's not real leather, it is pretty cool looking and will hold up really well. Also last thank you to B&N for making this great book(s) available in such a cool format.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you like vampires...and I mean the true history of vampires this is the series to read, and to own! I love that they have put all the books into one and the perment red satin bookmark completes the remake of an amazing Author...Anne Rice...

    These series are one that you should have in your collection. If you are into reading about Vampires, and the history that goes into them then this is a series you will def. want!
    Anne Rice is a very talented author she keeps you wanting more each page that you read...she is very discriptive when it comes to describing each character, feeling, back ground, that it takes you into the book and wanting more!
    My favorite out of all the three in this collection book is the Queen of the Damned...
    Vampires have always and should always be portrayed as what they really truly are, and Anne Rice captures that in every aspect!
    You will not be dissapointed in this series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great collection of novels that looks so pretty...

    I'm really happy that they made this collection of Anne Rice's vampire saga with Lestat. Not only is the book really pretty but it got me to finally be able to read Queen of the Damned along with the other two. Her tales are sensual and beautiful - her writing is poetic. It's not teenager fiction, although when I first read the first two books I was a teenager. Recommended for all mature ages (but there isn't lots of sex or anything; just great stories). Great for gift-giving, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Leather Binding leaves much to be desired!

    The leather binding leaves black smudge marks on your hands while holding the book. Beware!!

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Gift

    I haven't actually read from this book, but I have read all of the Anne Rice novels. All of them are great. This book was an excellent gift for students who follow the vampire craze. I thought they would enjoy reading from one of the classic writers. She's no Dracula, but she made vampires hot. A great book to help broaden the horizons of your student.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Anne Rice's Vampire Chronicles is awesome!

    This is an amazing book of three of Anne Rice's best Vampire stories. I loved it. The characters are geat! If you love details and worlds of luxery and elegance and Dark fantasy, then you will love these books. The leather bound cover on this trilogy will look great in anyone's library collection. These are fnatastic books that i would reccommend to anyone who is an Anne Rice or Vampire lover.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    the vampire chronicles

    i enjoy reading anne rice's books ... her vampire stories are great ... i love the plot ... even the details within the stories ... these are great reads, i consider this volume to be part of my classic reads collection ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love these "collector edition" books

    I love the classical design of these books. It was a little disappointing to find the new "colorful" covers compared to the traditional black/maroon ones, but I have since got over that and enjoy the quality of the design in these series. The book/author speak for themselves. I absolutely recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not for Everyone!

    I checked these books out on a whim, because I have met a lot of people who swore by them and I thoroughly enjoyed the movies.

    If you like easy reads, as I do, these books might not be for you. They are very exposition heavy. I find the prose to be stifled and mired down with details. The characters are well developed. Yet they are too introverted, insecure, neurotic, morose, contrite and self-absorbed for my taste. The last place I ever wanted to be was stuck in the mind of introverted, insecure, neurotic, morose, contrite and self-absorbed vampires; who have done little with their extended-lives but exist in their own heads for centuries and brood. I'm sorry; but tall, dark and brooding is nothing that I find at all attractive. I found myself cringing. At least reading these books made me feel very glad to be an extrovert. I mean, Lestat, whom is supposed to be extremely gregarious...he seems so in the movies, at least...seemed introverted, almost painfully so in the books.

    I also found there to be very little humor, sarcasm and satire in these books; which is something I strongly desire in a novel. They also seemed to be lacking in the romance department, another element that I find myself drawn to. This book is a little too much delodrama, not enough har-dee-har. I don't like drama. I don't let drama into my life and I certainly don't want to escape into a book that is chock full of it to the point it becomes Drama Stew where the veggies are first simmered in lard. There's a recipe I don't want.

    I found myself extremely bored while attempting to read these. I found there to be no real story-arch or overall plot. I mean, I felt like I kept reading and reading and reading and thinking to myself, "Get on with it," especially since absolutely nothing was happening. Granted, it's very original, but who wants to take the road less traveled if it's a long road leading to nowhere? It takes its time getting to any real action and the action is so very anti-climatic that by the time I got there, I threw in the towel and gave up on these tomes.

    I swear by fantasy and paranormal romance for teens and adults!

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Beautiful collector's book!

    I love the collectible books from B&N! Beautiful book. So happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    The first three books of the Vampire Chronicles are in this beau

    The first three books of the Vampire Chronicles are in this beautiful leatherbound edition. The book matches well with the rest of my collection & I look forward to adding to it. The cover is incredibly beautiful with an old rustic look and gold leaf design on the pages. This book is a must have for any Rice fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    I love the appearance but afraid to buy it; you'll see dozens of

    I love the appearance but afraid to buy it; you'll see dozens of published books where it has all three (maybe four) books of the Vampire Chronicles but never release a second volume. As much as I love these books and wish I can worship them properly in hardback, I want to make sure that the second and perhaps third volume will follow. I hate having book collections uneven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8