BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Wicked/Son of a Witch (Barnes & Noble Collectible Editions)

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wicked good

I loved these books and I was pleased to find them in this great looking volume. I found myself unable to tear away from these stories. What the author has done by fleshing out characters we thought we knew and giving them histories that place them in completely new c...
I loved these books and I was pleased to find them in this great looking volume. I found myself unable to tear away from these stories. What the author has done by fleshing out characters we thought we knew and giving them histories that place them in completely new context was brilliant. These stories however are not child friendly. With issues such as oppression of minorities, terrorism, adultery and the search for redemption to name a few I would strongly recommend that parents read the books first before deciding if it is something they want their kids reading by themselves.

posted by WilV on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Left me wondering how they ever made this into a Kid-friendly Musical

I would call this book a character exploration into how the wicked witch of the west (and her sister) became known as "wicked". Maguire does an excellent job of introducing his heroine/villan as likeable and passionate. All the imagination behind the characters I would...
I would call this book a character exploration into how the wicked witch of the west (and her sister) became known as "wicked". Maguire does an excellent job of introducing his heroine/villan as likeable and passionate. All the imagination behind the characters I would consider fantastic.

The Plot was rather loose, jumpy, and almost pointless/nonexistant.

The other thing for me, which I definitely could have done without was all the gratuitous and elluded to sex. It was over the top - the onlye sex mentioned in fact would be "forbidden sex" (ie- adultry, beastiality, homosexual) No "clean" sex at all. And all the debaucherous images of nudity left me with the feeling that Maguire is a pervert who would get a kick out of sharing his depraved fantasies with a more innocent mind for at least the shock value if nothing else.

Some may be able to edit those sickening scenes out of the book and be left with the gorgeous characterizations and have a good impression of the talent of Maguire (for in my opinion he is as equally talented as he is excessively wanton).

But I could not get rid of the dirty feeling I got from reading this book - and still am left wondering #1 was it really necessary to have those licentious scenes at all? and #2 how did they make this into a family friendly musical?

posted by Hosanna on February 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wicked good

    I loved these books and I was pleased to find them in this great looking volume. I found myself unable to tear away from these stories. What the author has done by fleshing out characters we thought we knew and giving them histories that place them in completely new context was brilliant. These stories however are not child friendly. With issues such as oppression of minorities, terrorism, adultery and the search for redemption to name a few I would strongly recommend that parents read the books first before deciding if it is something they want their kids reading by themselves.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Fantastic!

    When I saw that both Wicked and Son of a Witch had been put into such a beautiful cover I was uber excited. I have already read both and also A Lion Amoung Men. This series will become a classic and I love that it was put into such a classic looking cover.
    This story of the Wicked Witch of the West and her history has changed how I see her in the movie The Wizard of Oz. I do feel there are a few scenes in the book that are not necessary to the story line that are of a sexual nature and also it irritates me that there is profanity. I was hoping that my daughter would be able to read this as well and I will have to wait a few years until she is old enough.
    Other than that, this book takes you on a ride that you don't want to end. It is a must read and a keeper.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book As Wickedly Beautiful As The Stories Within....

    This is a wonderful keepsake book for anyone's personal library. Great to give as a gift for someone who loved the broadway play "Wicked" and wonders what happens next.

    I think if you see the "Wicked', the play, first it definitely makes these written stories easier to read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Favorite book of all time in this beautiful compilation? How could I lose?!?

    Wicked is my favorite book of all time, along with other books Gregory Maguire has written. When I first saw this, I couldn't get over how stunning it was, and of course I was freaking out because I absolutely love the musical as well, and they put the musical logo right smack dab in the center! I think it's wonderful that they put the first 2 books together, and I am so glad I've added it to my collection. With 2 wonderful books bound in this beautiful leather, the price is extremely reasonable and a must-have for any Wicked fan out there!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Gorgeous

    Beautifully bound, vibrant colors, and a perfect addition to my library!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well worth the confusifying terms!

    I cannot tell a lie. Starting this book was like jumpstarting my Green Geo-Tracker, that was probably worth more in scrap metal; it took many tries to get going. However, after 50 pages in, I realized just how difficult it was to let it go. Re-imagining L. Frank Baum's original novel, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, is adventuresome, but to take the 1939 American classic, The Wizard of Oz, and give it a dark twist? That takes…courage. Yes, that pun was intended.

    The incredible imagination of Gregory Maguire kept me hypnotized, trying to crack open the deep connections between every character, every moment, every unsuspected turn. Wicked, at times, baffled this reader by often cutting me off just in a moment of comprehension, leaving important significance dangling, just out of reach. The green heroin Elphaba, or the Wicked Witch of the West, endures one misfortune after the other, giving an inside look to the complexity of good and evil, by stretching out all the shades of gray in her life, as well as the rest of Oz.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    Wicked

    This book is absolutely beautiful and so is the story. I read Wicked and I loved it. The book is so pretty though and I keep stroking the cover. I'd buy this again any day to give as a gift. It's amazing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    Its Just Wicked!

    I am probably one of the biggest fans in the world of The Wizard of Oz and most people don't like Wicked who love the Wizard of Oz... I on the other hand love it! I love how Gregory Maguire made the story of Elphaba come to life and truly explained why/ how the Wizard of Oz came to be! I love it and I encourage others to give it a chance!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book all around

    I made the choice to see the play first and then purchase the book, which was probably a mistake as the book is so much better. Don't get me wrong, I loved the play but the book opens doors to the world of Oz that was never explained in the play. I decided to read this book for a light read after reading a very dark and heavy book "The Cult that Died." I wouldn't say its the lightest book, but it definitely takes you away to a world of fantasy and wonder.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book!

    I have not been able to put this down. I am finally on the second book Son of a Witch, I do have to say this part is just as good. I can't wait to start the book Wicked the life and times of the wicked witch.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    I really hope that they would do another bind up of the next two

    I really hope that they would do another bind up of the next two books in the Wicked series. That way the whole collection would look nice and beautiful on my bookshelf. This is such a eye catching edition. I hope they carry it on to the next two books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    I have loved reading this novel it is incredable deatailed I lov

    I have loved reading this novel it is incredable deatailed I love his works and will continue to read them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    I am a long-time fan of Gregory Maguire's work, and The Wicked


    I am a long-time fan of Gregory Maguire's work, and The Wicked Years, particularly the first novel, is definitely his chef d'oeuvre. Few modern authors possess his ability to weave a fantastical tale so beautifully.
    Those accustomed to the light-hearted musical that was VERY LOOSELY BASED (I cannot stress this point enough; it was never intended to be an adaptation of the book) upon the novel may be disappointed, but that's unsurprising. The musical, or Wicked Lite, as I like to call it, is wonderful, but designed to attract a wide audience. The novel, with its plethora of characters and terms to remember, and a rich vocabulary beyond that of your average reader, may be somewhat off-putting to non-bibliophiles.
    Those complaining about the sex, violence, and so-called depravity in the novel would be better off sticking to children's literature. This is one of Maguire's ADULT novels, and is meant to be read by adults. The sex and violence are by no means gratuitous; the at times ugly, realness behind the lure of Oz would not be apparent without such examples. (In any case, I cannot comprehend why any homophobe would pick up an openly gay author's work, and be shocked to find examples of non-tradition sex within its pages.)
    The Wicked Years are an exquisite read for anyone possessing the necessary vocabulary and maturity to enjoy the work. Maguire's other novels are well worth discovering, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Don't blame the Witch

    Aw man! I'm heavy into Wicked. Can't put it down! Now I'd read the reviews about Wicked and got to hear some pretty interesting things about it. Herd it's really hard to come by, lot of hard names, and most of all lot of graphic sex. Kay I'll admit I'm not done reading it but I can see what people mean. This book is not for kids. Will never let my kids read it until they were 13+. But hey here is the thing we're reading about the Wicked Witch of the West. Her story is not going to be kid friendly. So I can understand why it's graphic. But man! This is a good book. Now I'm not the biggest fan of Wicked. Haven't seen the musical but I'm a fan. The characters to me are interesting. The author made me dislike Elphaba and her sister's mom Melena. Further on in the book he made Elphaba beast! He just took The Wicked Witch of the West and overdosed her on Viagra! I mean I'm so into Wicked that I changed my avatar into a Witch to represent beastiness that is call Elphaba. Aw man. Now hearing my review I'm still not the biggest fan. But your dang on right that I'm a fan. And plus I get this awesome B&N Leatherbound classic edition which makes the book beast to the 20th power!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    marvelous

    it is an outstanding book and is great for all ages!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the musical (and more mature, too)

    I am a big fan of legitimate theatre, and after seeing Wicked I decided to read the novel. I was very happy with what I saw. Unlike the family-oriented musical, Wicked is a very dramatic and thought-provoking look into the past. I enjoyed the author's writing style, even though he seemed to be putting too much emphasis into an unnecessarily large vocabulary. I would recommend this book to anyone above the age of 13. I was just as pleased with the second book in the series, Son of a Witch. Maguire did it again with his memorable characters and enthralling storyline. I can't say much without spoiling anything, so I'll just say, "READ IT!" It is a fantastic piece of literature that should belong in everyone's library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely awesome.

    When I realized that Wicked was the untold story of the Wicked Witch of the West, I grabbed that book up. This is absolutely one book I was walking around with wherever I went just in case I had time to read. When I was finished reading Wicked I automatically started pricing the shows in NYC.<BR/>Son of the Witch tells the story of her son Liir. It was a little slow in starting but quickly got better. <BR/>I highly recommend reading these.<BR/>Next on my hit list is A Lion Among Men the third book in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    Wickedly Awsome

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE it. Although I am still reading book #1 entitled, Wicked and have not yet gotten to Son of a Witch yet, I am just absolutley in love with this book. I not only own this book with the 1st novels in it but I also have A Lion Among Men as well and cant wait to get to that one too. I am so happy with this book that it is not even funny. I am so happy that they turned this book into a broadway production which is also a must see and the cd is also a "must have" thing. I love to listen to the cd while reading this book. The characters are stupendous and so is the plot. If you are very familiar with The Wizard of Oz, then when you read this book, it sort of opens your mind on the whole thhing and you think: "wait a minute this totally ties in!" I love how Gregory Maguire put his twist on the Wizard of Oz and made it his, because as I said in the previous sentence, his perspective of Wizard of OZ, totally makes you think of how the story actually is before the movie when these characters were in their youth' it sort of makes sense on how his characters in his book, mature into the characters in the wizard of oz movie....its almost so eerie.<BR/>So, go and buy it NOW; The book cover is awsome and so pretty and attractive in its awsome shade of green.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great collector's edition style book!

    I actually already have a copy of Wicked (paperback), but when I was going to get Son of a Witch, I saw this book in the "Wicked Halloween" promotion, and thought it would be a great thing to get. It's a beautiful book, leatherbound, gold leaf, and a green ribbon for bookmarking.<BR/><BR/>As for the Wicked story, it's a good look into a possible reason for why a person could be seen as so evil and not be. Does the witch do bad things? Yes. Does the ends justify the means? Maybe yes, maybe no... However, I will say... I always thought the Wizard was a bit shady... I mean... No matter how evil the wicked witch may be... The Wizard is sending an 11 year old girl to kill her. To murder her. To assassinate her. How is that not kinda shady, if not outright evil himself?<BR/><BR/>I cannot yet comment on Son of a Witch, as I said, I got this book instead of getting a paperback copy of it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2008

    Amazing books by an Amazing author

    I have loved the books written by Gregory Maguire. He looks at tales that I have grown up with and writes about the other side that noone knows about. His creativity is inspiring. I have seen Wicked on broadway so many times and each time it gets better. If you think about what happened before these stories happened, this is the author for you. If you love The Wizard of OZ. Then the Wicked series is the great for you. I look foward for the third book in the series, Lion Among Men, to come out. I know that one will be as great as these are.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5