Customer Reviews for

Baseball Great (Baseball Great Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Must Read.... Couldn't put it down!

This book was so addicting! I couldn't put it down! You need to get it! I'd give it 10 stars if I could! I fell in love with the main characters, especially Jaden. I loved and was surprised with the ending though. If you like baseball, this is a must read. If you hate b...
This book was so addicting! I couldn't put it down! You need to get it! I'd give it 10 stars if I could! I fell in love with the main characters, especially Jaden. I loved and was surprised with the ending though. If you like baseball, this is a must read. If you hate baseball, this is a must read. Why? Because you might fall in love with baseball. This book doesn't just talk about baseball, it deals with bullying, adolecense, dugs, and friendship, making this book a must read!

posted by 11032227 on April 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Parents and teachers should read the book first...

I was, and still am to some degree, worried about the content matter of this book for the age group for which it is specified. Drugs are an issue that need to be addressed early, but I am worried that a discussion of steroid use to an 8 year old is pushing the envelope...
I was, and still am to some degree, worried about the content matter of this book for the age group for which it is specified. Drugs are an issue that need to be addressed early, but I am worried that a discussion of steroid use to an 8 year old is pushing the envelope a bit. I think children who learn the lingo of drug abuse may find themselves tempted to use it. I ertainly would not have wanted my 8 or 9 year old to know what "gym candy" is.
This book is however, geared towards boys, a population of readers that is often reluctant to pick up a book on their own. The baseball action, the detective-like subplot, and the subplot of the bully after Josh's girlfriend will keep a male reader involved in the book. I think some discretion should be used when suggesting it to readers, and it would be better suited for the 11 to 13 year old readers.

posted by Rebecca_Tomlin on May 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Must Read.... Couldn't put it down!

    This book was so addicting! I couldn't put it down! You need to get it! I'd give it 10 stars if I could! I fell in love with the main characters, especially Jaden. I loved and was surprised with the ending though. If you like baseball, this is a must read. If you hate baseball, this is a must read. Why? Because you might fall in love with baseball. This book doesn't just talk about baseball, it deals with bullying, adolecense, dugs, and friendship, making this book a must read!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Awesome x 2

    Great book, I reccomend this book to people who are interested with mysteries and sports like myself

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    Parents and teachers should read the book first...

    I was, and still am to some degree, worried about the content matter of this book for the age group for which it is specified. Drugs are an issue that need to be addressed early, but I am worried that a discussion of steroid use to an 8 year old is pushing the envelope a bit. I think children who learn the lingo of drug abuse may find themselves tempted to use it. I ertainly would not have wanted my 8 or 9 year old to know what "gym candy" is.
    This book is however, geared towards boys, a population of readers that is often reluctant to pick up a book on their own. The baseball action, the detective-like subplot, and the subplot of the bully after Josh's girlfriend will keep a male reader involved in the book. I think some discretion should be used when suggesting it to readers, and it would be better suited for the 11 to 13 year old readers.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    amazing

    just amazing i cant say anything else

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    I recomend this book for kids and adults that like baseball.

    Baseball Great was a very good book. The story told about how you can be an underdog on an older team. I highly recomend this book. I could not put this book down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Courage To Win Steven Sutherland Best Baseball Book 2008

    Palatine, IL, October 11, 2008 --(PR.com)-- Courage to Win by Steven Sutherland

    Andrew has developed a mental toughness and heart with that won't quit and will only succeed. Through his journey he will take you through total days where he learned the game and the game became him and completed him. You see a young man with courage strike out to make seven stops at second base. His teams and coaches would be saying did you see that? You can't judge a kid by his size or talent but you can judge him by his gift if you can visualize that. What you see with Andrew is not what you get, unless you know his heart. He not only loves baseball, lives baseball, but baseball completes him. ISBN#978-0-615-25662-7

    (121 pages) Paperback: $19.95 Download: $18.95

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Great book

    The girl i am dating Mackenzie Harman (got the hottest chick in the school) tolf me to read the book so i desided to read it. Now igot the hottest reading teacher in the United States of America.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Good book

    Read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Good

    It was pretty good not one of his best books. I wood read tho

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Its about a boy who goes to baseball and the coach tells him to take df Its good dude

    Its about a baseball coach who telld the kids to take drugs for energy. But they're only in middle school and they're thinking eh
    Who is this man and stuff so pretty suspensful. Never read it though. Just heared it. Your twin id
    Is wring.:}

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    On chapter fortysix

    Amazing book so far

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It was a quick read that had my heart pumping in the ending. Great job Tim Green. Recommend to anyone who enjoys Jonh Feinsteim books, this is along the same idea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Anononus

    This book was the greatest book Tim Green wrote so I'm sure his other books are great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is amazing. I just could not stop reading it! I could not wait to get my hands on the second book: Rivals.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Soo good

    This is a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Baseball great, rivals, and best of the are the best books i have ever read this series is amazing

    This book is to good to be true if you are a baseball fan or play baseball this book will realy speak to you especially if your a big dude wow hits the ball a mile yet can play shortstop at the same time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Pizzarific

    So good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Awesomest thing on earth

    - I am the Kirkus Reviews secret reviewer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    highly recommended

    This book was rally good. I couldn't put it down. MUST READ !!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Want a free i pad

    Kiss your hand 3 times then post this on 3 diffrent books look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4