Customer Reviews for

Baseball in April and Other Stories

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    two thumbs way up

    A great book! Universal in its stories about kids. Being in the neighborhood or being home alone for the first time. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    A great baseball story

    I think this story is good because i play baseball and the two characters in this story are trying to make the team and they both make it but one of the brothers is pretty bad and the other brother is good so the the weaker brother gets more playing time than the stronger player. So all of a sudden the stronger player does'nt come anymore so i think the weaker player is better than the stronger player. I would reccommend this book to guys who play baseball like me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    Baseball in April review by Levi Weber

    My name is Levi Weber and I picked Baseball in April to read for class. There are a lot of different stories in this book. I did not see that there is really a plot. ANd every chapter has a different main character and most of the settings were different too. The second story of the book I liked the most. I was about a little girl and her friend that were playing with there barbies and one of the barbies heads feel off. The girls were fighting and the friend made the head fall off. They never played together again after that. I think that this story was trying to teach us that a barbies head is not worth losing a friend over. The author of the stories was good at keeping you interested and made you want to read more. When he talked about outdoors he would tell you about the sky and the breeze and make you feel it. When I was done with the book I realized that each story had a little lesson to learn and that I would tell my friend to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    A Heart Warming Novel Every One Can Enjoy

    Baseball in April and other Short Stories was a spirit lifting novel with various stories. the main story "Baseball in April" was a motivating story showing even little kids never quit. Two brothers, Micheal and Jesse attempt to make their dreams come true as they try out for the town baseball team. Shamed with disappointment Micheal and Jesse are cut. They continue to play the sport they love with each other proving to each other their high value. Urged to be put on by their friends, the coach decides to put them on the team. Their hope had never failed and it shows as they achieve their dream. Gary Soto explores the mind with stories of love, disappointment, death, and happiness. Soto provokes old memories of the readers past using his teenager memories in southern California. Each of his stories tell a tell of adventure and magnets for compassion as those young teens live the time of their lives. After laying the book down, Soto makes the reader feel good deep inside and is a great book to put you in a great mood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    An Amazing Review

    Baseball in April and Other Stories by Gary Soto- There are many stories in this book, including the main story: 'Baseball in April'. The theme of 'Baseball in April' is teenagers finding a way to play baseball when they could not make the major team. Jesse and Michael, the main characters, do not make the major team in their town and they get an invitation to play somewhere else. Jesse and Michael head to baseball tryouts, where Jesse does not do well at all, but Michael performs brilliantly. Both are rejected from the team, so they have to find a way to play because they want to stay active and they love baseball. I liked Baseball in April and Other Stories because the kids find a way to succeed instead of giving up. I learned that if you don't make a team or something doesn't happen in your favor that there is still a way to make things happen. I would recommend this book to anybody of any age because it has many short stories with many life lessons flooding out of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    A great collection (not just for kids)

    I discovered Gary Soto's poetry in a public library in Nebraska. Then I read his short stories, my favorite being 'Baseball in April.' Like his poetry, these stories are beautiful in that they reveal a child's inner thought life they also show the challenges that teenagers go through. Soto takes us back to his childhood in California. The stories occur in sunny Fresno, which is in the Central Valley. The characters, dilemmas, and emotions that he evokes are so real that I often read them over saying, 'Yes, I remember feeling like that.' I mostly read adult literature but have been reading a lot in young adult literature, because I often forget what it was like to be a young boy. Soto has a gift for recalling these events and making them come alive again. I've read this collection three times and have read all of Soto's poetry. I hightly recommend 'Baseball in April,' as well as the poetry collection 'Black Hair.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1