Customer Reviews for

Basic Anatomy for the Manga Artist

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

extremely helpful!~

I am a beginner with drawing manga characters, and i didn't hardly know anything about what i was really doing or where to start. This book was very helpful and informative!~ I love it!~

posted by 9083025 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

CHRISTOPHER HART IS SOOO...

I don't want to say anything too insulting about Christopher Hart here, but...really, I'm thirteen and l draw manga better than him. Like, way better.

posted by 11320693 on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    extremely helpful!~

    I am a beginner with drawing manga characters, and i didn't hardly know anything about what i was really doing or where to start. This book was very helpful and informative!~ I love it!~

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Only got the sample right now but...

    It's really informative and pretty good. But still, get the book if you have the money cuz the sample isn't the best in the world. This has been almost helpful advice from a 12-year old....you're welcome =]

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Absolutely Helpful Manga characters are built (or rather, drawn)

    Absolutely Helpful
    Manga characters are built (or rather, drawn) differently than American or Western style characters, so it
    helps to have a book that shows you how to draw manga anatomy. It helps with understanding the
    placement of muscles and how that effects the external appearance of a character. Along with that, 
    the book also covers shading on a body. The majority of the book is really reference rather than
    instruction, but it's helpful no matter what your experience level.
    In my opinion, this is one of Chris Hart's best books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Uhg!!!!!

    Please, people!!! Don't even bother commenting if you have something negative about the author himself! Only comment about the book because that is what people want to hear about.
    A.B.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Awesome!

    My art teacher has this book (so I hog it every time I have art) and it's awesome!
    It's for beginners, though

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Im going to buy this regardless.

    Some people may think its a bad buy, but ghats probably because theyre already great manga artists. This book is obably for beginners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Attention

    If you think his artwork is so bad please do not even bother posting. I prefer as well as everyone else who needs slight help to not waste my time reading bad reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    CHRISTOPHER HART IS SOOO...

    I don't want to say anything too insulting about Christopher Hart here, but...really, I'm thirteen and l draw manga better than him. Like, way better.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Cool

    I only have the free sample but it tells you great info on the side-way and foward head and face drawibg!!! *Great technick!* :) :) MUST BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Cool

    AmaIng

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Are you real.com

    When
    :@46$"66:33*$$4%'4-*:#56&5:4#874*8;$23%+&5'$644

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Yay!! Christopher Hart is here to teach us!!!

    Time to learn more about manga!! What will we learn next!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Make it cheaper

    If you make it ceaper then more people will buy it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Christopher Hart is a terrible artist. It's shocking to see that

    Christopher Hart is a terrible artist. It's shocking to see that he has published books.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Good

    Read

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1