Customer Reviews for

Basic Spanish for Dummies

Average Rating 3.5
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

139 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

Good Introduction To Spanish

The key to learning a language is listening and repeating out loud. A three year old child might use 200 different words in a day, but communicates well with adults.

This app lets you learn a few dozen basic phrases and a couple of hundred basic words while learning t...
The key to learning a language is listening and repeating out loud. A three year old child might use 200 different words in a day, but communicates well with adults.

This app lets you learn a few dozen basic phrases and a couple of hundred basic words while learning to pronounce Spanish correctly. A person who totally masters this course would have a solid foundation to build on, and would be able to carry on basic conversations.

I hope the author will offer a second and third level to this course. REMINDER: Be sure to go to your Nook's settings menu, and set the audio level for media to 100%. That allows you to use the volume button on your Nook to hear the voices clearly.

posted by Alan_Houston on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

51 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

No sound

I havent really got 2 use this app much because the sound quality is terrible. I can see the words but the sound quality is HORRIBLE. I wish i wouldnt have purchased this.

posted by 7789913 on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    No sound

    I havent really got 2 use this app much because the sound quality is terrible. I can see the words but the sound quality is HORRIBLE. I wish i wouldnt have purchased this.

    51 out of 82 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Will not work on tablet

    As many others have noted, this simply does not work on the Nook Tablet. It appears that the DRM will not recognize the Tablet as a legitimate device.

    32 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    BASIC SPANISH FOR DUMMIES

    This app is not compatible w/ Nook Tablet.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not for Tablet

    The should be more clear, before you spend the money, that this app does NOT work on the tablet... only the Nook Color.

    Thank you for more wasted money, B&N.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Not The Same as the Book!!

    This app is ridiculous! This app does not have nearly as much content as the book, it only has a sample. The app looks like it should have the same content as the book, but it barely has anything. Do Not buy this app.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Not opening

    I bought this yesterday and was excited to try it out. Unfortnately,every time I try to open it all I get is a blank screen.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Bought in good faith.

    I bought this book many months ago and still have not been able to open it. Skava emailed saying the app had been fixed but it will not load on a Nook tablet. I've tried many times over the months and as far as I can tell, nothing has changed. Too bad, I really wanted to try this. Maybe one day it will work.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    App will not open

    So disappointed I loaded the app but nothing works when I open the app grrr

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Access

    I can't get this on my Nook !!!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Ummm

    Um how do you like this app?

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Not compatible with the Nook tablet. Called the on line chat and

    Not compatible with the Nook tablet. Called the on line chat and the person from Barnes and Noble
     finally responded about its compatibility issues.
     Does function on the Nook Color. Basic app.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Just hit yes below if you agree with me!

    I also dont think that this app works on the nook color!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    DOES NOT WORK ON NOOK HD

    DOES NOT WORK ON NOOK HD

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    DOES NOT WORK

    oNLY THE FRONT PAGE LOADS NOTHING ELSE

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Weido

    Hey dont call us dummies

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Karen Lee

    Down load Ok, but all the stuff to read before you use is a BIG turn off. To much. Will not use, I lost my $ on this. It was to good to be true.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    not helpful

    This app is good for basic vocabulary and not much else. It won't get you very far in speaking or understanding the language. NOT RECOMMENDED.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    not working

    Not working

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    doesnt work

    I cant get it to work

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    Very Disappointed

    This does not show up in my library on my tablet nor my phone. Have no way of installing it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2