Customer Reviews for

Basic Spanish for Dummies

Average Rating 3.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

133 out of 144 people found this review helpful.

Good Introduction To Spanish

The key to learning a language is listening and repeating out loud. A three year old child might use 200 different words in a day, but communicates well with adults.

This app lets you learn a few dozen basic phrases and a couple of hundred basic words while learning t...
The key to learning a language is listening and repeating out loud. A three year old child might use 200 different words in a day, but communicates well with adults.

This app lets you learn a few dozen basic phrases and a couple of hundred basic words while learning to pronounce Spanish correctly. A person who totally masters this course would have a solid foundation to build on, and would be able to carry on basic conversations.

I hope the author will offer a second and third level to this course. REMINDER: Be sure to go to your Nook's settings menu, and set the audio level for media to 100%. That allows you to use the volume button on your Nook to hear the voices clearly.

posted by Alan_Houston on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

49 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

No sound

I havent really got 2 use this app much because the sound quality is terrible. I can see the words but the sound quality is HORRIBLE. I wish i wouldnt have purchased this.

posted by 7789913 on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Spanish for Dummies

    When I had my Nook color I found this to be the best App for learning the Spanish language. Now that I have the HD, am disappointed that it hasn't been converted to HD. Any chance that will happen?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    For dummies

    This app is amazing i am in 7 th grade and taking a 1a/1b course this helps with any unclear words someone might be experiencing definitly an utmostly eloquently designed app

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    helps me understand the pronunciation

    I like it and for a basic learner it helps for me to hear the words.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Great App

    Highly Recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Works for me

    Just tried the flash cards and bingo I may be able to learn something

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Works excellent!

    Just got my Nook Color and i LOVE it!!! This my first App, works great. Already got a few words down!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Worth the un d¿lar!

    Worked as stated on my Nook color. Great start on the basics to help me to communicate on a trip to Mexico next month.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    ¿Muy bien!

    Me gusta! Es muy divertido!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Took 4 yrs of spanish & now i learn something

    I am learning fast. Muy bien.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Love it

    Best app i have. The voice help is great.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Awesome

    I like it on my iphone and my nook yaaay

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Great App...

    I luv it! I can definately review my spanish, and learn new words!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Awesome

    Soud is a little quiet but totally worth the 99 cents. Had no problems at all

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    For you

    You who said "not the ssme as the book"! It says BASIC spanish for dummies! Durrrrrrrr

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Me no need

    I already aced my classes OUT

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    A good app

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 25, 2011

    I use this to help me with my spanish class it helps alot

    Adios! :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Mom

    Love it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Amazing

    This is the perfect thing to haave handy!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    It works

    Teaches u spanish easily spansh quickly, in a matter of weeks! Cheap too

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 6