Customer Reviews for

Basic Spanish for Dummies

Average Rating 3.5
( 249 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

129 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

Good Introduction To Spanish

The key to learning a language is listening and repeating out loud. A three year old child might use 200 different words in a day, but communicates well with adults.

This app lets you learn a few dozen basic phrases and a couple of hundred basic words while learning t...
The key to learning a language is listening and repeating out loud. A three year old child might use 200 different words in a day, but communicates well with adults.

This app lets you learn a few dozen basic phrases and a couple of hundred basic words while learning to pronounce Spanish correctly. A person who totally masters this course would have a solid foundation to build on, and would be able to carry on basic conversations.

I hope the author will offer a second and third level to this course. REMINDER: Be sure to go to your Nook's settings menu, and set the audio level for media to 100%. That allows you to use the volume button on your Nook to hear the voices clearly.

posted by Alan_Houston on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

No sound

I havent really got 2 use this app much because the sound quality is terrible. I can see the words but the sound quality is HORRIBLE. I wish i wouldnt have purchased this.

posted by 7789913 on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    BASIC SPANISH FOR DUMMIES

    This app is not compatible w/ Nook Tablet.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I have the Nook Tablet & this app works perfectly on it. I p

    I have the Nook Tablet & this app works perfectly on it. I purchased this in hopes of learning more Spanish words & phrases. I'm trying to listen to & repeat a few words & phrases daily. It's very helpful for me to see the words and hear how they are pronounced. The flashcards are great! I would love to see another level of the Spanish for Dummies.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not for Tablet

    The should be more clear, before you spend the money, that this app does NOT work on the tablet... only the Nook Color.

    Thank you for more wasted money, B&N.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Not The Same as the Book!!

    This app is ridiculous! This app does not have nearly as much content as the book, it only has a sample. The app looks like it should have the same content as the book, but it barely has anything. Do Not buy this app.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Muy bien!

    I think this is a great tool to get started on learning Espanol!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Not opening

    I bought this yesterday and was excited to try it out. Unfortnately,every time I try to open it all I get is a blank screen.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    AWESOME

    I saw that a lot of people were javing problems with this app but I am trying to learn spanish so I got it anyways. At first it worked then it didnt. I archived and then brought it back out and it works perfectly and it is well worth the money. I love the search because it is sometimes kinda hard to know what the word is on rossetta stone I love this app!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Gg

    Great

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Not a how-to book.

    I purchased this hoping for an easy Spanish lesson or two. Instead I got a fancy Spanish/English dictionary that has pronunciations for most (not all) of the Spanish phrases. That's all it is.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Great app!

    After I read to adjust the overall media sound! My five year old loves it, too.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    To wylee

    Try play and learn spanish

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    Excellent!

    This app is perfect for people who are srill learning the basics and learn better from hearing how to say things rather than just reading how to. Its simple, easy to follow and i really like how the words and phrases are by a native speaker. I highly recommend this for newbies and those who forget the basics from time to time.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Fantastico!!!!!!!

    A mi me gusta mucho! :P

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Love it!

    Easy to use and have already learned a lot. So excited to impress my husband with my common phrases.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Perfect

    This really helps and it does work on the nook tablet it works on mine!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Bought in good faith.

    I bought this book many months ago and still have not been able to open it. Skava emailed saying the app had been fixed but it will not load on a Nook tablet. I've tried many times over the months and as far as I can tell, nothing has changed. Too bad, I really wanted to try this. Maybe one day it will work.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    What they should have

    Its actually pretty good for people who dont know how to speak spanish like its very usefuk but they should have all words in spanish when u look it u

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    App will not open

    So disappointed I loaded the app but nothing works when I open the app grrr

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Great ap

    Sounds low so i use head phones.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Access

    I can't get this on my Nook !!!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 249 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13