Customer Reviews for

Basic Spanish for Dummies

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

132 out of 143 people found this review helpful.

Good Introduction To Spanish

The key to learning a language is listening and repeating out loud. A three year old child might use 200 different words in a day, but communicates well with adults.

This app lets you learn a few dozen basic phrases and a couple of hundred basic words while learning t...
The key to learning a language is listening and repeating out loud. A three year old child might use 200 different words in a day, but communicates well with adults.

This app lets you learn a few dozen basic phrases and a couple of hundred basic words while learning to pronounce Spanish correctly. A person who totally masters this course would have a solid foundation to build on, and would be able to carry on basic conversations.

I hope the author will offer a second and third level to this course. REMINDER: Be sure to go to your Nook's settings menu, and set the audio level for media to 100%. That allows you to use the volume button on your Nook to hear the voices clearly.

posted by Alan_Houston on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

No sound

I havent really got 2 use this app much because the sound quality is terrible. I can see the words but the sound quality is HORRIBLE. I wish i wouldnt have purchased this.

posted by 7789913 on June 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    App will not open

    So disappointed I loaded the app but nothing works when I open the app grrr

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Great ap

    Sounds low so i use head phones.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Access

    I can't get this on my Nook !!!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Awesome!

    I sometimes have a hard time on apps, but this app is the BOMB!!! I love using it, ecspically how clueless I am about Spanish. This is so going to help me out!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Cool!!!

    Downloaded w/o any problems. I can hear the pronounciation well. Easy to navigate. Well worth the money!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    This App Works!

    This app does work and it actually helps me. And I dont even know spanish at all!! Intil now!! It is bueno is that how you even spell good in spanish well I dont know not that far yet!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Great

    I think this is a great way to learn spanish. Audio is included so that you actually hear and know if you are pronouncing words correctly! This is worth the money!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    Spanish is for dummies

    Aced my spanish test over the weeks and months. :-)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    This game really helps me!!!!

    I really like this app because im 11 and i have a spanish class. I dont know spanish real well and it helped me learn spaniah on my nook color.Thanks By Me

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    Love it!

    Concise, clear and useful

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Great little app

    Glad i got this. I am using it to help start my young children on learning spanish and refresh my own. For everyone having problems with your sound, please check your sound settings first, most importantly the media sounds level, before you start complaining. App works great when you know how to set your nook properly.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    I Can't Wait!

    I am so exited to talk in spanish! This app is great for beginners and the more experienced people. This app is worth the money and it works just as well as expensive computer programs. Don't waste your money on complicated computer programs, just buy this app!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Great

    I LOVE this app!!!!!! It works great!!!!!! Oh people with no sound is your voloom on?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    AWSOME

    I just got this app a couple minutes ago and I am already loving. I am 12 and it is working great for me. I love how you can save phrases or words. I pick out which ones I want to learn saave them and after I learn them I delete them. I love this app and if I can do it you can to. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Brenda

    I love this! So easy to use!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Awesome!!!!!

    I am in looooove with this app....... it helped me pass my spanish class (note: i did not cheat by using this cuz my teacher let me use it)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Love this

    Language learning on the go! Makes my nook purchase all the more worthwhile. More apps like this please! I would love a Korean one for my kids!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Love it too!

    This is the best app EVER!!!!!"!!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Ummm

    Um how do you like this app?

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Great

    Terrific app only have tried the flashcards under greetings its amazing! It compacts sentences for you makes life so much easier without having to study so much spanish from a book. So much easier to learn this way.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 251 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 13