Customer Reviews for

The Basketball Diaries

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This is an extraordinarily powerful book.

    This is an extraordinarily powerful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    help?????

    can some one help me is this book base of the movie????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    THE BASKETBALL DIARIES is basically the story, or rather the 'diary' of poet laureate Jim Carroll, sometime between when he was about 12 to 16 years of age. Now, this is a serious novel, involving drug abuse and how the author survived---somewhat like 'A Million Little Pieces' only true and younger. Carroll, in his youth, seemed to have a 'anything for a high or laugh' type of ethic, or lack thereof. He buddy-buddies around with some not-so-great characters and basically we get to watch his life go down the toilet. Mainline heroin addiction is no laughing matter, and some of the book is harrowing, but this is much more than just the story of a junkie. The writing is wonderful and the dialogue is real. The story is funny and heart-breaking. The book is basically very good. I'm actually haunted by some of it, even writing this. The only other book I enjoyed this much recently was McCrae's Katzenjammer with its funny and sad look at getting taken advantage of. Sad but true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    The Ultimate 'Cool' B&N.Com Pick!

    This is the ultimate New York City tale of drug addiction and survival in the mean streets. Told in a diary-like format, this book remains Carroll's supreme achievement. It's absolutely authentic and real and depicts one's person hellish coming-of-age. High recommended. But be advised, there is no happy ending here. No Hollywood 'feel good' character arc. This book is both brutal and beautiful. It's packed with great writing. Don't miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Jebus

    This was a great book that is full of laughs and surprises. It clearly documents the life of a Catholic boy growing up in the streets of New York. A great title for anyone looking for an easy read with entertainment left and right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    An amazing book

    This book was incredible. I read it when I was in grade 6 and i'm now entering high school and I read it all the time. I think it gives major insight and its interesting to read about life from someone else's perspective. This perspective is...amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Don't see the movie!

    The Baskeball Diaries tops my list of favorite books. I reccomend it to anyone who is interested in gaining insight on city life and drug addiction. However, for anyone who may have seen the movie, it is awful! Leonardo DiCaprio does not do justice to Jim Carroll's fine prose, nor does the cinematography, direction, or screenplay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    Its Wickedly good, the BEST book ever for anyone of any age im 14 and I love it and so does my dad

    read it and you will see how good it is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    Most addicting book I have ever read!

    I got this book two days ago and I have already read it twice. It is an awesome book for someone who is between the ages of 13-18. It talks about drugs, friends, family, school, church and all of the stuff that we have to go through. And what is best of all about it is that it was written when he was our age, not when he was older looking back. Of all of the people that I know who have read it, most have said that it makes them not want to try drugs, but a few have also said that it made them kindof want to try it, which I can't understand because it shows what can really happen to a heroin addict. But this book is awesome and I plan to read it over and over! Oh and by the way, if you can't handle tough subjects or language then I am not sure you would want to read it, but I think everyone should either way! HAVE FUN!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2000

    The Best Movie I'd Seen

    I saw the movie The Basketball Diaries starring my favorite actor Leonardo DiCaprio before reading the book and it totally caught my attention. I completely loved the movie and I recommended it to all my friends and after watching it, they loved it too. It kept me from falling asleep the whole way through. I loved the movie because it shows you how their mind is in a drug addict as if you were in them. That is why I bought the book (full price plus tax) in my local bookstore and I loved it too! Jim Carroll is a great author. I recommend this book and the GREAT movie to everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1