Customer Reviews for

Basketball Jones

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blew My MIND!!

This was a great book, looking at the cover i knew i would love it and i did. This plot was on point at all times, not one dull moment. There were so many twist and turns to keep you hooked but not to many to confuse you. I was some of everything but not overly gay li...
This was a great book, looking at the cover i knew i would love it and i did. This plot was on point at all times, not one dull moment. There were so many twist and turns to keep you hooked but not to many to confuse you. I was some of everything but not overly gay like some of his books tend to be. One of the male characters reminded me of the guy from Housewives of ATLANTA, guess you have to read to find out who.

posted by Miz_j on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jonesing For Early E. Lynn

While this book may have been a fun, light, fast read, it in no way packs the emotional punch of E. Lynn's earlier works, particularly Just as I Am and Invisible Life (or my personal favorite, And This Too Shall Pass). In recent years his books have become increasingly...
While this book may have been a fun, light, fast read, it in no way packs the emotional punch of E. Lynn's earlier works, particularly Just as I Am and Invisible Life (or my personal favorite, And This Too Shall Pass). In recent years his books have become increasingly cartoonish, and Basketball Jones is no exception. He should be credited for not only starting an important dialogue about sexuality (brothers on the down low), gender, masculinity, and culture but for being willing to explore the complexities of these issues in ways that may not always be easy to empathize with. Bravo to E. Lynn, but if you've never read him before start with one of his better novels.

posted by 227800 on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I love and will miss E. Lynn Harris VERY much!

    I just starting reading this book and I am already in love with it. This is just one of E. Lynn's great write's. I have read all and love ALL of E. Lynn's books and will miss his writig greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Gotta Love jones

    Its been a while since I have read anything by Mr. Harris. I finished the book in two nights just reading after work. The relationship in this book can be compared to so many regardless of orientation. I couldnt put it down. I wish Mr. Harris was still here to give us a sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Excellent Book

    This book is well written and it will keep your attention as it has done ot me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Basketball Jones

    Excellent read, my favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    True to life

    I will miss his writing although his work is not something I would read all the time. His writing is somewhat the same storytelling, only ifferent characters. I will miss him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very pleased

    I really enjoyed this story as the drama began to unfold. I liked and could very much relate to the main character. I just wish I had discovered this author before he passed away. Thank you Mr. E. Lynn Harris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read

    Ugh! I am so upset. But let me say that I really enjoyed this book. This is an awesome read, and a quick one, only because I couldn't put it down. I was at stop lights reading! However, I will say I am terribly upset with how it ended. I won't give anything away, I just wanted it to end differently. Hopefully there is a second part, because there is much more to be told, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!!

    Awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Secretive, Intriguing, and Full of Surprises

    This is a must read book. The characters make you want to grab and shake them into reality. I felt AJ's need and loneliness. He showed the side that most women experience as the other woman. This is a book that you can't put down and will have you up until 3 in the morning trying to figure out what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    A Good Quick Read

    Classic E. Lynn Harris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BASKETBALL JONES

    As usual, Mr. Harris never disappoints - this one was soo juicy that the words consumed me, my heart was racing, I was all over the place and the characters were on point. I also like the cool names from Jade to Dray to Bella, names that are smooth and easy to remember.

    Can't wait for more Mr E. Lynn - so bring it baby !!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    He does it again

    I am a huge fan of E. Lynn Harris writing style. There is something about his work that keep me on pens and needles each time I begin reading. I have problem putting his books down. Basketball Jones created so many emotions within me. I went from being happy (romance does that to me) to angry (purposely mean people do that to me). The book appeals to me because of the love affair as sordid as it may be. The subject does not only appeal to his gay followers but there are life lessons that everyone can learn. Betrayal, Lies, Hatred, Love and Hurt is experienced by everyone....no color, no race, no gender.

    I would recommend this as a great read with many life lessons. Be careful who you trust.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Disappointing

    This author has taken a terrific ability to tell and story and create characters but has turned them into a formula franchise.
    I hope he can take some time and recover his real talents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Another one of E. Lynn Harris's juicey books

    I have read all of his books and was waiting for another one. It has been a long time in between books.It was a quick read only because I did not want to put it down, but that is the case with all his books. I hope that he continues to write we need another one left some stuff open.(I think) It was great to have an old friend appear. When are we going to hear from Raymond again. Great book as always. Keep writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    The title attracted my attention as it told me this would be a story involving a sport, basketball, that was the hook for me.

    This book was a fun and very quick read. The sports theme made it even more fascinating to get into. The well chosen mix of characters added to the element of intrigue. The story as a whole I will call a somewhat erotic mystery, even if it was just a bit to short on the erotic, in my opinion.
    However, fans of this writer will not be disappointed overall and will want to add this book to their collection. Possibly future writing from this gifted author should include a bit more edge and eroticism especially for those of us who enjoyed and suppported his very early writings.
    Overall E. Lynn Harris again scores big points with this romantic sports story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    My gripe with E. Lynn Harris...

    I've been a fan of Harris' for years now, having read most of his novels. Prior to Basketball Jones, I felt that Too Good to Be True was his most intricate and intellectually adept novel to day. After reading Jones, I feel that Harris took a huge step backwards. For starters, the character development is lacking. Whereas Too Good to Be True could be adapted into a screenplay, the wholly forgettable characters in Jones seemed a mere formality and strangely not the focus of the novel. I realize that authors have the right and artistic license to say what they want, but Harris appears to be abusing this in some ways. I've begun to notice a pattern in his writing...His main characters all have the same taste in "beauty"...which, in the case of Jones is quite limited. As a black man, I find it almost appalling that Harris describes only "LIGHT" men with "GREEN" or "GRAY" eyes are "handsome" or "beautiful"...what about the rest of us black men with BROWN skin and BROWN eyes? Also, his critical and sarcastic overtones can become tedious at times...I personally think Harris is able to write about such things because that's probably the way he is--i.e., jilted and jaded. Am I wrong? I also take issue with the part of Jones that describes the molestation of the lead character, AJ. No 15 year old in the WORLD would sit by and let a grown man molest him without fighting back--that is, if he truly finds it to be a violation and not welcomed.

    E Lynn Harris needs to expand his ideas of beauty and what's appropriate...

    Not every gay black man feels the way he does...

    The women who read these novels probably get a kick out of his descriptions of these Greek Gods...But, us mere mortals would prefer substance.



    I'll give Harris ONE MORE try before I stop wasting my time.





    1

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    What comes with a relationship...

    I've read all of Mr. Harris's fiction works and was excited to hear he has two set to release in 2009. Basketball Jones is about the relationship between a famous athlete and his boyfriend. A lot is expected of AJ to be in this relationship with Dray: move whenever Dray says to, cancel plans at the last minute if Dray can get away from his wife or the team, pretty much be at Dray's disposal. However, for AJ, there are perks to being with Dray as well: new, furnished paid-for homes, expensive cars, clothes, pretty much the best of everything. For AJ, is this enough, having these perks, or would he give it all up if he could publicly be with Dray?

    Soon, Dray and AJ receive threatening notes and calls to "out" their relationship if they do not respond to the blackmailer's demands. The questions become: who is blackmailing them and who how does this person know the intimate details of their relationship? A relationship that both men have gone to great lengths to keep secret.

    Early in the novel, I figured out the blackmailer's identity and the motive behind it. The plot was predictable, however I still enjoyed it. After finishing the novel, my immediate thought was: wow that's it? Surely, there has to be a sequel. Without giving away the ending, I would like for Mr. Harris to do a "where are they now" novel, as I'm curious to know more about their lives 2 or 3 years from now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Basketball Jones

    Basketball Jones is another great book to add to the collection! Mr. Harris provides in every novel how truly talented and blessed he truly is. I have found myself reading every book that he has published and wait impatiently for the next to hit bookstores. He lures his reads in with his descriptive and well chosen words that leave the reader hungry for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Read

    This is good read and right along Harris' style. There are hardly any details he leaves out. One thing I like about him is how vivid he is with the details. I know exactly what the characters look like, the type of house they live in, and whats on their minds. I thought the ending could have been a bit different, but I think, as our author does in a lot of his novels, is set up the tone for the follow-on novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Time Out

    E. Lynn Harris' latest endeavor, "Basketball Jones," takes readers into a very familiar setting. Aldridge James "AJ" Richardson is an openly gay man. The love of his life, however, is not. Dray Jones, an NBA player, has been involved with AJ since college. Because of society's prejudices, his status as an athlete, and his family, AJ has been sworn to secrecy about their relationship. But when someone threatens it all, is it time to come out of the closet?<BR/><BR/>"Basketball Jones" is a very quick read. As usual, Harris delivers a well-written novel with good pace and timing. But even so, the story was predictable and one to easily be forgotten as nothing stood out. I couldn't help the feeling of deja vu. Not in the sense that I've read this exact story before, but rather the formula ~ gay guy + down low/confused guy + sports + family, particularly a father that won't understand + wife and/or baby to camouflage. I like E. Lynn Harris, but I'd like to see something a little different with his future endeavors.<BR/><BR/>Reviewed by Lela

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6