BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Basketball Jones

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blew My MIND!!

This was a great book, looking at the cover i knew i would love it and i did. This plot was on point at all times, not one dull moment. There were so many twist and turns to keep you hooked but not to many to confuse you. I was some of everything but not overly gay li...
This was a great book, looking at the cover i knew i would love it and i did. This plot was on point at all times, not one dull moment. There were so many twist and turns to keep you hooked but not to many to confuse you. I was some of everything but not overly gay like some of his books tend to be. One of the male characters reminded me of the guy from Housewives of ATLANTA, guess you have to read to find out who.

posted by Miz_j on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jonesing For Early E. Lynn

While this book may have been a fun, light, fast read, it in no way packs the emotional punch of E. Lynn's earlier works, particularly Just as I Am and Invisible Life (or my personal favorite, And This Too Shall Pass). In recent years his books have become increasingly...
While this book may have been a fun, light, fast read, it in no way packs the emotional punch of E. Lynn's earlier works, particularly Just as I Am and Invisible Life (or my personal favorite, And This Too Shall Pass). In recent years his books have become increasingly cartoonish, and Basketball Jones is no exception. He should be credited for not only starting an important dialogue about sexuality (brothers on the down low), gender, masculinity, and culture but for being willing to explore the complexities of these issues in ways that may not always be easy to empathize with. Bravo to E. Lynn, but if you've never read him before start with one of his better novels.

posted by 227800 on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Blew My MIND!!

    This was a great book, looking at the cover i knew i would love it and i did. This plot was on point at all times, not one dull moment. There were so many twist and turns to keep you hooked but not to many to confuse you. I was some of everything but not overly gay like some of his books tend to be. One of the male characters reminded me of the guy from Housewives of ATLANTA, guess you have to read to find out who.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Scandal

    E lynn always was a good writer especially how helps the reader understand the difficulties behind being a black gay man. For him to write such a story exposing the behind the scenes with a black gay ball player was jaw dropping to say the least. How they lead double lives makes you think do you really know the person you are sharing your bed with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Must Read!

    Very entertaining book! You won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Wowzer

    First book i have read by e lynn harris and it did not let me down! Awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Once again E. Lynn Harris scores a three pointer. "Basketball Jones" was so dynamic that I was able to read it in one day. Yes, I couldn't put it down and was determine to find out what was going to happen next. The twist and turns of the love triangle helped to keep the sex, secrets and drama churning for more. However, the end was very disappointing, but was still worth every moment of reading. The characters AJ (Aldridge Richardson) and Dray (Drayton Jones) were secret lovers every since AJ had to tutor Day in Algebra while at college. Then Dray who was drafted by the NBA goes on to have a very successful career decides not to end his relationship with his secret lover. Yet, he decides that he wants to get married, but continues to have AJ in his life. AJ has to deal with this new twist in Dray's life, because Dray doesn't want anyone to find out or even question his relationship with AJ. AJ agrees to keep the relationship a secret because Dray is good to him and takes care of him financially. AJ really doesn't seem to mind because Dray takes him to every part of the country where his career takes him playing ball. Regrettably, someone knows about their secret and is determine not to stop until they get paid or even expose the grubby affair of the married NBA star and his secret gay lover.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    a must read

    i got the book today and JUST finished it. i could not put it down. it is one of his best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    Basketball Jones - A Must Read!

    I just finish reading this book (1 day) and could not put it down. I have read all of E.Lynn Harris books and this is one of his best. A must BUY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    R

    Fine night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    I so recommend this book

    This book had me dead to the bed! I was on the plane and needed something to read. So I came across this book. I was so happy I read it. I lived especially for the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    KANSAS JAYHAWKS

    ROCK CHALK JAYHAWK #jayhawkforlife

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Good

    I like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Aprentice den

    Of FruitsBasketClan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Love

    Who wants to have sex

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Great book

    A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I love and will miss E. Lynn Harris VERY much!

    I just starting reading this book and I am already in love with it. This is just one of E. Lynn's great write's. I have read all and love ALL of E. Lynn's books and will miss his writig greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I Gotta Love jones

    Its been a while since I have read anything by Mr. Harris. I finished the book in two nights just reading after work. The relationship in this book can be compared to so many regardless of orientation. I couldnt put it down. I wish Mr. Harris was still here to give us a sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2009

    Excellent Book

    This book is well written and it will keep your attention as it has done ot me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Basketball Jones

    Excellent read, my favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very pleased

    I really enjoyed this story as the drama began to unfold. I liked and could very much relate to the main character. I just wish I had discovered this author before he passed away. Thank you Mr. E. Lynn Harris.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read

    Ugh! I am so upset. But let me say that I really enjoyed this book. This is an awesome read, and a quick one, only because I couldn't put it down. I was at stop lights reading! However, I will say I am terribly upset with how it ended. I won't give anything away, I just wanted it to end differently. Hopefully there is a second part, because there is much more to be told, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3