Customer Reviews for

Basketball Jones

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blew My MIND!!

This was a great book, looking at the cover i knew i would love it and i did. This plot was on point at all times, not one dull moment. There were so many twist and turns to keep you hooked but not to many to confuse you. I was some of everything but not overly gay li...
This was a great book, looking at the cover i knew i would love it and i did. This plot was on point at all times, not one dull moment. There were so many twist and turns to keep you hooked but not to many to confuse you. I was some of everything but not overly gay like some of his books tend to be. One of the male characters reminded me of the guy from Housewives of ATLANTA, guess you have to read to find out who.

posted by Miz_j on May 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jonesing For Early E. Lynn

While this book may have been a fun, light, fast read, it in no way packs the emotional punch of E. Lynn's earlier works, particularly Just as I Am and Invisible Life (or my personal favorite, And This Too Shall Pass). In recent years his books have become increasingly...
While this book may have been a fun, light, fast read, it in no way packs the emotional punch of E. Lynn's earlier works, particularly Just as I Am and Invisible Life (or my personal favorite, And This Too Shall Pass). In recent years his books have become increasingly cartoonish, and Basketball Jones is no exception. He should be credited for not only starting an important dialogue about sexuality (brothers on the down low), gender, masculinity, and culture but for being willing to explore the complexities of these issues in ways that may not always be easy to empathize with. Bravo to E. Lynn, but if you've never read him before start with one of his better novels.

posted by 227800 on December 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!!!

    Awesome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Secretive, Intriguing, and Full of Surprises

    This is a must read book. The characters make you want to grab and shake them into reality. I felt AJ's need and loneliness. He showed the side that most women experience as the other woman. This is a book that you can't put down and will have you up until 3 in the morning trying to figure out what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    BASKETBALL JONES

    As usual, Mr. Harris never disappoints - this one was soo juicy that the words consumed me, my heart was racing, I was all over the place and the characters were on point. I also like the cool names from Jade to Dray to Bella, names that are smooth and easy to remember.

    Can't wait for more Mr E. Lynn - so bring it baby !!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    He does it again

    I am a huge fan of E. Lynn Harris writing style. There is something about his work that keep me on pens and needles each time I begin reading. I have problem putting his books down. Basketball Jones created so many emotions within me. I went from being happy (romance does that to me) to angry (purposely mean people do that to me). The book appeals to me because of the love affair as sordid as it may be. The subject does not only appeal to his gay followers but there are life lessons that everyone can learn. Betrayal, Lies, Hatred, Love and Hurt is experienced by everyone....no color, no race, no gender.

    I would recommend this as a great read with many life lessons. Be careful who you trust.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Another one of E. Lynn Harris's juicey books

    I have read all of his books and was waiting for another one. It has been a long time in between books.It was a quick read only because I did not want to put it down, but that is the case with all his books. I hope that he continues to write we need another one left some stuff open.(I think) It was great to have an old friend appear. When are we going to hear from Raymond again. Great book as always. Keep writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    The title attracted my attention as it told me this would be a story involving a sport, basketball, that was the hook for me.

    This book was a fun and very quick read. The sports theme made it even more fascinating to get into. The well chosen mix of characters added to the element of intrigue. The story as a whole I will call a somewhat erotic mystery, even if it was just a bit to short on the erotic, in my opinion.
    However, fans of this writer will not be disappointed overall and will want to add this book to their collection. Possibly future writing from this gifted author should include a bit more edge and eroticism especially for those of us who enjoyed and suppported his very early writings.
    Overall E. Lynn Harris again scores big points with this romantic sports story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Basketball Jones

    Basketball Jones is another great book to add to the collection! Mr. Harris provides in every novel how truly talented and blessed he truly is. I have found myself reading every book that he has published and wait impatiently for the next to hit bookstores. He lures his reads in with his descriptive and well chosen words that leave the reader hungry for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unbelievalbe

    This book is the bomb; could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    I have read every book written by E. Lynn Harris and he delivers each and every time. The more I read his work I'm starting to realize that relationships are all the same no matter what the preference is. Basketball Jones started out and ended with drama and suspense and I could not wait until the end of my day to sit down and read what was coming next. Mr. Harris keep up the good work and I look forward to the next one..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting Book To Say The Least

    This book was interesting but I felt like I read the story before with another one of E. Lynn Harris' other books "Not A Day Goes By." A gold digger. A successful man with somebody on the side. This book still proves to be a good read. I guess I just wanted something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3