Customer Reviews for

Basketball For Dummies

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

KOBEY BRYANT

This book has made me who i am today the best NBA player in the world number 24 playing in the lakers and yes kobey bryant is me thats better than michele jordan he RETIRED he sucks and im better this book is the best if you want to play like me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!...
This book has made me who i am today the best NBA player in the world number 24 playing in the lakers and yes kobey bryant is me thats better than michele jordan he RETIRED he sucks and im better this book is the best if you want to play like me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on July 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is hardly a 'for dummies' book

Years ago I read 'football for dummies' by Howie Long and today consider myself an avid and knowledgeable football fan. This book, however, comes nowhere close to accomplishing that task. The only worthwhile reason to buy this book is if you know absolutely Nothing abou...
Years ago I read 'football for dummies' by Howie Long and today consider myself an avid and knowledgeable football fan. This book, however, comes nowhere close to accomplishing that task. The only worthwhile reason to buy this book is if you know absolutely Nothing about basketball and can't find any other resources. Digger does cover (lightly) subjects like the jobs of the different positions, but doesn't spend nearly enough time on subjects like the foul rules. I still don't completely understand team/personal fouls, and that's after reading the book and watching the season this year. He spends altogether too much time on meaningless anecdotes about college games that occurred years ago, drills for coaches to run, and other topics that are of little use to someone who simply wants to understand what's happening during a telecast. I would honestly say that about 15% of this book was worth reading. If you can't find another book and think that that 15% is worth paying for, fine, but I'd recommend you seek out other resources first. Very disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on June 14, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    This is hardly a 'for dummies' book

    Years ago I read 'football for dummies' by Howie Long and today consider myself an avid and knowledgeable football fan. This book, however, comes nowhere close to accomplishing that task. The only worthwhile reason to buy this book is if you know absolutely Nothing about basketball and can't find any other resources. Digger does cover (lightly) subjects like the jobs of the different positions, but doesn't spend nearly enough time on subjects like the foul rules. I still don't completely understand team/personal fouls, and that's after reading the book and watching the season this year. He spends altogether too much time on meaningless anecdotes about college games that occurred years ago, drills for coaches to run, and other topics that are of little use to someone who simply wants to understand what's happening during a telecast. I would honestly say that about 15% of this book was worth reading. If you can't find another book and think that that 15% is worth paying for, fine, but I'd recommend you seek out other resources first. Very disappointing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    KOBE

    Forget kobe LONG LIVE LEBRON and his shoe brand
    DopechicSquadm.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Lol

    That's not how you spell Kobe or Michael... but nice try "Kobey Bryant, best basketball player in the world". LMAO.
    LONG LIVE LEBRON JAMES!!<3 #6

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    KOBEY BRYANT

    This book has made me who i am today the best NBA player in the world number 24 playing in the lakers and yes kobey bryant is me thats better than michele jordan he RETIRED he sucks and im better this book is the best if you want to play like me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Answer to the skylar diggins question

    Yes i have met him! Hes amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Basket ball is awsome

    Awsomwsomest sport ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Who has met skylar diggins?

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Hahahahahaha very funny

    John

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Hahaha

    U know who ;) xx....im bobo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Hashim

    Botrrrrrrrrrring

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Sweet

    Bad ass

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    worst book ever

    This is the worst book I have ever read. My grandmother could give better information about basketball than this book. It barely covers the basics. I saved money for a piece of trash.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    awesome book!!!

    i thought i knew everything there was to know about basketball, but i learned a few things in here!! it was really good, and i have passed it on to my friends, the aspiring basketball players!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2002

    This a great book

    Basketball for Dummies is a great guide for beginning basketball players to pro players. It gives great tips that will help your game improve a lot. Buy this book for all your basketball needs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2000

    Wow!

    This book is great and I learned a lot even though I am already a baller for life. I just bought it to freshen up. I thought maybe I could learn something else that I didn't already know. It is a good book. I reccommend it to anyone who likes basketball and likes to learn about basketball.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2000

    A players review

    I am 14 and I love this book. It has taught me so much about the game and its rules. it has made me i feel a better player. It taught me much needed fundamentals and has gotten my shooting percentage up. I would recommend this book to any player or coach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    Basketball for Dummies - A Must Have!

    This book is a necessity for anyone who doesn't understand the game of basketball, or for a player/fan of basketball. No matter what position you play, Basketball for Dummies list moves and strategies for playing more effectively. Part II of Basketball For Dummies (Fundamentals) is very in-depth, and the diagrams throughout are concise. Also, if you are a coach, this book lists some drills and procedures to utilize for your players. In addition, Basketball For Dummies has sections on strength training and stretching. This will help you for preperation in the off/pre-season. In these sections, the majority of the the exercises have pictues to show you how to perform them correctly. Basketball For Dummies also contains basketball related web-sites. Overall, Basketball for Dummies is an excellent and informative book to purchase. I recommend this book to anyone interested in the sport of basketball!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2