Customer Reviews for

Bastard Out of Carolina: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Couldn't Put it down

    This was an amazing book. It kept me turning the pages wanting to see what would happen to Bone. I was so angry at times, the book brought so many emotions out of me. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. It was very realistic and it left me thinking even after it ended. I would read it again too, it was that good. It made me think of our society and what we need to do to protect and save girls like Bone. Please read the book but be prepared some parts will make you laugh and others will make you angry and emotional.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    I'd rank this book as a classic of 'To Kill A Mockingbird' caliber. Both stories deal, and unflinchingly so, with taking a hard look at why we make the choices we make, and how those choices mold us and affect the ones around us, especially our children. I believe Dorothy Allison once said that if the writer tells enough about a character, there's a chance that the reader may love them. I found myself fascinated by each of these characters and thought the manner in which Allison probes their individual thought processes was exceptional, especially given that this is a first-person narrative. That's how you can tell this is autobiographical. Bone's understanding of those around her, especially her mother, shows us that Allison has given the situations she's lived through a lot of thought even before she picked up a pen. The reader may given into their own anger, especially during the final harrowing chapters, but Dorothy does not. She transcends it. That makes for a story that will burn into your memory. A cliche, I know, but you CANNOT shake this story. It will make you laugh, cry, and absolutely furious, but its worth it. Read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Sad yet eloquent

    This is sad but eloquent story that was a recent book club selection at my local bookstore. There is strong and vivid imagery. It may be too harsh for young adults; but one in my group seemed quite taken with the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great book to read

    i hadn't went out to buy this book or knew of Dorothy Allison...it was a reading assignment for my college english class...and was i surprised! this book took me on highs and lows in each chapter. you felt so strongly for the characters in the book...you actually felt like you could reach out and touch them and feel with them. I cried so hard through this book with the young character explaining her life and trials she had to deal with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    This book has alot of hidden messages inside of it. I had to rea

    This book has alot of hidden messages inside of it. I had to read it for a class in my college and fell in love with the book! Instead of reading just the chapters our teacher wanted us to I read the whole book! The love and despair in this book was truly heart wrenching. Amazing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I first watched the movie Bastard Out of Carolina on Lifetime. A

    I first watched the movie Bastard Out of Carolina on Lifetime. At the time, I had no idea it was a book. I didn’t come across this knowledge until some time last year. I very vaguely remembered watching the movie (it had probably been ten years or more) and liking it. So of course I needed to read the book. I debated watching the movie again before reading the book, but ultimately decided against it as I wanted to read the book with the freshest eyes possible. However, I will watch the movie again after writing this review.

    I will admit that I put off reading this book for a long while. It sat on my to-read shelf, taunting me. From what I remembered, it was going to be a hard story to read. And it was. It was gritty and raw, but it was oh so worth it. I feel like I just waited for the perfect time (though I didn’t know it was the perfect time) to read it. I’m so glad that I finally picked this book up to read.

    You may be hesitant to pick up this book since it deals with abuse, but don’t let that deter you from reading a good book. It’s always hard to read about abuse (especially dealing with children), but sometimes it’s worth it. While I find it hard to say, the story can be beautifully (for lack of a better word) written and really touch you. This story is one of those.

    Be sure to check out my blog, KDH Reviews, for all of my reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Classic

    This is the type of book people read and are changed for the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Bone is every little girls heroine!

    A book that every young girl should read. Very good lessons on loving yourself as well as how complicated family can be. A wonderful book that will make you think with your heart, mind, and soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    I am so happy that I randomly picked up this book in the book st

    I am so happy that I randomly picked up this book in the book store. It moved me to tears. I'm also pleased that it was turned into a movie. Dorothy Allison deserves many accolades for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Beautifully written.

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    AWESOME READ! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    Dorothy Allison did a awesome job in writting this book. I throughly enjoyed it. Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Beautiful example of southern history

    This book represents in a good kind way a culture and way of life that is disapering in Southern US. It is very well reaserched and written. It is Emmy Slattery's family from Gone With theWind. Having said that , Bone's life is nothing that I would wish on any little girl. Now having said that, how many of us big girls grew up with the exact same tale? Just goes to show you dont have to look hard to find art. It,s our responsibility to save it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    The best book I ever read!

    In the book Bastard Out of Carolina, Dorothy Allison talks about Ruth Anne Boatwright's hardship: the abuse of her stepfather and feeling like an outcast to her family. Ruth Anne, also called "Bone," was constantly assaulted by her stepfather Glen; Anne Boatwright always wanted to make her husband happy because of how his father compared him to his brothers, even though she knew her daughter was getting beat. The Boatwright's were known for being cantankerous and brawlers. When the uncles found out that Bone was being abused, they injured him so severely that he got sent to the hospital. I was hoping that when Anne's sisters told her how Bone felt about Glen, that Anne would choose her daughter over her husband. Bone never wanted to talk to anyone anymore because she felt abandoned by her own mother even after she was physically and sexually abused by her stepdad. Then, Anne returned a couple days later and told her she loved her, but left with Glen and her little sister Reese. I think Reese is going to get abused because Anne is ignoring the fact that Bone was just raped. During the parts that Bone was getting abused I was hoping she should say something and tell everyone what her stepdad was doing to her. I wondered why she didn't want to open up when her family was trying to help her. The ending was really depressing and lead me thinking that Anne was going to choose her daughter, but instead ran off with her husband. It infuriated me how Anne would always try to make her husband happy, when the right thing to do was to make sure Bone was not abused and Reese was comforted so that she did not feel scared at home.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    Excellent story for a terrible experience for any child

    To sum it up a child putting up with a stupid and selfish parent and enduring great pain for it. It is dark and sad but a page turner the movie was pretty true to the book as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book; it was suspenseful and sad at the same time

    Although this book was dark and sad, the story telling will keep you turning the pages for more. It provided a great description of the characters and the setting. The message in this book should be taken seriously. Too many times do we turn away when we think there is abuse. No one wants to get involved or cause trouble, but if we don't speak up for the innocent children, who will? Unfortuantely in many if not most cases, the mother's choice at the end is more common than not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    You really feel for Bone.

    This is a book that will pull at your heartstrings. Don't read this book if abuse and molestation bothers you. These take place over time with the one of the characters. Not to spoil anything, but this is a story about the hurts and heartache a person can go through, yet come out somewhat whole and wise.
    This is a great story, it's just very painful to read certain parts because you really become upset and angry on behalf of the main characters.
    But....forgiveness and love do exist in this story. You just have to know where to look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    One of my Favorites

    I never wanted to put it down, as I grew to love Bone and grew to despise Glen. It's ending, sullen, and full of truth. You can tell this story is close to Allison's heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    it's a great fictional book about a young girl trapped in a abusive triangle

    this book was excellant and powerful because its about a young girs childhood abuse.it was very moving because the book is fiction and unfortunatly this type of abuse is still happening all over. the characters in this book very were compelling. while reading this book it kept me on my toes every minute wanting to read more, it was suspensful.it was depressing, because ruth annes mother choose a man over her daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    Best book ever

    I've read thousands of books in my life, but this is one that stands out as one of my all time favorites. It's not light or relaxing reading. I was pulled so much into this story that I found myself comparing characters from the book to people in my life. I felt a real kinship with Bone, and her anger & her feelings were familiar & painful. Dorothy Allison is a gifted writer, and her story has all the elements of a great read. You can almost feel the heat & the dust of the rural South. You will feel Bone's pain, love her uncles, hate her stepfather, and want to smack some sense into her mother. You want someone to just take this child & protect her from the abuse she endures. The people in this book, as well as the story, are unforgettable. We should all have an aunt Raylene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Fascinating

    Never fails to amaze me how a mother can put a man before the welfare of her children. As trailer trash as this family is at least the little girl has them to love her when her life falls apart. I was fascinated, sickened, and horrified at the ending. But I know too many woman that would do the same thing. That is the saddest part of all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3