Customer Reviews for

Bastard Out of Carolina

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    Excellent story for a terrible experience for any child

    To sum it up a child putting up with a stupid and selfish parent and enduring great pain for it. It is dark and sad but a page turner the movie was pretty true to the book as well

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book; it was suspenseful and sad at the same time

    Although this book was dark and sad, the story telling will keep you turning the pages for more. It provided a great description of the characters and the setting. The message in this book should be taken seriously. Too many times do we turn away when we think there is abuse. No one wants to get involved or cause trouble, but if we don't speak up for the innocent children, who will? Unfortuantely in many if not most cases, the mother's choice at the end is more common than not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    You really feel for Bone.

    This is a book that will pull at your heartstrings. Don't read this book if abuse and molestation bothers you. These take place over time with the one of the characters. Not to spoil anything, but this is a story about the hurts and heartache a person can go through, yet come out somewhat whole and wise.
    This is a great story, it's just very painful to read certain parts because you really become upset and angry on behalf of the main characters.
    But....forgiveness and love do exist in this story. You just have to know where to look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2007

    One of my Favorites

    I never wanted to put it down, as I grew to love Bone and grew to despise Glen. It's ending, sullen, and full of truth. You can tell this story is close to Allison's heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    it's a great fictional book about a young girl trapped in a abusive triangle

    this book was excellant and powerful because its about a young girs childhood abuse.it was very moving because the book is fiction and unfortunatly this type of abuse is still happening all over. the characters in this book very were compelling. while reading this book it kept me on my toes every minute wanting to read more, it was suspensful.it was depressing, because ruth annes mother choose a man over her daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    GOOD BUT EXPECTED IT TO BE SO MUCH BETTER

    I was nervous about buying and then starting to read this book because I knew it was gonna be violent.I liked it because it had a good ending.But thats it otherwise the book was boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    Best book ever

    I've read thousands of books in my life, but this is one that stands out as one of my all time favorites. It's not light or relaxing reading. I was pulled so much into this story that I found myself comparing characters from the book to people in my life. I felt a real kinship with Bone, and her anger & her feelings were familiar & painful. Dorothy Allison is a gifted writer, and her story has all the elements of a great read. You can almost feel the heat & the dust of the rural South. You will feel Bone's pain, love her uncles, hate her stepfather, and want to smack some sense into her mother. You want someone to just take this child & protect her from the abuse she endures. The people in this book, as well as the story, are unforgettable. We should all have an aunt Raylene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    Fascinating

    Never fails to amaze me how a mother can put a man before the welfare of her children. As trailer trash as this family is at least the little girl has them to love her when her life falls apart. I was fascinated, sickened, and horrified at the ending. But I know too many woman that would do the same thing. That is the saddest part of all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    LIsten Up!!

    I think that this book will really help the people who are going through this situation. also if you don't know what to do then maybe you can get in contact with the author some way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2004

    Bastard Out Of Carolina

    Bastard out of Carolina was one of the best books I have read in a long time. It was depressing yet suprisingly touching. The novel makes you want to go out and hug all the children like Bone in the world. It is uncomprehensible that anyone could possibly treat a poor little girl the way that her step father did. The book was over all amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    Very Sad but ended with a happy ending

    I loved the book that it made me watch the movie. In the movie the father seemed stressed or like he was abused when he was young. He took all his anger out on his daughter which is called 'abuse'. The mother should have stepped up and really did something to stop this treatment. The father also treated the mother with more respect than the daughter.Coming to the end of the movie the father met the child home by herself and he tortured her and he also raped her which was very sick and gross. All of the father's actions reflected on how he was brought up and how he was treated when he was a child. We all have to remember that his time will come when he meets his creator, what would he have done then? ask for forgiveness? this is god's child, they all come first!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    A Realistic Glimpse into a Southern Subculture

    I was born in the town this story took place. I began reading 'Bastard..' out of curiosity regarding my town. But I quickly realized this is an exceptional author with 'the gift' for telling a story. Bone's character was so real, I felt all of her emotions. Sadly, this story is all too true for many families. Learning about people of different cultures is necessary for understanding them. The author never condones, but also does not judge; she simply presents the story. Some readers wanted a happy ending. I was okay with the more realistic ending for anything else would not have been in character for anyone in that world. This is a very important book that I've recommended with a warning - don't expect to feel light and fluffy. Enlightened yes, but not lightened!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    DEPRESSING!

    I read the first 100 pages and thought it would get better. It had too many drawn out conversations between different family members in the book, that u didn't care about. I was only interested in the main character, her mom, and step-dad. This was the first book that i SKIMMED through, to get to the Important things that mattered. Then, i was left with a DEPRESSING ENDING..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    Excellent narrative style

    Allison employs a delightful narrative style in crafting this novel. Although I was not satisfied with the ending --no happily ever after here-- the book rings true to real life decisions made by people caught in no-win circumstances. This novel is an easy read, with vibrant characters and a believable plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Moving

    A moving and awe-inspiring novel. I'm from the south, and born poor, and feel as if Allison really caputured the essence of SOME part of the south. The characters were well drawn, the description sparse and poetic, just a well written novel. Anyone at all interested in the human condition (of any state) should read this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    I havent even read the novel

    I saw the movie and was touched deep down inside.....for I too have been a victim of such atrocities. I couldnt sit through the movie without becoming angry, scared, aroused and ultimately disgusted. Reading the novel will only be that much harder.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2003

    Best book i ever read!

    This book was the great. I also enjoyed watching the movie on lifetime tv. Both the book and the movie are good. The are very sad and they both make you think of how much rape and violence there is in this world. I recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    Wow

    Probably the single most powerful book I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2002

    Emotioanlly gripping!

    This is a raw and well-told story that is beautifully written. A true study of character and why people do the tings they do. READ THIS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Astounding.

    This book was assigned to my literature class when I was in college 10 years ago. I have read it many, many times since then. It was the best book I had ever read 10 years ago, and it is still my #1 today. Dorothy Allison is a writer of exceptional genious and heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5