Customer Reviews for

Bastian (Lords of Satyr Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Best one so far

    The most romantic and best plot of these novels so far! Bastian is the head archeologist in the excavations of the Roman Forum in 1880. Silvia was a Vestal Virgin centuries ago and was transformed into an Ephemeral, which is an immortal who has to take a new host body once a month in a renewal that has to do with the goddess Vesta. *** Silvia falls in love with Bastian, but she holds her feelings back, because her best friend loves him and is in a relationship with him. *** But Silvia is in constant contact with Bastian because she is trying to locate and steal a relic from the Forum digs. *** series order is First group: Nicholas, Raien, Lyon, Dominic. New trilogy: Dane Bastian Sevin. *** Highly recommend this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Highly recommended!!!!!!

    I LOVE this series!!!! They are full of fantasy and HOTT romance. They are almost addictive. I cannot wait for the next book. If you are looking for sizzling sex and beautiful romance these are for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    The Saga Continues in Bella Roma!

    Actually enjoyed this tale of the series more than other recent ones. Liked the tie-in w/ the archeology of the Forum. As the oldest of this satyr group of brothers, Bastian has 2 "interesting" weaknesses. The concept of the Vestal Ephemerals really sparked (no pun intended) this story & made Silvia a strong female for Bastian to seek out. If Ms. Amber keeps writing these sexy characters, I will definitely keep reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    Excellent Read

    If this book is like all the other Satyr then it's going to be a really good read. The others was a page turner a book I couldn't put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    great book to read- you got to get

    this book made me want to read all of amber book now i am on the hunt for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    I love this whole series, but Bastian was the best one yet, I ce

    I love this whole series, but Bastian was the best one yet, I certainly wouldn't mind having this Lord Satyr in my world or you know . . . The attention brought to the forum excavations, the tale of the vestal virgins and companions and of course, the most sizzle for your buck love scenes. Your imagination is a wonder Ms Amber. Woooooo Hoooooo bring on Sevin and Lucien.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Couldn't put the book down!!!

    Loved the last book in the series so far. I can't wait for Raine. I could not put this book down. Stayed up way to late to finish but it was well worth it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OMG gotta read

    I loved this story. I liked the way the Ephemeral came to Bastian in varied forms to finally become solid for him. Of the 4 brothers - Domininc, Dane, Bastian & Luc, so far this was my favorite. Would like to have a story on Luc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent addition to the Satyr series!

    First readers should note that this is a different Satyr clan than the others in the series. This is a Satyr clan from Rome (not Tuscany) in the 1850's time period. The brothers in this series are Bastian, Sevin, Dane, and Lucian. The Satyr clan of Tuscany, from the 1794 to 1813 time period and are Dominic, Nicolas, Lyon, and Raine. I don't think the two clans are related but I'm not 100% sure. I was a bit confused myself, with a new Satyr clan, which is why I'm relating the other clans and names and time period of both so you know what's going on in each series. If you are new to the Elizabeth Amber series, I will tell you that the Satyr clan's are descended from Bacchus, the Roman God of Wine. Naturally, most of the Satyr's work in the vineyards and do exceptionally well in this field. Not only do they flourish at wine-making, they also protect a sacred gate between Earth and the ElseWorld. The ElseWorld is a parallel realm to the Earth and is populated by creatures of myth and magic. The two main characters in this book are Silvia and Lord Bastian. Silvia is a virgin Ephemeral (1 of 12 girls) who worship Vesta, the Goddess of Hearth, Home, and Fire. Silvia, along with the other 11 girls are changed into Ephemerals 1,500 years ago by their Goddess as a way to protect them when their temple was destroyed. Ephermals are non-corporeal beings who can inhabit the bodies of others, who are close to death. Lord Bastian is a Satyr, brother to 3, and leads an archaeological site in Rome, excavating rare finds. Satyrs are very sexual beings and at the beginning of each month, their ancient royal blood line demands that they heed the full moon's call to fornicate. If they don't do this, they can actually die. We meet Silvia at the beginning of the book, when she's just six-years old. She's lead by her parents, to the Roman Forum, where others have gathered, including other girls her own age and her uncle Pontifex. Her mother informs her that it's a ceremony to chose the Virgins and that it's an honor to be chosen. Basically, Silvia and the others are special and different from other children and are chosen to be inducted into the service of Vesta, the Goddess of Fire. In the late 1800's you meet Bastian and Silvia again. Bastian is in a sexual relationship with Michaela, who is Silvia's friend from Vesta's temple. Michaela is a Companion, a courtesan with the power to please any man. Bastian is in charge of excavating the Roman Forum and is famous for his finds. He's in charge by the order of the ElseWorld to safeguard any Satyr secret that might get dug up. Bastian is also determined to find the House of the Vestal Virgins and doesn't realize that Michaela was a part of that temple. Silvia gives him a vision on where to find the temple, because she is looking for something special to help her and her other sisters from the temple. You can say she has ulterior motives in leading Sebastian along the way. Please note there are some F/F and M/M action. I don't care for those relationships much, but they did not take away from me enjoying this book. Elizabeth Amber writes deliciously, erotic paranormals that make me want to go dig up a Satyr of my own. I did receive this book for Free to give my honest review. This did not affect the rating on the book and my rating/review is strictly my own opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Loved, Loved, Loved this one

    I throughly enjoyed this Satyr book, I was glad when Bastian ended up with the women he truly loved, always glad when the villians end up dead, looking forward to reading a book on Sevin and Lucien, I think Lucien will end up being my favorite. I enjoy how the books pull you in and the endings aren't drawn out, but get right to the point

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    Elizabeth Amber has created a world of fantasy, based in the old religions and histories of Europe and Rome. The rich textures of this world are fascinating, and the mix of real history and fantasy are so well combined to draw the reader into the story.

    Michaela and Silvia were best friends for untold centuries, until Michaela chooses to become mortal for the man she loves.

    Raised in the temple of Vesta, Silvia is one of the Vestal Virgins, while Michaela becomes a Companion, trained to pleasure the dignitaries of Elseworld, and traveling Earthside on occasion. There she falls in love with Bastian Satyr, eldest of the second generation of the Lords of Satyr, and chooses to leave the life of an Ephemeral to become mortal for him. But she retains her ties to her friend, and when Michaela is murdered by an ogre sent by the evil Pontifex, Silvia takes her body as host, for that is the only way she can honor her friends last wishes, to lay with Bastian once more at Moonful. And although all Silvia knows of sex and passion is what was given her at Michaela's hands, she has fallen under Bastian's spell herself, and is beginning to love the man he is. Because she is an Ephemeral, Silvia can take on the body of one near death to become fully solid, but only for a limited period.

    As she spends time with Bastian, first as a twelve year old ragamuffin, then as Michaela, she grows ever more conflicted at what she must do: find the six firestones from the ruined temple and return to Elseworld to try and free the nine Vestal imprisoned there. Can Silvia let herself love and be loved for who she is, or will she forever long for what Bastian can offer her? Can Bastian save her in time to start a new life with her? Will Silvia ever give him the one thing she has kept from him-her name?

    I will admit that I found this book a little slow going at first, but soon became enthralled by the story of betrayal and salvation unfolding in Silvia's story. And make no mistake about it-this is Silvia's story just as much as it is Bastian's. The retelling of Silvia and Michaela's backstory is illuminating, if at times quite tragic, but gives an insight into Silvia's actions.

    Silvia is a wonderful character. Strong and determined to achieve her goals, she is shocked to find herself falling for Bastian. And as Michaela's most loyal friend, she denies the attraction, even to herself. I enjoyed watching her move from host to host, taking those characters as her own, and trying to fulfill the death wish of that host at each turn. Whether male or female, she gains a bit from each host, and has become very adept at what she does. Sensuous yet innocent, Silvia is a marvelous mix of any personalities combined. I like that she refuses to be deterred from her goal of freeing her fellow Ephemerals held captive by the evil Pontifex, even if it means giving up any happiness she could have with Bastian.

    Read the full review at Whipped Cream Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting erotic historical romantic fantasy

    In 1881, like all his Satyr man-god siblings, Lord Bastian protects ElseWorld. He is currently leading excavations in Roman, but is disturbed by a voice in his head calling him and a vision of the Temple of the Vestal Virgins.

    Silvia the pure Ephemeral Vestal Virgin calls to Bastian so he can dig up the temple and its firestones in order to free her trapped peers. However, already in heat without a corporal form, she takes over a female body, which leads to Bastian and her in a constant out of control libido. Meanwhile someone wants the excavation to fail, sabotaging her effort to liberate the Vestal Virgins.

    The latest Lords of the Satyr series (see Dominic and Dane) is an exciting erotic historical romantic fantasy. Bastian is an intriguing protagonist, but it is the ephemeral Silvia with her skill to possess any female body in order to please a man (especially this particular male) who brings compassion to the tale. Readers will appreciate this entreating late nineteenth century thriller, as Bastian cannot have enough of Silvia regardless of what body she uses to entice him.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3