Customer Reviews for

The Batboy

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good even for non-sports fans

I'm not usually a huge baseball fan, but Mike Lupica is usually a big seller. So when his new novel came out, I decided to give it a shot.
Brian Dudley feels like he's living the dream in his summer job as a batboy for his hometown Major League team. Even though his mo...
I'm not usually a huge baseball fan, but Mike Lupica is usually a big seller. So when his new novel came out, I decided to give it a shot.
Brian Dudley feels like he's living the dream in his summer job as a batboy for his hometown Major League team. Even though his mom doesn't understand it, especially after his dad left them for the sport; baseball is what makes Brian feel alive. But when his baseball hero, Hank Bishop, seems to be nothing like Brian imagined, and his own hitting sinks into a slump, Brian starts to wonder if baseball's really what it's all about. Brian and Hank soon discover that sometimes you just have to step up to the plate and swing for the fences, even if the only one rooting for you is yourself.

posted by Tish_S on March 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

For All Sports Lovers- A Must Read

Batboy. The dream job of most teenage kids. In the novel, The Batboy by Mike Lupica, Brian Dudley is just that. This is a great sports-fiction novel for all baseball lovers, young or old. Brian's dad, Cole Dudley, had been a major league pitcher for several teams. ...
Batboy. The dream job of most teenage kids. In the novel, The Batboy by Mike Lupica, Brian Dudley is just that. This is a great sports-fiction novel for all baseball lovers, young or old. Brian's dad, Cole Dudley, had been a major league pitcher for several teams. The problem, he is an awful dad. All he knows how to do is baseball. He lives, sleeps and eats baseball. For this reason he is divorced. Brian still finds sanctuary within it though. When Brian got the job as a batboy, Brian's mom Liz, was reluctant at first. Until she found out that Hank Bishop, Brian's idol and reason he began to love baseball, was traded onto the team. Brian was ecstatic when he heard this. On the other hand, when Brian met Hank it did not go as planned. Never in a million years would Brian think this would happen. Overall, I would give this book 7.5 out of 10 for one main reason. The book was way too predictable.
I feel that Brian sticking with Hank through all that happened was touching. Most kids like to be front runners. For example, you are more likely to be a Kobe fan than a Gilbert Arenas fan. Not with Brian though. All those Cleveland fans who burned the LeBron jerseys are the exact opposite of Brian! He kept boxes full of Hank Bishop Memorabilia. I find this very interesting. I infer that Mike Lupica did this for a reason to teach a lesson. That lesson is to stay true to yourself in this case. Although this was not my favorite book ever, I would certainly recommend it to a friend. It is a great adventure for a 14 year old boy with divorced parents to go through. It was also very shocking on how highly you can think of someone and how rude they can be back at you.
I would say this book is a very mild page turner. It does not involve much suspense, but being the sports fan I am it made me keep on reading. Additionally, the turns in the novel made it very entertaining. Furthermore, I connected to Brian in this novel. As a matter of fact, it was very easy to do so because we are the same age and have the same interests. In my opinion any sports lover will not have a challenge doing so. Finally, this plot was very believable. Not only did it involve real life situations, but it also explained them. For instance, the author explains that all baseball players go into slumps at one point in their career's or another. As you can see, this is a very entertaining book for all sports fans and I believe you will also enjoy it as much as I have.

posted by 5001807 on October 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good even for non-sports fans

    I'm not usually a huge baseball fan, but Mike Lupica is usually a big seller. So when his new novel came out, I decided to give it a shot.
    Brian Dudley feels like he's living the dream in his summer job as a batboy for his hometown Major League team. Even though his mom doesn't understand it, especially after his dad left them for the sport; baseball is what makes Brian feel alive. But when his baseball hero, Hank Bishop, seems to be nothing like Brian imagined, and his own hitting sinks into a slump, Brian starts to wonder if baseball's really what it's all about. Brian and Hank soon discover that sometimes you just have to step up to the plate and swing for the fences, even if the only one rooting for you is yourself.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    For All Sports Lovers- A Must Read

    Batboy. The dream job of most teenage kids. In the novel, The Batboy by Mike Lupica, Brian Dudley is just that. This is a great sports-fiction novel for all baseball lovers, young or old. Brian's dad, Cole Dudley, had been a major league pitcher for several teams. The problem, he is an awful dad. All he knows how to do is baseball. He lives, sleeps and eats baseball. For this reason he is divorced. Brian still finds sanctuary within it though. When Brian got the job as a batboy, Brian's mom Liz, was reluctant at first. Until she found out that Hank Bishop, Brian's idol and reason he began to love baseball, was traded onto the team. Brian was ecstatic when he heard this. On the other hand, when Brian met Hank it did not go as planned. Never in a million years would Brian think this would happen. Overall, I would give this book 7.5 out of 10 for one main reason. The book was way too predictable.
    I feel that Brian sticking with Hank through all that happened was touching. Most kids like to be front runners. For example, you are more likely to be a Kobe fan than a Gilbert Arenas fan. Not with Brian though. All those Cleveland fans who burned the LeBron jerseys are the exact opposite of Brian! He kept boxes full of Hank Bishop Memorabilia. I find this very interesting. I infer that Mike Lupica did this for a reason to teach a lesson. That lesson is to stay true to yourself in this case. Although this was not my favorite book ever, I would certainly recommend it to a friend. It is a great adventure for a 14 year old boy with divorced parents to go through. It was also very shocking on how highly you can think of someone and how rude they can be back at you.
    I would say this book is a very mild page turner. It does not involve much suspense, but being the sports fan I am it made me keep on reading. Additionally, the turns in the novel made it very entertaining. Furthermore, I connected to Brian in this novel. As a matter of fact, it was very easy to do so because we are the same age and have the same interests. In my opinion any sports lover will not have a challenge doing so. Finally, this plot was very believable. Not only did it involve real life situations, but it also explained them. For instance, the author explains that all baseball players go into slumps at one point in their career's or another. As you can see, this is a very entertaining book for all sports fans and I believe you will also enjoy it as much as I have.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Hi

    Great book, Best book i ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    Brian's Homerun

    The book The Batboy by Mike Lupica is an exciting but serious story. When I saw the list for the summer reading just the title of the book got my attention. If you are a baseball fan you would definitely love this book. The way Mike Lupica describes the scenery is amazing. The words that he uses make you feel like you are actually in the story watching a baseball game. This is one of the best books that you can read for the summer. You won't regret reading the novel The Batboy. Mike Lupica's books are great sports lovers. His books are a great way to really enjoy your reading experience. The next books on my list are Summerball and Million Dollar Throw both by Mike Lupica. It's like the best of both worlds reading and sports.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    The bat boy by Mike Lupica

    Mr. Lupica book Batboy focuses on baseball and family. Brian and his mom are working though Brian father's abrupt departure for Japanese baseball.Brian Dudley is a heart broken kid that is longing for his father, all Brian is looking for is for his father to be there for him but his father life was all about baseball. Brian is a player for his town team and also has landed a job as a batboy for the Detroit Tiger and that his hero will be playing for the team.

    As i was reading this book I could tell Brian life has been hard all the people he loved have disappoint him like his hero Hank and father, but as I keep reading all that disappointment keep him going no matter what came to him just for the love of the game.Brian loyalty to the game is in part an attempt to remain connected with his father, who blazes through town as a talent scout, but does not take the time to say or watch one of his games.

    Through this story, Brian learns about current problems in the professional sport such as steroids, he learns about role models as well as love for the game.

    Brian has a ultimate dream of every younfg fan--- geeting to work alongside one's favorite team. " I wish it was me with Delgado Beltron" This book will appeal to any reader who loves baseball.

    I will recommend this book to all the kids that have a dream of becoming an athletic player because they will learn a lot of things from what any prayer or fan can go though. I think Mike Lupica is a marvelous writer. As i went though this journey reading the Batboy, he has encourage me to read all of his publish books. My next journey will be reading (Heat) also a story about a boy name Michael that has love for the game as Brian and I have.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Enjoyed this book - as a Tigers fan and as a parent!

    As a child, I spent summers in Michigan. The more times I was able to attend a game at Tiger Stadium, the better! I was in love with baseball, and in love with the Tigers through those years - Mark "The Bird" Fidrych, Rusty Staub, Kirk Gibson, Alan Trammell, Jack Morris, Lance Parrish....the list goes on. I truly believed I would one day be the first female pro baseball player! Even though this book takes place at Comerica, it brought to life those childhood images, my love for the game of baseball, and the dream of being a batboy (or girl!).

    With books like "The Batboy", Lupica has filled a need for literature that appeals to kids who are sports fans, but not necessarily avid readers. And avid readers who are also sports fans, like my daughter, have another enjoyable alternative. As usual, Lupica doesn't "dumb it down" for his young readers, and doesn't shy away from dealing with real-life or controversial issues, like divorce and steroid use in professional sports. I know my kids will enjoy this as much as I did.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    it is one of the best book mike has ever wrote 

    it is one of the best book mike has ever wrote 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    This book is about a boy who really has a strong love for baseba

    This book is about a boy who really has a strong love for baseball. The way he shows this passion is very obvious because whenever he talks baseball he talks numbers and really doesn't stop. He also really likes the Tigers especially. And he also has really wanted to be a batboy for the tigers. I really like this book. I think it is very inspiring book because he achieves his dream and really doesn't stop until he does.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Nice.

    Mike Lupica never ceases to amaze me. He is an outstanding author. He mixes in my favorite sport with emotion and longing. Great job, Lupica!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this book as mucn as i love cheese!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED IT

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    Great!!!

    I would recomend it. Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    good book

    really liked it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    bat boy gets big fan

    I love it can't wait to buy the whole book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    great book

    this book was great. i would recomend it to anyone who likes sports.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Introduction The theme of the book is dreams can come true. Mike

    Introduction
    The theme of the book is dreams can come true. Mike wrote the book because he wanted kids to know that dreams can come. Batboy is a great book to me because it’s about baseball, and I like sports. If you are not a sports fan, Batboy would not be the best read for you.
    Description and summary of content
    The book was written by Mike Lupica. The book is about Brian Dudley. During the summer he gets a job as a batboy for his favorite MLB team. He is a batboy for the Detroit Tigers. That’s why it is called Batboy. Brian’s favorite player is Hank Bishop. Brian’s dad played in the majors. He was a pitcher. When Brian first meets Hank it doesn’t go well, but as time goes on they get closer and closer. Brian plays for an all-star baseball team. Their team name is the Sting.
    Evaluation
    It was one of the best books I have ever read. I don’t read very often, but it was still a great book. It has a good theme and is very interesting. At some points I had trouble putting it down. Its purpose is to tell readers dreams can come.
    Conclusion
    It’s a great book. There’s a little bit of everything in it. If you aren’t a sports kind of person, this book probably isn’t the best for you. But if you like sports I would highly recommend this book.
    Brian becomes a batboy for the Detroit Tigers. He meets Hank Bishop. He plays for an all-star baseball team called the Sting. Brain and Hank have their ups and downs, but they end up being close
    I loved the book. If you are looking for a book for your child, this would be a great book for any kid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have read four othe Mike Lupica books but this was the BEST by FAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    I have read one or two other Mike Lupica books but The Batboy se

    I have read one or two other Mike Lupica books but The Batboy seemed to be the best one i have read yet. This book made me actually eager to find out what was going to happen next. I thoroughly enjoy every part of this book, there was very small slow parts but they didn’t seem to phase me from wanting to keep reading. The fact the boy was able to be batboy and have to face one of his all time favorite players was just basically a plot that seemed interesting to me, and clearly kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I did not read it yet but l might yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Great book

    This book was about a boy getting a summer job as a batboy for the Tigars. His dad is an out of the country pitching coach. Will his dad ever come home? This book is of my favorites books I ever read. This the first Mike Lupica book I read. Thanks for reading what I think of this book. Thanks again, Matthew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6