Customer Reviews for

Batman: The Killing Joke

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Classic - and for good reason

Creepy and thrilling, this is the ultimate in comic book stories. It explores the Joker's psyche in a truly fascinating way and, in his attempt to turn Commissioner Gordon as crazy as himself, unravels the timeless villain in a way never done before.

posted by Jayden-Raynor on March 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Far Cry from the Best Joker Story

How should one put it? 1. Boring 2. Yet ANOTHER retelling of Joker's Origin 3. Not much plot, character development, or concept development.

posted by Anonymous on August 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Classic - and for good reason

    Creepy and thrilling, this is the ultimate in comic book stories. It explores the Joker's psyche in a truly fascinating way and, in his attempt to turn Commissioner Gordon as crazy as himself, unravels the timeless villain in a way never done before.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2008

    Chilling

    It stands out as one of the most amazing Joker stories in the DC Universe. Alan Moore has created one of the most phenomenal and chilling contributions to the legacy of Batman's archnemesis, creating what may be the most subscribable backstories for the villain. The horrific, mesmerizing sequence in the fun house, as Gordon's sanity is put to the excruciating test, is arguably one of The Clown Prince of Crime's greatest transgressions against humanity. Buy it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    this was great

    probably one of the best graphic novels i've ever read. the ending had me guessing and this is now in my permanent library. i recomend it for any Batman fan, or anyone looking for a good read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Realy good

    I am a realy big b man fan and this is the best this is a must read






    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    An amazing read with an ending just as disturbing as the Joker h

    An amazing read with an ending just as disturbing as the Joker himself. Well done artwork of the Joker will haunt you for days so be ready. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    It blew my mind!

    This was a great read. Awesome Joker origin story in there. If you love the Joker or a good Batman story, this is it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Always wanted to read this, just did and it knocked my socks off

    Always wanted to read this, just did and it knocked my socks off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    A Classic Batman Story

    This is a must own for any fan of the Joker and/or Batman. The artwork, is very of its time, but it gives a glimpse into the mind of the Joker and helps the reader understand better what makes him tick. This graphic novel also clearly illustrates the relationship(s) between Batman and the Joker, Batman and Jim Gordon and Batman and Batgirl. It also shows why Barbara Gordon goes from being Batgirl to Oracle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Joker 111111111111111111111111111111111 on Jan 1,000,0000

    The best book i have ever read.awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    This is the quintessential batman book for anyone who says they

    This is the quintessential batman book for anyone who says they are a batman fan to read. The art work is outstanding, the story is fantastic, I really could go on and on about how great it is but I will not. I will say this you must read this one especially if you call yourself a fan of the dark knight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    A short story about the origin story of both the Joker and Oracle. A must-read for any Batman fan and anyone who appreciates a tale about the clash between good and evil--and a sight into what they have in common.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    A most excellent book. A must-read for Batman and Joker fans.

    A truly great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Essential reading for all comics fans!!

    I finally got around to reading what I've heard was one of the best Batman stories ever told. Alan Moore, who I don't hero worship like many comics fans, pens such a complete look at how the Joker works and thinks and why. Brian Bolland gives the definitive Joker. Every panel is amazing. He conveys so much with just a look. Overall, this a fantastic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Alan Moore making another classic

    This is one of the classic batman stories, along with Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, and Batman: The Long Halloween. The Joker tries to prove that one bad day can make someone go insane and kidnaps Commisioner Gordon, after crippilling Barabra in front of him, to prove it. The book is waist deep in philisophical undertones, like the jokers nietzsche-ian philosophies, which make it more enjoyable if you can spot them, but is still a good read if you cant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book!

    One of Alan Moore's best stories! I adore this story, the artwork, the prose, everything! It is a shame that other authors can't come up with origional story lines from classic characters. Joker at his worst, except for the Azzarello "Joker", but still awesome! I recommend getting it at the local library prior to ordering it, same goes with any comic/graphic novel. You dont want to spend money on something that you will regret later, however, this isn't one of those stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent.

    Once again, Alan Moore secures his position as #1 graphic novelist in my book. Beautifully written and illustrated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    A Classic

    As an enthusiast, but not a true connoisseur, this graphic novel cements a true love for super heroes and the complex worlds that have been woven around them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm Crazy for It.

    This book was fantastic. The story is easy to understand and escape into and you're never looking for the dictionary over puzzling vocabulary. The portrayal of the Joker is refreshing and sheds new light upon the character through memories of his past. The flashbacks easily fit into the story and never seem forced or out of place. Though this book is an easier read, you may find yourself slowing down to savor all the information as well as take a few longer looks at the artwork. There is some violence and blood, but nothing too serious, as Batman/Joker fans are accustomed to this. I wouldn't consider this a children's book, as there are also some sexual scenes and frightening imagery. Overall this is a great book that I have read through multiple times. It's great to have in your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    5 star book

    absolutely good book!!! the ending ends with a joke,how great is that?! (even batman laughs!) this is just one of the jokers many origins and absolutely an awsome book.

    p.s. read this before you read hush volume 1 or 2 also read death in the family after this is read because they all connect.

    i give it 2 thumbs up!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    This story is amazing, but this hardcover need not be bought to enjoy it. Buy this Alan Moore collection instead, which contains 'The Killing Joke' & many other good Moore stories - 'DC Universe: The Stories of Alan Moore'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4