Customer Reviews for

Batman Volume 1: The Court of Owls (The New 52) (NOOK Comics with Zoom View)

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Different Batman Story

    Graphic Novel Review (ARC) by Chris for Book Sake
    This book does a great job of pitting Batman against a new criminal organization called the Court of Owls. Not only are they masters in martial arts, but they are even more secretive then Batman. They've been creeping around in the criminal underworld, right under Batman's nose. The story does a great job of putting Batman back on his heels and sets up an even larger struggle to come.

    Greg Capullo's art in this book with full of energy. He does take some allowances with the look of certain villains that may not sit right with some fans. However, they only play a small part to the introduction of the Owls, who look utterly awesome. Sometimes his art feels a little cartoony for the dark nature of the book, but other times it is spot on.

    If you are a Batman fan or have been wanting to start reading, this is a great jumping on point.
    Book Rating: 4 /5

    Graphic Novel Review (ARC) by Kole for Book Sake
    This version of Batman is pretty good. It has a different story from all the other Batman stories and a new villain. But it has really no back story to it. Can you really call this part of the “new 52”? Anyone who doesn’t know who Batman is or the back story on him is going to pick this up and ask “what the hell is going on and who is this crazy guy in a bat costume?" But from the perspective of someone who has read Batman before and knows the back story, it’s a great read. It’s a fresh new problem for Batman to overcome. So my advice, if you haven’t read Batman, don’t read this as a start. Go back and read some actual origin stories of Batman.
    Book Rating: 4/5

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    No one writes batman like scott snyder.

    No one writes batman like scott snyder.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Loed it

    Great book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Honestly, this is my favorite line of the New 52! Scott Snyder'

    Honestly, this is my favorite line of the New 52! Scott Snyder's story is amazing, not to mention Greg Capullo's awesome artwork. If you had to read only one of the revamped lines, this is the one!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    A must read for batman fans.

    A great way to jump into the world of the caped crusader.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exceptional Batman Lore! The New 52 Batman is a great beginning

    Exceptional Batman Lore! The New 52 Batman is a great beginning for newcomers and pokes some loopholes through the origin story that can be greatly appreciated by long-time fans. The transition from descriptive writing to vivid panels compliment the characters all thanks to Scott Snyder's prose and Greg Capullo's artwork! This is a fresh start as well as a reunion for Batman's old, but good roots as a comic book character; one for readers alike, and with a different perspective that retains the old to its zenith. Batman: The Court of Owls does not disappoint!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    "Batman: The Court of Owls" Book Review

    For years and years, I never comic books for an extended period of time. Occasionly, I would read one givin to me as a birthday present, but that was about it. Then, on a whim, I picked up issue 9 of this series. Now, I've been going to my local Newbury Comics on a monthly basis to pick up the comics written by the same team who wrote this series ( at this point "Court of Owls" has ended ). Scott Snyder writes Batman and all the others beautifully, perfectly balancing the silliness of comics and realism that goes with all Batman stories ( except those of the '60's, which I don't even know why I brought up ). The other thing that's great about this series is the art. Greg Capullo, the artist who is best known for his run on "Spawn", knocks it way out of the park with a somewhat cartoonish style that goes great with the story, producing the best comic art I've seen in years. All in all,
    "Batman: The Court of Owls" is by far the best bit of DC's New 52.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Great

    This does a great job of introducing Batman in the New 52, and it also gives Batman an actual mystery to solve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Scoot Snyder is KILLING IT with his run on Batman. Personally, I

    Scoot Snyder is KILLING IT with his run on Batman. Personally, I'm a huge fan of his earlier Batman work: The Black Mirror and Gates of Gotham. I didn't think it could get much better than that, but with the Court of Owls, Snyder has given Batman readers a new villain/secret society that will stay within Batman mythos for a long time. One of the reasons I enjoy Scott Snyder's work on Batman is the way he incorporates the history of Gotham City into a lot of his stories. He was able to do it in Gates of Gotham and now Snyder has gone even bigger with the Court of Owls. Batman started with a bang in the New 52 and Snyder hasn't slowed down. In my opinion, besides Knightfall when Bane broke his back, Batman has never been this vulnerable. The only difference is Batman was aware of Bane. In this, he's not even sure if the Court of Owls exist. By the time he realizes they are real, it's too late. Scott Snyder has crafted a great story that ties the entire Bat Family together, with the Court of Owls leading in to The City of Owls, and then continuing in Night of the Owls. The history is rich and each Talon that serves the Court has there own past and reason as to why. Pick this saga up and you will not be disappointed. As a life long Batman fan, I have to say Scott Snyder's Batman is refreshing to read after Grant Morrison's take. I enjoyed Morrison's take a lot, but felt it got a little too "Whacky" in some areas. Snyder brings Batman back to a place that is easy to enjoy and not a complete flustercuck to read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great New Start

    Snyder does a great job portraying Gotham. Batman is faced with a new, yet ancient, adversary. The Court of Owls is mysterious and captivating. The epic story unfolds in a beautifully rendered art style. Even if you are not a fan of graphic novels (I much prefer novels to comics), give this one a try. I received this as a gift, and I am very glad I did.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Batman

    Yes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    The best of the new 52, anyone who loves great stories should pick it up

    WOW! Snyder is on a roll. You don't need to know too much about previous Batman stories, this one isn't a complete reboot (It's still Bruce Wayne, who's parents were murdered outside the theater, there are still Dick Grayson/Tim Drake/Damien, etc). How many years Bruce has been Batman, I'm a bit unsure, but he has certainly made a name for himself in Gotham, so it's well passed year one.

    Anyway, the story is fantastic. It's a brand new villain to Batman lore, and an excellent one at that. It's brand new, it's not "simply" some clown wearing makeup who wants chaos, or a cannibalistic monster, and it fits in great with the themes of Batman. The art is quite nice as well. Excellent read, and I hate having to wait until March for Volume 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Amazing

    This was amazing and very dark. Can't wait for more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    New 52 Batman has it

    This story does a fine job at establishing the Batman world in New 52, with things being new but still feeling familiar. The Court of Owls give us interesting new villains for Batman to go against as they know the city even better than he does. A fine first part of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Seriously Fricking Sweet Batman, a legendary character, has gain

    Seriously Fricking Sweet
    Batman, a legendary character, has gained such a strong backing and legacy in the past that DC did not need to start from scratch as they did with most of the characters in the New 52 reboot. Scott Snyder, the writer who came on to take over  writing the Batman's story,  allows Batman to continue as the Caped Crusader always has, while still bringing a new view to the character, introducing a completely new villian and original plot that lays the groundwork for the new  interaction between Batman and Gotham, and the reader and Batman. The Court of Owls is a great villian, fresh and exciting, menacing, and challenges the depths of who Batman is and his personal emotional connection and roots to Gotham.Greg Capullo's art only serves to compliment Snyder's writing as he crafts a classic cartoon style feel for a character that is unique and different, but not too experimental that is takes away from the writing itself. In my personal opinion, I think that team of Scott Snyder as writer and Greg Capullo as a artist is perfect for both Scott's writing style and Greg's art. In short, the story is phenomonally weaved  by Snyder's writing, and beautifully portrayed and carried out by Capullo's artwork. This volume should absoloutely be read for hardcore fans or people just entering into the superhero craze with a basic character. Highly HIGHLY recommended.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Batman

    If your into comics or thinking about getting into them dc's new 52 are the BEST hands down esp. for new collecters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Not yr fathers batman

    A little too weird

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Love!

    Love the art bro, like so super texy all the way drop the bizzle in my nizzle salad!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Recommend, check it out

    Was bought for a Christmas gift to my Grandson. He loved it and will add to his collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Cool

    Barnes and noble good job

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2