Customer Reviews for

Batman Vol. 3: Death of the Family (NOOK Comic with Zoom View)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Batman and the Joker, nothing gets better than this.

Batman and the Joker, nothing gets better than this.

posted by Anonymous on November 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic story. I'm glad I didn't pick up the original #s 13-

A fantastic story. I'm glad I didn't pick up the original #s 13-17 books as they came out and waited for this beautifully printed piece of art. The Joker, moving the mythos into the future, with this face? An incredible stroke of genius. It will, however, be my last sup...
A fantastic story. I'm glad I didn't pick up the original #s 13-17 books as they came out and waited for this beautifully printed piece of art. The Joker, moving the mythos into the future, with this face? An incredible stroke of genius. It will, however, be my last super hero book for a long time.




DC said they'd make their books $2.99 so everyday readers could afford them. Rebooting the heroes allows a new generation to identify and take ownership of the stories. DC was looking to expand the readership.Well, the books at the comic store are $3.99. And this volume, the third of the Batman reboot, actually requires a little set up. If you've read volumes 1 and 2, you won't have it though. The set-up came in the first volume of the Detective reboot. So the financial investment, the commitment to characters, the effort required to fully understand the story and the legend, are already requirements guaranteeing an elite readership. I don't have it in me anymore. 




So what can a review of a comic provide? I'm not sure what some one would want. The acetate wrapping cover is very cool; something I appreciate in a non-digital book. The printing is sumptuous, Greg Capullo's and Jon Glapion's artwork stunning, and Scott Snyder's spinning of the tale deeply inspired. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition. All the pages turned.But DC? Folks? Life is too damned short. I don't have what it takes to be in your elite club.

posted by drstong on November 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    A fantastic story. I'm glad I didn't pick up the original #s 13-

    A fantastic story. I'm glad I didn't pick up the original #s 13-17 books as they came out and waited for this beautifully printed piece of art. The Joker, moving the mythos into the future, with this face? An incredible stroke of genius. It will, however, be my last super hero book for a long time.




    DC said they'd make their books $2.99 so everyday readers could afford them. Rebooting the heroes allows a new generation to identify and take ownership of the stories. DC was looking to expand the readership.Well, the books at the comic store are $3.99. And this volume, the third of the Batman reboot, actually requires a little set up. If you've read volumes 1 and 2, you won't have it though. The set-up came in the first volume of the Detective reboot. So the financial investment, the commitment to characters, the effort required to fully understand the story and the legend, are already requirements guaranteeing an elite readership. I don't have it in me anymore. 




    So what can a review of a comic provide? I'm not sure what some one would want. The acetate wrapping cover is very cool; something I appreciate in a non-digital book. The printing is sumptuous, Greg Capullo's and Jon Glapion's artwork stunning, and Scott Snyder's spinning of the tale deeply inspired. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition. All the pages turned.But DC? Folks? Life is too damned short. I don't have what it takes to be in your elite club.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Batman and the Joker, nothing gets better than this.

    Batman and the Joker, nothing gets better than this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Spectacular

    This shows Joker at his fighting best while telling a brand new story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    .

    .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    Quite possibly one of the best Batman arcs in years.

    Scott Snyder already had his plate full when he took on the task of writing the flagship book for DC's New 52, but the pressure must have been feverish when he decided to devote an arc to the most notorious villian in all of comics and pop culture.
    Despite the pressure, Snyder delivered. And then some.
    Death of the Family actually can hold a candle (dim as it may be) to Alan Moore's legendary The Killing Joke.
    Coupled with perfect pencils of Greg Capullo, this story pops with a beautiful dose of madness, humor and horror (all things the Joker embodies).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Snyder and Capullo have a hard job bringing back the Joker in an

    Snyder and Capullo have a hard job bringing back the Joker in an epic and satisfying fashion. While the artwork and dialogue is perfect, the story lacks.

    Death of the Family is a brisk 5 issues and is hidden between epics like the 12 issue Court of Owls and around 15 issue Zero Year.

    Death of the Family is too short for the amount of story that Snyder tries to tell. There is never any breathing room between the action, assassinations, and detective work. While it is a good read once or twice, the story never satisfies fully and you are left with a too safe end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I think this was one of the best story arcs I've ever read. If y

    I think this was one of the best story arcs I've ever read. If you like the Joker or if you have been following the New 52 Batman series I would highly recommend this book. If you would like a more complete story I would recommend The Joker: Death of the Family, which includes most of the stories from the other Batman Family series, or pick up the related book for an individual character if you aren't interested in all of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    One of my new favorite Batman stories. I understand why some peo

    One of my new favorite Batman stories. I understand why some people were upset, as it received a HUGE amount of hype, but I think that it's an excellent read. I was genuinely creeped out and scared, which normally doesn't happen. Snyder and Capullo are a fantastic team and really know how to work the characters and weave together a really good story. There are better stories, but I think that this one is holding to the fantastic quality of their New 52 run thusfar. Can't wait to see what comes next in the Zero Year arc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Scott Snyder is doing an incredible job writing Batman and Greg

    Scott Snyder is doing an incredible job writing Batman and Greg Capullo's art is amazing. Definitely a must buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Date just moved!!!!

    So I preordered to have this on the 15th and today...trying to read it and the date for it is now Nov 5th. Not happy!!!! Cant save my book to card and cant even get stuff on time....glad I stuck with them....not

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1