Customer Reviews for

Battle Born (Patrick McLanahan Series #8)

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    OK Read.

    I've read several of Dale Brown's books in this series. This one is not his best work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2003

    Scary possible reality

    Although I am only 5/8 of the way through the audio version of this book, I am rivitted. With a 45 minute commute (each way), each night I've found myself anxiously anticipating my next days commute so that I can hear the next part of this story (if only I could be so excited about returning to my job). This story revolves around a north Korean situation that is all-too-real these days. It's an interesting twist to the current national/political climate present in early 2003 and I hope and pray that N. Korea does not escallate to the level depicted in this book. If they do, I would definitely wonder if we have a 'Lancelot' project. Even with a family connection to the Pentagon I don't know if we really do, but I sure as Shinola hope so!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2002

    I think this book is great

    This book is really good read for anyone that likes the air force and enjoys a good war novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    Not that great

    After writing a whole bunch of great air warfare books it seemed like Mr. Brown was in cruise control in Battle Born. Wait for the paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 1999

    Dale Brown Forgets His Roots!!

    I just finished reading Battle Born and to tell you the truth, it was a waste of time. Dale Brown goes into so much detail about who, what and when. Do we really need to know how many people are in a room, their names, families, bad habits etc.. This book is almost 400 pages and there is only about 20 to 30 pages out of the whole book related to the actual Battle Born Nevade Guard Unit in action. Otherwise just boring details, geeesh!! I have always loved Dale Brown's work and have read them cover to cover with great excitement. I had to force myself to read this book hoping with each page that it would get better. Dale Brown always likes to associate himself with Tom Clancy. Tom Clancy has not written a good book by himself in years. Dale I guess is now so succesful that he can turn out any junk and put his name on it and it sells. I was really burned and VERY VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED!! Hopefully Dale will go back to his roots and start writing about flying and the excitement of that. What a waste of $24.95!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    Not his best but entertaining

    I have every book that Brown has written, its good to see that he is going back into the military aspect in his novels. This book dragged though. Too much preparation for action and not enough action. That was kind of dissapointing. But the book is written masterfully and i would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    Dale Brown does it again

    here we go again with another ny times besteller. Dale Brown comes right at you with real life news and world events and goes on the offense with his mind. Keeping the character cast on the same level with people we have come to know and love is part of the Dale brown personna. But one of the more interesting issues is the real stars of the books are the planes themselves and the graphic realization he brings them out to be HEROES!!!! and he remembrense that the true heroes are the armed forces that have given of themselves so we could be free. As George Washington said 'we must protect freedom for our unborn', by Dale Brown using current affairs issues in his books he reminds us of our need to keep a military presence..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2