Customer Reviews for

Battle Cry

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Leon Uris is a Great Writer. His books are full of life and based on historical events of significance.

Where are the rest of them?? You have (count 'em) 4 books by a great author in Nook format??? I am pretty sure he wrote more than 4 books in his years of writing. What might be helpful, is to let us buyers know the "Why" of how come you cannot get a book into Nook fo...
Where are the rest of them?? You have (count 'em) 4 books by a great author in Nook format??? I am pretty sure he wrote more than 4 books in his years of writing. What might be helpful, is to let us buyers know the "Why" of how come you cannot get a book into Nook format (James Michener comes to mind as well - I think there are 3 book by a VERY prolific author in Nook Format). Clive Cussler, while not a great "Literary Author" has many books not in Nook Format, but I enjoy his work for a light read day. Is it some legal issue? Does the Nook buyer or formatter not know literature or is not in touch with what readers want? Who gets to decide what is offered and what is not when it comes to Nook-formatted books?

posted by 7795839 on June 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A small mouse

Please dont eat me.....i bring news.

posted by Angie1975 on February 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    Going For Round 3.

    I'm a 58 year old woman and read this book twice before I graduated from high school. I recently bought it again and know without a doubt the pleasurable hours of reading ahead for me. I've always remembered how much I loved this book and it may just be my favorite of the hundreds I've read over the years. No military background necessary to thoroughly enjoy "Battle Cry."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    excellent book - highly reccomended

    I really enjoyed this book. Based on actuall events, but ficionalized it really gives the reader a first hand account of what it was like. If you like to read about the Marince Corps, you will like this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    Battle Cry is the finest novel of World War 2 ever written. Uris

    Battle Cry is the finest novel of World War 2 ever written. Uris is historically accurate, he was a Marine during the war, and his character development is detailed and perfect. In the end you really care for each and every person in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    What news could a mouse so special bring to us?

    What is it?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    highly recommended

    If you are into military historical fiction this is a must read. Well written and flows along smoothly. I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Highly Recommend This Book

    First read this book in 1967, during my junior year in high school. My Dad was in Vietnam and I really connected with the story. Couldn't wait to graduate and go into the military myself, which I did. Spent one tour in Vietnam as did my brother. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will buy it for my ereader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Rosepaw

    Good you are gone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Violetsong story ch six

    Violetpaw ( as of two moons) waited impatiently tapping her paw for her mentor Sandstorm to come out of the warriors den. Of all the mentors possibke she had been given the laziest most laid back one of them all. Great . She actually envied Dustypaw whos mentor Watershine was strict and uptight. Finally Sandstorm strode out yawning calmly " Ah hello violetpaw." " Come on lets train " she begged. He looked at teh small freash kill pile thinking and then agreed " Well okay fine fine we can hunt. Oh look! Theres Watershine and Sparkledust now and their apprentices Dustypae and Bearpaw. as well! Bearpaw. The name made Violetpaws heart speed up. We should all go together! More fresh kill that way ! " he winked " Now hurry along " The pair caught up to the others and they all began to proceed but suddenly were annoyingly interupted by chants of" No fair! and "We dont want to check the elders for ticks. " It wad Sparkledsts kits. The brand new apprentces Ashpaw an Sunpaw whined . " Come on lets ignore them " said Watershine impatiently and violetpaw agreed silently . Even a reluctant Sparkledust proceeded into the woods deeper and deeper " Careful now theres the twolegs place right up there and we must not get too close or...... " offered Sandstrom . Suddenly Violetpaw heard Spaprkledust whisper offhandly " Well isnt that the most plump juicy looking vole I have ever saw! Who can catch it by the fence? Apprentices? " the attention starved Dustypaw( a flaw of his) stalked eagarly and a bit carelessly as he was dangerously nearing the twoleg border. Silently he stalked them suddenly Sandstorm cried " A twoleg" Panic surged through Violetpaws body as she dove into a thick brush next to Bearpaw . Dustypaw panicked unsure and ran too but as he charged Violetpaw watched as a odd twoleg scooped up dustypaw making strange noises to him and carried him off just like that. " My dear brother ! " cried Violetpaw in despair. " I will find him and return him to me!"

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Bl¿

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Daniel

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Shain

    k.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Good

    Very good.liked it alot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    excellent

    i also enjoyed this book very much. i learned alot about the marine corps and i got an idea of what my grandpa used to do in it. This book hit a nerve for me. excellent book for action lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2