Customer Reviews for

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother

Average Rating 3.5
( 613 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(222)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic book - honest look at, and great tips for, the challenge of raising an intelligent accomplished child in America

I love love love this book! I know it's been controversial, but those that hate this book are simply threatened by it. As a woman raised by the quintessential "chinese" mother (although she was polish, and had never even been to china), I completely agree with Chua's pe...
I love love love this book! I know it's been controversial, but those that hate this book are simply threatened by it. As a woman raised by the quintessential "chinese" mother (although she was polish, and had never even been to china), I completely agree with Chua's perspective on child-raising. As she so correctly notes, while the "chinese-mother" school of child raising can mean your child and you have storied pitched battles throughout their childhood, if done correctly (with the deep love and humor both Chua and my own mother have with regard to their children), it results in accomplished, satisfied, and stable adults who genuinely love and respect their parents for the incredible effort and love put into raising them. My own anecdoctal evidence supports this conclusion: I find that I have a much healthier, closer and more enjoyable relationship with my mother, as well as to myself, than many of my friends and acquaintances raised by the traditional "american" model of permissive parents afraid to say "no" for fear of damaging their allegedly delicate self-worth.
The delightful thing about Chua's book, however, is that it is not simply a dry manifesto about the virtues of raising children the "Tiger" way. Rather, she intervenes her delightfully personal, honest story with comments showing her ability to both laugh at herself and learn from her mistakes (which, as any parent knows, are unavoidable in some degree!). Even for those of you that won't gasp with recognition at some of Chua's stories, it is a delightful book which is absolutely worth reading with an open mind, especially if you have children or plan to have children.

posted by 6687513 on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

YIKES!

Somewhere between "Angela's Ashes" and "Tiger Mother" lies the key to good parenting. I am a psychologist and I will be seeing her kids on the couch in about six years.

posted by 5169888 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Horrible!

    As someone who has studied child development, this is a terrible way to raise your children. The result is an adult with no opinions (because they were never allowed a choice), no passion or purpose in life (aside from pleasing their parents), and a serious lack in ability to think conceptually (because they were never allowed to experiment or make mistakes). What I mean by thinking conceptually is to think in more abstract terms, or to think about a situation or problem beyond the plain facts in front of you. Thinking conceptually is what allows for creative problem solving and creative production. Children raised in this method would lack such a skill because they are encouraged not to think independently, but to do as they are instructed and learn from rote memorization. That's to say nothing of the fact that her tactics involve mental and emotional abuse towards the child.

    9 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    HORRIFYING

    SMUG LOOK AT A WOMAN WHO NEEDS A SERIOUS LESSON IN PARENTING, I DON'T CARE IF SHE IS CHINESE OR "WESTERN." HER PARENTING BASICALLY ADDS UP TO CHILD ABUSE.

    I KNOW THE CULTURE AS I HAVE BEEN TO CHINA AND HAVE ADOPTED ONE OF THEIR UNWANTED GIRLS. MY CHINESE DAUGHTER WHO WAS THROWN AWAY BECAUSE SHE WAS VERY SICK WILL HAVE MORE OPPORTUNITIES IN LIFE THAN THESE POOR LITTLE RICH GIRLS WHO WERE PRESSURED BEYOND BELIEF TO DO THINGS THEY DIDN'T WANT TO DO.

    AS A TEACHER I HAVE DEALT WITH SOME OF THESE CHILDREN WHO ARE CRYING, NERVOUS WRECKS IF THEY DON'T ACHIEVE 100% OR MORE. KIDS THAT CAN'T DO ANYTHING BUT STUDY. MAYBE THIS ROTE STRUCTURED LIFESTYLE WORKS IN CHINA, BUT IT IS NOT A PART OF OUR BELIEFS IN THE"WESTERN" WORLD. PERHAPS MS. CHUA SHOULD HAVE TAKEN HER CHILDREN BACK TO CHINA, STRAPPED THEM IN A CHAIR UNTIL THEY WERE POTTY TRAINED AND HAVE THEM MARCH AROUND A SCHOOL YARD.

    FOR ME, I WELCOME MY HIGH ACHIEVING CHILDRENS'DIFFERNCES. I GAVE THEM CHOICES AND THEY HACE EXCELLED.

    WHERE WAS DAD WHEN ALL OF THIS WAS GOING ON? WHY DIDN'T HE "MAN UP" AND PUT SOME JOY INTO HIS DAUGHTER'S LIVES?

    ONE MORE THING, LULU YOU ROCK!

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Lacks Structure & Any True Arc

    This book reads like a very rough diary of someone who will probably need to write journals & talk to therapists for a few years before realizing the many disturbing behavioral patterns she engages in and why. It is not very cohesive and not well structured. When she writes about the pages and pages of tedious notes she writes to her daughter about various measures of music she is to practice and how precisely to do so, she seems very disturbed. However, when people tell her so again and again, including her Chinese mother who moved from China to the Philippines when she was 2 saying she shouldn't be so intrusive with her daughter, she simply says she does so because she is Chinese. It seems illogical. It reminds me of a description of a narcissist. It is a very odd book. Narcissism is not quintessential to Chinese culture. My Chinese friend & I (we are both Chinese) independently had very similar responses to this book though she articulated things I noticed & found perturbing & I pointed out others. It is very misleading the way the author refers to everything she does as Chinese even when people in the book point out that this explanation does not make sense, yet she persists in doing so. It is also very misleading regarding valuable techniques in working with children. The author comes across as knowing very little of value with regard to teaching music. Research, including scientific research, as well as books on various ways, pluses and minuses, and effective ways of fostering students' talent and teaching children are out there, but for some reason the author believes that she knows better. Also, the back cover says it is about "HOW TO" become a Tiger Mother, referring to a Chinese mom so I am confused why the author & reviewers repeatedly pronounce there is no how to dimension to this book. The opening also reads very much like a how to--in language even more on the nose of how you'd perceive a cliche 'how to' to read than a well written how to.

    Overall, an odd book that made me feel sympathy for the author & her daughters & wonder why this didn't stay a very rough, private diary & if she will ever be open to listening to the many people who tell her, including in the book, that she contradicts herself & lacks enough self-awareness to participate in more healthy, positive behavioral patterns & to truly allow her children to grow & to grow herself.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    PARENTING AS TEACHING

    HOW WOULD PARENTS REACT UPON LEARNING THAT THEIR CHILD'S TEACHERS ADOPTED SUCH AN APPROACH IN THE CLASSROOM? I SUSPECT MANY WOULD SEEK TO HAVE THE TEACHER FIRED, AND WOULD CONSIDER LEGL ACTION FOR CHILD ABUSE.

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    One if any

    Moms, don't waste your money...Instead spend some time with your children, loving them and being thankful each day you can hold them

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely biased.....

    If you like reading about how ignorant, lazy, fat and unmotivated Americans are to Ms. Chua, then enjoy.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Worst $13 I ever spent

    I didn't read every word but I spent an hour scanning its pages. The topic of this book is one thing, but it's also terribly written. I would have rather given the $12.99 to a drug addict.

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Scary!

    As our pluralistic democracy is being eaten by the monolithic Chinese dragon, we understand, in the moment she sinks her teeth into our collective neck, that we've waited too long to put up a fight.

    5 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    We'd Like To Recommend Another Book. One That Anyone Who Was Raised With A Mother Like This Will Need To Read!

    I recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. It is a must read for anyone bound by their hurt, guilt and anger after anything from a bad childhood to a failed relationship. You owe it to yourself to read it.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Horrible!

    As someone who has studied child development, this is a terrible way to raise your children. The result is an adult with no opinions (because they were never allowed a choice), no passion or purpose in life (aside from pleasing their parents), and a serious lack in ability to think conceptually (because they were never allowed to experiment or make mistakes). What I mean by thinking conceptually is to think in more abstract terms, or to think about a situation or problem beyond the plain facts in front of you. Thinking conceptually is what allows for creative problem solving and creative production. Children raised in this method would lack such a skill because they are encouraged not to think independently, but to do as they are instructed and learn from rote memorization. That's to say nothing of the fact that her tactics involve mental and emotional abuse towards the child.

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Hate this book

    Obnoxious author spends page after page bragging about herself & her familly. Theres no meat on the bone, no plot. Its tedious, just like reading someone's journal. I've tried a few times to get into it & every time I'm repelled for the same reasons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    I believe this book explains why the suicide rates among Asian A

    I believe this book explains why the suicide rates among Asian Americans are rising

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Dont like much

    Amy is a very strict chinese mother. I hated how the book was written. It sounds like she was bragging about the whole thing and what she did was terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible!!! Read at your own risk..

    I was very excited to get this book and to look in the window of an Asian mothers home...i can appreciate the author's point of view and her path of raising her girls..although i don't agree with it..at times i felt as though she was competing constantly...especially when her friend came to visit with the two dogs..when you have to succeed in training your DOG to be the best then there's some kind of compulsion going on there..i love to read and i'm finding myself pushing to desparately trying to finish this book..and i can't..i just can't finish this book....it's too much of the same,too much comparison,too much of what westerners are doing wrong,too much pointing fingers at everyone else except herself...it's just too much..i really am disappointed in this book..i know it's a memoir,but it's repetitous throughout the entire book....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    just crap

    It is a story of a egotistical chinese mother and her disciplinary methods. The biggest piece of crap ever. It has ridiculous amount of generalization and statistic that come from nowhere.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    ?

    whats a tiger mother?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4