Customer Reviews for

Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother

Average Rating 3.5
( 612 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(221)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(120)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic book - honest look at, and great tips for, the challenge of raising an intelligent accomplished child in America

I love love love this book! I know it's been controversial, but those that hate this book are simply threatened by it. As a woman raised by the quintessential "chinese" mother (although she was polish, and had never even been to china), I completely agree with Chua's pe...
I love love love this book! I know it's been controversial, but those that hate this book are simply threatened by it. As a woman raised by the quintessential "chinese" mother (although she was polish, and had never even been to china), I completely agree with Chua's perspective on child-raising. As she so correctly notes, while the "chinese-mother" school of child raising can mean your child and you have storied pitched battles throughout their childhood, if done correctly (with the deep love and humor both Chua and my own mother have with regard to their children), it results in accomplished, satisfied, and stable adults who genuinely love and respect their parents for the incredible effort and love put into raising them. My own anecdoctal evidence supports this conclusion: I find that I have a much healthier, closer and more enjoyable relationship with my mother, as well as to myself, than many of my friends and acquaintances raised by the traditional "american" model of permissive parents afraid to say "no" for fear of damaging their allegedly delicate self-worth.
The delightful thing about Chua's book, however, is that it is not simply a dry manifesto about the virtues of raising children the "Tiger" way. Rather, she intervenes her delightfully personal, honest story with comments showing her ability to both laugh at herself and learn from her mistakes (which, as any parent knows, are unavoidable in some degree!). Even for those of you that won't gasp with recognition at some of Chua's stories, it is a delightful book which is absolutely worth reading with an open mind, especially if you have children or plan to have children.

posted by 6687513 on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

YIKES!

Somewhere between "Angela's Ashes" and "Tiger Mother" lies the key to good parenting. I am a psychologist and I will be seeing her kids on the couch in about six years.

posted by 5169888 on January 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Fantastic book - honest look at, and great tips for, the challenge of raising an intelligent accomplished child in America

    I love love love this book! I know it's been controversial, but those that hate this book are simply threatened by it. As a woman raised by the quintessential "chinese" mother (although she was polish, and had never even been to china), I completely agree with Chua's perspective on child-raising. As she so correctly notes, while the "chinese-mother" school of child raising can mean your child and you have storied pitched battles throughout their childhood, if done correctly (with the deep love and humor both Chua and my own mother have with regard to their children), it results in accomplished, satisfied, and stable adults who genuinely love and respect their parents for the incredible effort and love put into raising them. My own anecdoctal evidence supports this conclusion: I find that I have a much healthier, closer and more enjoyable relationship with my mother, as well as to myself, than many of my friends and acquaintances raised by the traditional "american" model of permissive parents afraid to say "no" for fear of damaging their allegedly delicate self-worth.
    The delightful thing about Chua's book, however, is that it is not simply a dry manifesto about the virtues of raising children the "Tiger" way. Rather, she intervenes her delightfully personal, honest story with comments showing her ability to both laugh at herself and learn from her mistakes (which, as any parent knows, are unavoidable in some degree!). Even for those of you that won't gasp with recognition at some of Chua's stories, it is a delightful book which is absolutely worth reading with an open mind, especially if you have children or plan to have children.

    38 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    Amy Chua Speaks the Truth

    It's about time someone spoke the truth about child rearing. My wife (Asian) and I (American) have followed a similar regime with our son, though somewhat less strict. He has turned out to be about as perfect as any parent could want. Everyone who meets him is impressed and asks us how we did it: now I have a guide to refer them to. Hopefully we can now send all the weak minded child psychologists, social workers, and spineless education administrators to the dust bin of history. Anyone can raise their child to be a star; Amy Chua shows the way.

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Judge the book, not the philosophy.

    Chua handled this controversial material very well. She admitted that although she felt raising kids the Chinese way would have huge benefits, she was realizing the drawbacks. I found it fascinating as well as challenging to my way of parenting. I am definitely a Western mother. I happen to have a child who plays violin. She hates to practice and I find myself wanting to give up constantly.
    I think taking a bit of the Chinese way and letting it influence mine is not a bad thing. Um...but no yelling. Gives me a headache.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Take a page out of this book

    Maybe we should all take a page out of this book and we wouldn't have so many spoiled children in this country...My own included. Remember, it is very hard and it takes a lot of work each day to take the time to discipline your children. Spoiling your children and letting things go is the easy way out.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    loved it!

    i am rereading it and again it is making me laugh laugh laugh. i can totally relate. if people think that children just evolve into these highly enlightened,intelligent charming beings chances are they have below to average children! the author is honest and funny in weighing her choices in child rearing. it's thoughtful on the differences in eastern/western thinking.... i think it's a great read. i loved it!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Good Read

    I don's subscribe her way of doing things, but I do agree that repetition is totally underrated in the US.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    'Western' Mothers do NOT take offense, please.

    Chua's book was a very easy and quick read that provided my 'Western' view of parenting with a very different point of view, which I always appreciate. I decided to read the book because of all the controversial press it has been getting. I found the book very well rounded, I thought that Chua fairly depicted her success and her biggest failures. The book was based on opinions and largely not backed by research; it was a window into another mother's life. 'Western' mothers of the world - do not be defensive to other points of view. Be open-minded, like you teach your children to be. If you are feeling defensive you should read Chua's book again and try to pin point what is making you feel defensive and evaluate what you think of your parenting style in that area. Learn and grow and allow yourself to change and adapt as life sees fit, but don't lynch another mother who is simply sharing her personal story with you. Chua doesn't even go as far to say that one way (Chinese vs. Western parenting) is right or wrong, so there is very little to take offense from. Just because she has different points of view don't lynch her or we will be back at the Salem witch trials for heaven sakes.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    must read

    Tiger Mother once started cannot be put down, never have I read a more chilling book. So thankful Amy, was not my mother, I'm wondering how her husband Jeb, let this type of raising childern, I'm surprised he stayed married to AMY, living with her would be a living hell. She may be a professor of law, but is there not any law's to stop this child abuse?, which it is a form off. You need a strong mind and stomach to read this book.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    ... and typically American to trash a work because it isn't what you thought it was. Has anyone ever heard of memoirs? One reviewer scanned the book and deemed it unworthy? How typically American.

    I read the sample just now and am starting on a full read but from what I have seen you Americans need to watch out. This country is going to eat your lunches while you raise your children to be inquisitive. I was reminded when I read the book sample of what it was like growing up in America in the 50s. I turned out fairly well, have opinions, am curious and adventurous, deeply committed to educated citizens to the extent that I don't mind paying taxes for all of your children to go to school even though I had none.

    I suspect if some of these reviewers would be honest (a typical un-American thing, I know, they would admit that holding children to specific duties and structure actually works since by nature children without standards, duties and structure tend to grow up without standards, duties and structure.

    One complaint I hear frequently in my community is how without drive young folks seem to be. Not all of course but many. Maybe that is because their parents had play dates and didn't challenge them to take the hard courses and to excel in everything (but gym and drama).

    Ever since my little stint of living in Asia 40 or so years ago I have always admired the Asian mind. ...and I have always wondered how long it would take for two things to happen. First is when Asia takes over the world economy and second is how long America would be premier in the world. I guess we are on the verge of finding out.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Like Sh*t My Dad Says, but Asian-influenced and in reverse.

    First of all, if you're looking for a parenting manual, this book isn't one. If you're looking for something poignant, funny, and a little different than what you're used to, get this book.

    This isn't a book about the "Tiger Mom Patented Parenting Method." This is a book about reflections on parenting and the perspective of a first-generation American woman.

    I found Amy Chua to be extraordinarily witty and insightful. She's a little self-deprecating, but what parent isn't?

    HOWEVER, read the first few chapters before you decide to get it. If you cannot recognize sarcasm, parental faux pas, good intentions, and empty threats to cajole children into growing up to be upstanding, good people, don't get this book. IF YOU ARE OFFENDED BY Justin Halpern's "Sh*t My Dad Says," DON'T GET THIS BOOK.

    Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother should be titled Sh*t I Did, I'm Mom, and My Kids Turned Out Pretty Damn OK.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Excellent Book

    I was expecting this book to be as bad as I had heard. Instead I was pleasantly surprised. I do not think Amy Chua to be a difficult or mean parent at all. Instead I think her second child is a spoilt rotten brat who should be thanking endlessly every day on her hands and knees to have a mother who loves and cares so much about her and her future! What I would have done to have a mother like Amy! The girls are so lucky!! With so many parents too busy on facebook while their toddlers are running around getting hurt or drowned (an example that happened last year) or other mothers and fathers killing their children daily - about 600 are killed by their own parents every year in this country and yet this amazing mother, Amy Chua, was so involved in sculpting her two girls into perfect musicians and students - my own mother could never be too bothered to sculpt me into anything. I think the bad reviewers are jealous, unlike me, I admire! Bravo Amy! The bad however, I found unforgivable, is that she constantly states that her children are Chinese. Ahhh - Amy wake up!!! You married a Jew and he's white! How dare you state your girls are Chinese - very bad and so racist - shame, shame, shame!!!! That is where you should be slapped down for bad mothering! You are lucky to be in America and living an amazing American life and yet you degrade their father and their heritage - ugghhh - the words I have for you, Miss Amy, are not allowed on this page, but if I ever met you - you would not be Miss Tiger - you would be a crying little kitten running as you should! You should have married your own Chinese heritage - if being Chinese is all that matters - so sick Amy!! SICK! And to say that Chinese mothers are better??? Oh please - don't they kill little girls in China??? Aren't boys the only thing that parents really want?? Why are there so many Chinese girl babies up for adoption in your great- better than American- mother country? Why are so many white American parents running to China - adopting GIRL babies - because there are so many unwanted Chinese girl babies - you stupid, ignorant, lying, spoilt AMERICAN WOMAN!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    I loved this book. Her style of parenting may be different than

    I loved this book. Her style of parenting may be different than yours, but everyone's parenting gets judged. She raised her children to be successful and well-rounded. Her priorities as an Asian mother are different than those of Westeners. It's a good reminder that we, as parents, need to lead our children. She also learned how to relax her rules a bit. It's honest and an over-all good read. Stop hating because it's not the way you would do things. She didn't abuse her children, just did things different than most Americans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Katniss

    *Runs around* PEEEEEEEEETA?! Where da hail are you?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Hiccup

    Wer gonna make a httyd rp. Wanna join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Gamemaker

    Morning everyone! Ready ?for 78

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    To k

    Then go to tiger res 1 and say hi to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Who wants to cht

    Kristy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    A

    Astrid bursts into flames. As she burns horribly, a pack of rabid mutts tears her apart. Blood sprays through the air.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Hope

    Well whos on my side

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    To head gamemaker (simon)

    Read my post at cup of joe res 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12