Customer Reviews for

The Battle Sylph

Average Rating 4
( 890 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(324)

4 Star

(292)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Battle Sylph

As a whole I found this to be one of those books that puts you on the edge from the beginning. When I opened this book I had a hard time putting it down in order to get some sleep before a full day at work. The concept in it's self if fascinating. I enjoyed the characte...
As a whole I found this to be one of those books that puts you on the edge from the beginning. When I opened this book I had a hard time putting it down in order to get some sleep before a full day at work. The concept in it's self if fascinating. I enjoyed the characters, felt moved by their plight, and overall look forward to reading many more by this author. I see a great series in this book! If you enjoy an adventure that will carry you away from reality for a little while, this is the book for you.

posted by Rowdy_13 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Very Mixed Review

I have very mixed thoughts on this book, so I'm going to break it down a bit.

The Cool Stuff:

There was some really great world-building. McDonald created a world of magic, full of humans and elemental beings called Sylphs, and added some fantastic scenery to p...
I have very mixed thoughts on this book, so I'm going to break it down a bit.

The Cool Stuff:

There was some really great world-building. McDonald created a world of magic, full of humans and elemental beings called Sylphs, and added some fantastic scenery to put them all in and it's as good as any acclaimed Fantasy world out there. The premise of the story is unique-I can say I've never read anything quite like it (there are some familiar story-elements, but on the whole, the base story-line is new). The plotting and action were tightly woven, creating several great battles between good vs. evil. The older battle sylphs just about break your heart-talk about your tortured heroes. One in particular, Ril, just about had me in tears on several occasions (the next in the series, The Shattered Sylph, is his story. Yay!).

The Not-So-Cool Stuff:

I hated the main characters. There, I said it. It's hard to like a book when you don't like the main characters. Part of it was that both Soli and Heyou were young-and unfortunately, they were a little annoying in their obvious youth. Neither character was very strong or take charge. They were actually quite passive, but with lots of whining and giggling thrown in. Also, and this I'm sure was meant to be humorous, but it fell flat, is Heyou's name. When a Sylph is summoned through the gate, the summoner immediately names him in order to bind him. Unfortunately, when the Battle Sylph is summoned, the first words out of Soli's mouth were "hey, you". So, the main male character's name is Heyou. It was very bothersome to me. The other thing that made me question the whole book, was some of the dialogue and word choices. McDonald created this great old-school fantasy world-a good as some of the best out there-and then the characters talk like they are teenagers in a mall in suburbia. It just didn't work for me.

The I'm-Not-Quite-Sure About-This Stuff:

What I don't know is exactly how I'd rate it. If it was based on characterization alone, it would be a 2 out of 5. But because it ends up being an entertaining and engaging read, with some great action and intriguing secondary characters, it deserves better. I'm going to go with 4 (and I'm feeling generous) out of 5. Mostly because there were some great moments throughout and I can't wait to read Ril's story and see where things go from here.

posted by jbailey4251 on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 897 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Very Mixed Review

    I have very mixed thoughts on this book, so I'm going to break it down a bit.

    The Cool Stuff:

    There was some really great world-building. McDonald created a world of magic, full of humans and elemental beings called Sylphs, and added some fantastic scenery to put them all in and it's as good as any acclaimed Fantasy world out there. The premise of the story is unique-I can say I've never read anything quite like it (there are some familiar story-elements, but on the whole, the base story-line is new). The plotting and action were tightly woven, creating several great battles between good vs. evil. The older battle sylphs just about break your heart-talk about your tortured heroes. One in particular, Ril, just about had me in tears on several occasions (the next in the series, The Shattered Sylph, is his story. Yay!).

    The Not-So-Cool Stuff:

    I hated the main characters. There, I said it. It's hard to like a book when you don't like the main characters. Part of it was that both Soli and Heyou were young-and unfortunately, they were a little annoying in their obvious youth. Neither character was very strong or take charge. They were actually quite passive, but with lots of whining and giggling thrown in. Also, and this I'm sure was meant to be humorous, but it fell flat, is Heyou's name. When a Sylph is summoned through the gate, the summoner immediately names him in order to bind him. Unfortunately, when the Battle Sylph is summoned, the first words out of Soli's mouth were "hey, you". So, the main male character's name is Heyou. It was very bothersome to me. The other thing that made me question the whole book, was some of the dialogue and word choices. McDonald created this great old-school fantasy world-a good as some of the best out there-and then the characters talk like they are teenagers in a mall in suburbia. It just didn't work for me.

    The I'm-Not-Quite-Sure About-This Stuff:

    What I don't know is exactly how I'd rate it. If it was based on characterization alone, it would be a 2 out of 5. But because it ends up being an entertaining and engaging read, with some great action and intriguing secondary characters, it deserves better. I'm going to go with 4 (and I'm feeling generous) out of 5. Mostly because there were some great moments throughout and I can't wait to read Ril's story and see where things go from here.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    The Battle Sylph

    As a whole I found this to be one of those books that puts you on the edge from the beginning. When I opened this book I had a hard time putting it down in order to get some sleep before a full day at work. The concept in it's self if fascinating. I enjoyed the characters, felt moved by their plight, and overall look forward to reading many more by this author. I see a great series in this book! If you enjoy an adventure that will carry you away from reality for a little while, this is the book for you.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great opening romantic fantasy with a delightful tongue in cheek attitude

    Her father arranged for Solie to marry a forty-five years old obese man. She refuses so believing her maiden Aunt Masha would taker her in, Solie flees her village. However, she fails to arrive at the haven she seeks. Instead she is captured by soldiers working for the prince of Eferem who expects a visit from a Battler Sylph. To bind him to the royals, they need a virgin sacrifice; hence the plan is to kill Solie the moment the Sylph crosses over as that enslaves them to the killer of his "queen".

    However, the soldiers underestimate their helpless prisoner who escapes their binds and calls to the Sylph "Hey You". He kills the prince and immediately the named Heyou and his queen Solie flee together. Outraged King Alcor Baldorth sends royal warriors and other Battle Sylphs to chase after this abomination of a female master of any kind of Sylph, but especially the most fearsome type, the Battler.

    This is a great opening romantic fantasy with a delightful tongue in cheek attitude that enhances the fun of the action-packed tale. The story line is fast-paced from the opening failed binding and never slows down as everyone knows females cannot be masters of sylphs. As Solie and Heyou rock their kingdom, readers will appreciate their escapades of trying to find haven, which is how she got into this mess in the first place. The Battle Sylph is a superb first act.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    I got this as a free ebook and loved it so much I had to buy the second book as soon as I finished the first. I really hope the author continues this series for a long lime

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    WARNING

    Contains pornographic content - not recommended.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Really Good

    I really enjoyed this book.It has it's cute and funny moments without being too fluffy.There's enough action and angst to keep you interested and is all around a well rounded book.Yes it sometimes tells the story in other characters point of view who are not the main characters.But their was enough main characters point of view to know what was happening to them.I think it added to the experience and also you become familiar to the people who will be in the next books.I'm really looking forward to the rest of this series, and will read The Shattered Sylph as soon as I can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Battle Sylph

    I love Paranorma romances this story fits the bill once I began reading I couldn't put it down with each page the story transformed! Love story at it's best, exciting, and thrilling..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    great series well written

    great series well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    Very creative idea for book! Great story!

    Very creative idea for book! Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fantasy/romance with a fascinating and original plot.

    Fantasy/romance with a fascinating and original plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    !

    I wasn't sure if this would be a good book when I first started reading it. The more I read the more I liked it. I hated to reach the ending, I wish it could have lasted longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    I must confess I'm not an avid fan of fantasy/paranormal writing

    I must confess I'm not an avid fan of fantasy/paranormal writings. However, this book kept me reading. Lots of action and romance...sort of. It does get a little annoying with the main characters groping each other (as kids will do). But the writer does an extremely good job of getting you to connect with the emotions of the characters and keeps you turning to the next page, even when you think "I'll quit at the end of the chapter."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Sylphs!

    I adore this book and this entire series its so different and l love the world of the sylphs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Jump into a world full of intrigue, a fight for equality, and love.

    Jump into a world full of intrigue, a fight for equality, and love.
    The Battle Sylph is a great read that starts out with an independent and strong girl named Solie. Having a really bad day after being kidnapped and almost sacrificed Solie is thrust into a fight for not only her life, but the lives of many others that are trying to get away from their tyrannical ruler. She is accompanied by a battle sylph that because of a mistake she calls "Heyou". "Heyou" and Solie's romance was minimal, but sweet. The plot and character depth was what really held my attention in this book. The Sylphs in general had a bee like personality where they all work for one queen and called their domains hives. The relationships between sylph and their masters was really intriguing, especially between Ril and Leon. There was sort of a love/hate relationship between these two and I never got tired of their interactions with one another.
    Take a peek into a world where a girl and her sylph show their world that women deserve just as much rights as any man. Check out L. J. Mcdonald's debut novel "The Battle Sylph".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GraveTells Review: An emotional journey that is more than the sum of its parts

    TLDR recap: Captured to be used as the sacrifice in a terrible ceremony to bring over one of the feared battle sylphs, Solie is not about to just give up and die. Through a bizarre turn of events that starts a chain reaction of pivotal events, Solie becomes the battle master and, together with her new battler, sets out only to run and survive and inadvertently begins to change everything about her world, how it works, and who's in charge. This first book in the Sylph fantasy series by L. J. McDonald is the start of something special, with overarching themes of rising above who we are told we are to become what has always lived inside of us. The Battle Sylph is a GraveTells recommended read! Title: The Battle Sylph Series: The Sylph series - book #1 Author: L. J. McDonald Prominent Characters: Solie, Heyou, Leon, Ril, Mace, etc (ensemble cast) Recommended reader age: 15+ Sexual content level: Light Thoughts: This story is best experienced as a journey. Try to go into it knowing as little as possible. Stop reading reviews, blurbs, snippets, and even interviews. Pick it up, crack it open, and immerse yourself in the land of L. J. McDonald's imagination. This is not Paranormal Romance or Urban Fantasy - it is high fantasy without the "high", magical without the magic, the first book in a gripping somewhat-new series that has the potential to be epic. There are no outright spoilers in this review, but if you prefer to read it as I've just recommended, completely new to the world and characters, stop right now and come back when you're done! If you want to know a little more about the world of the sylphs, read on... The Battle Sylph is an emotional roller coaster that just keeps picking up steam. It has some slower spots, where new, less high profile, characters are introduced, and some parts are a little predictable, but you know they're always trekking toward the goal and you're impatient for them to get there and everything to be okay. The battlers quickly transition from the lethal monsters you fear and hate to the underdogs you pity and root for, and slowly become more and more attractive until they are the focus of the story. The characters are vivid and no one is too similar or too unbelievable. The battlers are deeply compelling and the humans are gritty and real. The Battle Sylph is a story about bravery and courage from within, overcoming the bounds of slavery and the chains of hate. It is a tale of self-sacrifice and community spirit, an ensemble piece rich in emotion, with more depth and creativity than I expected. This has the makings of a powerful, memorable fantasy series. It is incredibly engaging; a creative new world where technology is stunted, elementals are enslaved to privileged humans, and oppression runs rampant. Continued... (truncated for length) Original full available on GraveTells: search for "battle sylph" *ARC provided by Netgalley. No compensation was received for this review and all opinions expressed are the honest opinion of the reviewer, not influenced by outside factors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    decent but didn't connect

    Neat story, cool cover, but the main characters didn't draw me. I'd read more by the author though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Good Read

    normally I do not go for romance but the sci fi was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Greek Mythology-esque

    Eh. I wasn't overly impressed, but I was intrigued enough to finish the book. There was a lot of overtly sexual content, though, so reader beware. I don't usually read "trashy" romance such as this, but it was free, so I read it. The plot was actually pretty imaginative, but the overly romantic bent distracts greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Surprised!

    I was hesitant to read this book at first. I don't favor male PoVs and thought this one would be like that. However, I'm thoroughly glad I ignored that feeling and read The Battle Sylph anyway. The story changes PoVs between a young woman, Solie, who is taken as a sacrifice for a battle sylph, and her soon-to-be battler, Heyou. It also explores other characters, both human and sylph alike, which I found captivating.

    This book kept me drawn in from the first word. McDonald's way to giving mystery to already suspenseful scenes was borderline masterful. But the novel wasn't all serious and action. There are several moments of comedic relief between Solie and her very faithful (and lustful) sylph that give the characters life. It's easy to track their development over the course of the story. Solie, a peasant girl from a tiny village grows into the queen Heyou sees her as, taking a place of leadership among the outcast Community. Heyou is born with an instinct to hate men, but we see him change too.

    McDonald gives a new spin to fantasy. Never before have I read about creatures like his sylphs. Overall, I would recommend this book to teens and older who are looking for a good epic fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Better than expected.

    Downloaded for free way back when it was available for free. Finally got around to reading it. Much better than expected. Sorry I waited so long to read it. Going to be checking out the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 897 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45