Customer Reviews for

The Battle for Skandia (Ranger's Apprentice Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 712 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(565)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Sam P.

I loved this book! It was an amazing way of Flanagan to bring all tje characters into one daring rescue. This book is an epic battle that will take you to your own world! A colision of raders and defenders mix to one team to defeat the riders from the east. The princess...
I loved this book! It was an amazing way of Flanagan to bring all tje characters into one daring rescue. This book is an epic battle that will take you to your own world! A colision of raders and defenders mix to one team to defeat the riders from the east. The princess of Arulen risks her life for the city of Halasholm, Skandia. Let the series continue! It took me to my own little world, battle, and character.

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Darkstar

Want to join. U wont regret it.

posted by 11590379 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Battle for Skandia Book #4. What an awesome read!

    Book 3 had less action and more on the emotional side. It was a turning point for Will when he and Evanlyn were captured and taken as slaves. Book 4 is action-packed and had humorous moments just like the first two books. This series is addicting. I'm getting ready to start book 5.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Good

    Good series

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    The Battle for Skanida: a review.

    The Battle for Skandia
    John Flanagan
    The Penguin Group
    Fantasy/Adventure


    Imagine escaping from being a slave to a gang of sea pirates, only to have your best friend be captured again, spoiling your plans to get home. Kind of hard to imagine that, right? Well that's what happened to Will in the book Ranger's Apprentice book 4: The Battle for Skandia. This book is written by John Flanagan and is the 4th book in The Ranger's Apprentice series. It starts out with Will and his friend Evanlyn making their way home after they dangerously escaped slavery in Skandia, which is the home to sea pirates. But then, their plans were spoiled when Evanlyn was captured by a mysterious group of little men riding on small horses. When Will tried to rescue her, he met up with his mentor, Halt, and his best friend, Horace, and together they defeated the small group of captors. But who were these strange, small people who kidnapped Evanlyn? Halt, Will, Horace, and Evanlyn found out that the small group was part of a huge army, armed and ready to take over Skandia, and Araluen, their home country, is next on their "invade and conquer" list! In order to save Skandia, and Araluen for that matter, our heroes will have to join up with the Skandian sea pirates. But even with the Skandian's help, will they be able to defeat the highly skilled enemies? Read The Battle for Skandia to find out!

    This book has many well-developed characters which make the story come alive. The main character, Will, is an apprentice Ranger, learning how to be a part of the King's intelligence force. And like all Rangers, he has a gray-green cloak, a bow and a quiver of arrows, and two knives, which he keeps close at hand. Will is a small character; he is thin and short. But this is an advantage because Rangers practice the art of blending into the scenery and becoming totally unseen. Also like all Rangers, Will is brave and he has a big heart. He always tries his best to help people in need of assistance, just like his mentor, Halt, who is an old grizzled Ranger. He taught Will everything he knows. I find Halt the most well developed character because of his personality. Halt seems to be the tough guy, but he really is a big softy. Halt will stop at nothing to help someone, even if it costs him. Someone very similar to this is Evanlyn, or better known as Princess Cassandra. She is King Duncan's daughter, but her "screen" name is Evanlyn. Even though Evanlyn is a Princess, she doesn't act like one. Evanlyn is very spirited, brave, and quite kind. She always gets her way and if she doesn't, she will fight for it. Those three characters are a few of many characters who make up The Battle for Skandia.

    In my opinion, this book is the best book in the series. It isn't just about fighting; the Battle for Skandia really expresses friendship between people who wouldn't normally be friends. That makes it a very touching story, not to mention the heart-stopping adventure and the comedy. This book, like all the other books in the series, is one story you cannot put down. It keeps you wanting more with every page-flip. John Flanagan is a genius when it comes to writing a book full of loyalty, respect, friendship, laughter, fighting, and everything in between. The Battle for Skandia is one book that everyone, young and old, will love and treasure forever :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    There aren't only 10.

    For those of you who were wondering, there are 13 books in the series. Not just 10. The 13th book just came out! So happy! I love this book. It is a great series and I really recommend it. But you people need to stop roleplaying 'Pokemon'. It is really hard to find a nice review for those who haven't read the book. And as a warning, I have reported all of you. Go roleplay while you text. Stop doing it here. All you are doing is taking up space in a place meant for book reviews. If you aren't going to write a review, then don't invade this space meant for the oppisite of what youv are doing. Go somewhere else. That is why I have rated this book only 4 stars. Go away. If you all agree, then hit the 'Yes' button below.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Good book

    It says a few bad words

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Typo

    I fond a typo in the book but cstill its a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Lily

    (Haha very funny hon*y*er*) *she smiles* hello pidgeotto! I caught a new pokemon.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    pretty good

    i recamend this for ages 8 - 12 its a pretty good book. they are battleing for skadia very good appearence very nice book.THIS book could be a little chilish to adults but its a good book if you would want to read it read it its good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dangerously Addictive!

    This author and series was introduced to me through a free e-book offering through B&N. Now I own the entire series. I can't thank them enough for the hours of entertaining and addictive reading I have experienced in a long time. I highly recommend this series to everyone...but be aware that you won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Adventure Series

    Great series for young adults, and young at heart adults.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    Enjoyable to read, Great sequel, easy to follow. Would recommend entire series to all ages 10 to adult.

    Think the writer is very creative in composing series. Characters in book unique and welcoming change. Like a well writing book should effect the reader.. when reading I experienced many emotions such as joy, sadness, crying, and relief to name a few. Looking forward to reading many more sequels. I plan to read books 1 to 4 over several more time while waiting for new releases. Great writing John Flanagan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Battle for Skandia continues the Ranger Apprentice series and has just what the first three started. Adventure, travel and comradery presonified

    My husband started me on the series and at once became entranced with the books. Since the main character and friends were all lost or chasing after them, Battle of Skandia was mandatory for my sanity.
    I got so caught up with the book, my stew burned and I didn't notice until and stench permeated my concentration.
    I recommend this series to everybody I know and the books better come back quickly because the next person wants them already.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    Excellent addition to the series

    I found this story to be completely engrossing. The challenges that face the characters, both externally and internally, are met head-on by the author. There are no easy answers for growing pains in any way. Mr. Flanagan does an excellent job of bringing out this turmoil.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps his interest!

    My son (6th grade) loves this series! As soon as he finished book three, he was begging me to buy him book 4. He couldn't put it down!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    It kept me on edge!

    The book was outstanding,the plot had a few twists that That i liked and I cant wait until the next book comes out and shares the same thrill! The one thing i was hoping for was the kiss between Evanlyn and Will...i was somewhat disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    It is amazing

    I loved this book great plot and characters, my dad's friend visited Australia so know I got books 5, 6 , and 7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    The BEST series ever!!!

    This is one of the best series' i have ever read. I like the fact that the girls are strong and resourceful and don't just play the helpless damsel in distress. I think these books are a MUST for all fantasy and adventure lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6