Customer Reviews for

The Battle of Jericho (Jericho Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great

Battle of Jericho is a fabulous book. It gives you in sight on hazing. I mean we all hear the stories and we think why would you do it? But in this book you're in the mind of somebody going through that. When they realize how wrong it is and then have to face consequenc...
Battle of Jericho is a fabulous book. It gives you in sight on hazing. I mean we all hear the stories and we think why would you do it? But in this book you're in the mind of somebody going through that. When they realize how wrong it is and then have to face consequences.

posted by aj95 on October 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Alright

My only complaint is that the ending was not a surprise at all. I mean, really. After all that bad stuff happens and since josh's character was the least developed (basically a funny joker who likes November), you just knew something drastic would happen to him. I like ...
My only complaint is that the ending was not a surprise at all. I mean, really. After all that bad stuff happens and since josh's character was the least developed (basically a funny joker who likes November), you just knew something drastic would happen to him. I like November Blues better.

posted by 8843185 on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Is It Worth It To Fit In?

    Jericho Prescott thinks to be a part of the Warriors of Distinction, a high school club, will somehow improve his life. The thought of wearing the black silk jacket he'll receive once he undergoes the "Bonding of the Brotherhood", being noticed by his peers, and getting the attention of a particular girl seem to be more important to him than anything. Against his better judgment, he endures humiliation, mind games & numerous indignities to become a Warrior of Distinction. He wants to belong to the best group in the school so badly, in fact, that he gives up a chance to live his dream of studying the trumpet at Julliard, one of the world's premier performing arts schools. Sadly, it takes a tragic accident to open his eyes to the fact that everything that glitters isn't gold. As I read what went on during the so-called Bonding of the Brotherhood (hazing, in actuality), it really bothered me. But what bothered me most was how these alarming events were taking place, and the parents of these young people had no idea what their teens were going through. This story drives home the importance of parents keeping track of their children's lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Good Read

    A must-read for book junkies like myself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Two thumbs up!

    This was yet, another good read from Sharon Draper. I enjoyed the suspense and must admit I was surprised at the character who died. I love how this novel sheds light on hazing and the dangers people face no matter who may have survived it before. I definitely recommend it for those looking for a good summer read.
    Only negative was that there were a lot of grammatical errors. I'm not sure if that was the author or digital version.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Amazing

    This book was filled with suspense and adventure. The end came as a shock to me but overall a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Very emotional

    I cant believe that happened to josh. I cried for a few minutes when i read what happened to josh. I couldnt put the book down. I applaud sharon draper and recommend this book to all teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I cant wait to read the 3rd book that just came out!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this author this book was so good if you are the teary kind you will boo hoo in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Please Read it!

    This is an outstanding novel. Of all the books by this author, this is one of my favorites. I read it out of spite but it turned out I fell in love with it immediently. What started of as fun and games trying to get into this group at school quickly went down hill. The ending was SO sad! I think i actually cried on this one. I have never cried before for any book! (cept maybe on Eclipse when edward left bella =( So i really recomend this book. Hope you enjoy it too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    Great, but not the best by the author.

    The Battle of Jericho is another great addition to the books wroten by Sharon M. Draper. The book talks about a few high school boys trying to get into a 'club' named the 'Warriors of Distinction'. This club is praised by society but the people who are accepted find out it's true colors. The main character, Jericho, is one whom is trying to get into the club. Jericho wants to join mainly because of their cool black leather coats and all of the girls they get. Only after he is asked to join does he figure out what it takes to be a true member. Jericho's life then spirals out of control. This book emphasizes how hard high school life is and how much stress there is. Sharon M. Draper does a great job of describing the characters as though you can see them right in front of you. She also makes Jericho very easy to relate too. He has divorced parents, a middle class family, two brothers and a stepmom that irritates him. The book also makes you wonder who your true friends really are and who you should trust. This book is a great piece of writing by Sharon M. Draper because of all the twists and turns, but it's not her best achievement through my eyes. Still The Battle of Jericho is a recommended piece of writing to anyone that wants an engaging story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2006

    A Worthwhile Battle

    In The Battle of Jericho, by Sharon M. Draper, Jericho and his friends Josh and Kofi are invited to be Warriors of Distinction ¿ THE club to be in at their high school. Soon Jericho also finds a girlfriend, Arielle, and helps the Warriors with an annual toy drive. Kofi¿s girlfriend Dana realizes no girls had ever been in the club, but the tests to get in are intense. One test is about loyalty, and on a rainy day in the mud, ¿Master Senior Sharp¿ seriously demanded, ¿`Then suck my big toe¿ (Draper 4). They only get worse, and Jericho often wonders if he should stop. I personally did not like the book too much. I feel Draper overused `asked,¿ `said,¿ `added,¿ and other common actions. For example it reads, ¿`Good night,¿ he whispered. `I¿ll talk to you later,¿ she said¿ (Draper 122). Second, I feel the ending was incomplete. After a predictable conclusion, ¿It ended¿ in silence¿ (Draper 297). Some loose ends are never tied up, like how Jericho coped in band class afterwards. Besides that, the story is interesting enough to read in spare time. I recommend this book to teenagers especially since they can learn about the consequences of hazing, a main theme of this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2005

    Very Well Written

    The overall plot was excellent, but I rated this a 4 because it could have used a little more character development. I felt that many of the charcters were flat, because you only saw them from Jericho's point of veiw, and I would have loved to learn a little more about the other characters. The ending was great. It was totally unexpected. I knew that something dramatic was going to happen, but I had no idea that it would be that much of a shocker. She painted a perfect picture in my mind of what actually happened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2005

    Battle of Jericho

    I thought it was funny when Josh's pledge shirt got bleached. The only reason I rated it a 4 is becuse of the pledge activities, I didn't like that. I don't think getting into the Warriors was worth the pledge activities. Dana seemed brave to put up with Eddie. The pledge activities at school were better than the ones at the warehouse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2004

    Good But....

    I have read the hazelwood series and enjoyed them alot. I liked this book but not as much as i like those books. I think that in the hazelwood books you got to know every character from the books and thats why when everything happened in those books it really like affected me like i really knew them, it was a great book, the battle of jericho, but i think that she didnt let the readers really to get to know who josh was, it didnt affect me when he died because i didnt really get to know him at all. but other than that i give it 4 stars because it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1