BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Battle of Midway

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

This is probably the best single book about this battle, and the author's writing style made it a highly enjoyable read.

posted by PathfinderPM on December 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Why a new book on Midway?

I notice in the blurb Admiral Fletcher is not mentioned even tho he was the officer in command of the two task forces. John Lundstrom's recent book on Rear Adm Frank Jack Fletcher, "Black Shoe Carrier Admiral"; Walter Lord's "Incredible Victory"; "Fletcher,Task Force C...
I notice in the blurb Admiral Fletcher is not mentioned even tho he was the officer in command of the two task forces. John Lundstrom's recent book on Rear Adm Frank Jack Fletcher, "Black Shoe Carrier Admiral"; Walter Lord's "Incredible Victory"; "Fletcher,Task Force Commander" by James L. Bauer; Gordon Prange's "Miracle at Midway" all seem to cover the subject.
I cannot buy, sight unseen, another Midway book, unless some new information, not repeated stories, is added.
The key to the story is Commander Rochfort's code breaking, Nimitz's decision to gamble his three carriers, the bravery and inititive of the flyers and Admiral Fletcher's key role as commander on June 4th, in which Enterprise sunk 2 carriers, Yorktown, one, and most important Fletcher had the foresight to search for the 4th carrier which he relayed to Spruance even after Yorktown was sinking. Yorktown and Enterprise dive bombers both hit the 4th carrier at the same time. Without Fletcher's search, the last carrier, unknown to Spruance, might have struck Enerprise or Hornet by air or submarine knowing now there was more than one American carrier in the battle. If Spruance is shown as the victor at Midway, it would be a gross inaccuratcy. I am assigning a rating because I must, but I don't know enough about this book to do so, it might be worth more.

posted by 9621138 on December 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This is probably the best single book about this battle, and the author's writing style made it a highly enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Outstanding!

    Exceptionally well written, the book reads like a fast paced novel.

    The author does an excellent job showing us the mindsets of the principal players, the strategy of the Japanese empire, and the inevitable chain of events that forced this battle to occur.

    The descriptions of each phase of the battle were clear and very well presented along with excellent bio's of the persons deeply involved, both the shing stars as well as those who fell short.

    As you read this book you can't help but realize what a longshot this battle was, and have a feeling for how thin and precarious the entire situation was on a minute by minute basis throughout.

    I strongly recommend this piece of work and caution that it is one you will have a hard time putting down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Worth the read

    The book was incredibly well researched. The author included U.S. blunders that cost lives, rather than just making this a feel-good report of the battle. That Americans lost their lives due to inferior equipment(fogging windshields on planes, and flawed design on torpedoes)remains tragic and absent from most accounts of the battle. History continues to show us that mankind cannot live in peace, although we yearn to live this way. The sacrifices that those at Midway were willing to pay, both Japanese and Americans, knowing that they might not succeed is unfathomable. The book was exceptionally written and extremly fast-paced.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    highly recommended

    Gave some information about the battle that I did not know. The author is very informative and knowledgeable about the Navy sea battles. Previous book on Lincoln also highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    jb

    the aurthor does A really good job in separating the legends from the reality of the battle

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    To humter

    Vety well written. Reay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    To hunter

    I dont get what the first two parts r they seem a bit random.. but that may b just me. Otherwise it was really good ~ jessica~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    To hunter

    Could i be a comunications officer.? My name us patriot liberty ross. Ill be at oliver twist if you want to know what i look like. Just put to patriot in the title bar. Thanks love the story btw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Battle of over midway psrt one.

    Sargent Thayer sits in his operating room where with his wingmen pvt. Johnsin pvt. Bronson and pvt. Wiss getting intructions from kernal Legard for their fighter covering the bomber bombing the Japps naval fleet. Sargent Thayer is the leader of thier squad and......to be continued next res.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    A great read

    This book chronicles a pivotal point of WW II with such detail and clarity while maintaining the reader's interest. I highly recommend The Battle of Midway by Craig L Symonds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Very Highly Recommended

    I have read a great deal of military histroy and frankly some books are a struggle. However, The Battle Of Midway was presented and explained in a very clear and easy to understand style. I had no idea the number of aborted and failed attemps by American pilots as they learned on-the-job how to battle the Japanese navy in this critical confrontation. The author clearly described how the Pacific fleet was under equipped at the time and he drew a vivid picture of the deficiencies compared to the Japanese. It makes the victory all the more amazing. I am always amazed to learn that great battles are often determined by serendipity. Kudos and thanks to Mr. Symonds. I will look for more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    This book is one of the best written books I have ever read.  It

    This book is one of the best written books I have ever read.  It is a fascinating look at the period from Pearl Harbor to Midway.  It brings to life the partticipants as well as the facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT

    we turned the tide of war at this battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Excellent!

    Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    AMAZING

    Must read for any ww2 historian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Craig in the Best Naval History Writer.

    If you read his Linciln & His Admirals, you will love this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2