Customer Reviews for

The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4606 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3535)

4 Star

(727)

3 Star

(196)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(100)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

101 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

Good read

this series is fantastic. I recommend it to everyone

posted by Balina on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

review from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

This book in the series just didn't have the same pull as the first 3 did. The story lost me a little. I think I expected more action while they were in the labyrinth. But at times, I felt like the story was going in circles. There are parts that I really liked. Th...
This book in the series just didn't have the same pull as the first 3 did. The story lost me a little. I think I expected more action while they were in the labyrinth. But at times, I felt like the story was going in circles. There are parts that I really liked. The story of the labyrinth and it's place in the modern world was extremely interesting. I loved that an actual human plays such an intricate part of the story. I think the story weaving was better in this one. It's starts to connect everything together and sets up for the final book. Although this one made me curious what part the gods would actually play in the final battle. They seem to interfere (or help) and the strangest times and I'm not sure what they actually want out of the demigods. I still think the author does a fantastic job of weaving Greek mythology into the story. It reminds me how much I love mythology.

posted by pagese on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4670 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 234
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    this series is fantastic. I recommend it to everyone

    101 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Awesome!

    this series is great!!!! i recomend it to everyone.

    77 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Personal Favorite

    I simply love this series! I have read them all and after rereading them 3 or more times i have decided this si my favorite. Everyonewant this book and its NEVER in at the library!!!!
    Happy reading =)

    60 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perhaps the best thus far

    Okay, I'm probably older than the age group roughly focused on for these books, but I love them! The characters are so funny, and charming, and remind you of someone you know. I thought this book was a fantastic addition to the collection, and perhaps the best so far. I loved all the crazy places the Labyrinth took them. I also thought it was really cool that Rachel, a mortal girl, got to have such a big part helping them. Percy and Annabeth are still on the fritz, but they'll come through. I also think it was great how many other, lesser-known, Greek myths were brought up in this book. I used to study those like crazy back in high school, and this author really knows his stuff. Better yet, he can take ancient myths and put a humorous modern-day spin on them. This book is definitely a winner!

    51 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    best book yet in this series

    this is the best book yet in this series. this book is funny,thrilling,challenging. this book is fun to read it teach alot of lessons

    38 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So many twists and turns!

    Kronos is stirring, Luke is evil, and another problem has accured. Percy hasn't even started school, and is already accused of burning down the band room thanks to the evil, monster, cheerleaders. But thanks to a new friend, Rachel, Percy is safe--for now. An entry to the Labyrinth has been discovered in the heart of camp! Well thats a bad thing. Because the Labyrinth is a big moving, growing, maze, created by one of the best architects in the world. And if Luke and his army discover it, they have passage into the Camp! Yikes. Annabeth has been chosen to lead this quest to find the architect and find a way to stop Luke. She asks Percy, Tyson, and Grover to come along. Now a lot of you are going, "A maze, big deal." But this is no ordinary maze. Like the Uderworld there are entries all over the world. It also moves on its own. one minute your walking strait, then next the tunnels move and your facing a dead end, completely confused. The only way to get tto the heart of the maze is to have a guid. A mortal guid. Rachel! Will they make it before Luke?? Will they get hoplessly lost??

    33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Labyrynth fails to disapoint!

    The adventure of Percy Jackson continues! Riordan goes further into Greek Mythology- with his own special twist- than ever before! Despite the serious tone, the dialogue still evokes those laugh out loud moments that made the others so endearing.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    What do you mean i have to wait till may! I love this series

    21 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    This book in the series just didn't have the same pull as the first 3 did. The story lost me a little. I think I expected more action while they were in the labyrinth. But at times, I felt like the story was going in circles. There are parts that I really liked. The story of the labyrinth and it's place in the modern world was extremely interesting. I loved that an actual human plays such an intricate part of the story. I think the story weaving was better in this one. It's starts to connect everything together and sets up for the final book. Although this one made me curious what part the gods would actually play in the final battle. They seem to interfere (or help) and the strangest times and I'm not sure what they actually want out of the demigods. I still think the author does a fantastic job of weaving Greek mythology into the story. It reminds me how much I love mythology.

    17 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great 4th Installment

    The Percy Jackson series is fun and captivating and this 4th installment doesn't let you down. I liken it to the Harry Potter series, if you enjoyed books 1-3, then you know you have to read the 4th - it won't let you down. I couldn't wait for it to go into paperback and it was worth the extra money for a hardback copy. I don't know if the author is planning to write more, but I will be the first to pick them up as they come out.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    They keep getting better!

    Each book in the Percy Jackson series keeps getting better and better! I can't think of any young teenage boy (or girl) that wouldn't enjoy this series. You definitely need to start with the first book in the series and read them in order. Some knowledge of Greek mythology makes the humor more accessible but the books are great adventure stories even without that knowledge. A great read!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Too good!!!

    This book should be on billboards! The story makes sence a lot and its one of those books that FILL your imagination. Readers who are between 9 and 14 will give this a thumbs up. This is one of the greatest books ( in the series) you can get.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Great Book

    My 12 year old LOVED this book. He read it in less than a day as he couldn't put it down.

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Percy and his fellow campers must get through a maze!

    This is a young readers novel that enhances children in grades 5-8 knowledge about mythology.

    10 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventurous!

    This book was full of adventure and action. It never gets boring. It has good description of the characters. The Battle of the Labyrinth is the best book of this series, because it has the most action. This book also teaches you about Greek history in a fun way.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Fantastic!!!

    I really can't say much more then I have written in the other reviews. Percy is challenged in some pretty scarey places and he always holds on to faith and hope.

    These are really a good set for both boys and girls because their are girl hero's in the story to. The things they do help Percy in his quests and making his decisions.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    Fabulous series for ages 9-99

    I'm 42 years old and have always loved mythology. I found the first book by accident, looking for interesting books for my son - then 10 to read. I couldn't put the book down and we now fight over who's going to read book 4 first. Action packed, exciting, creative storyline and plot. Great characters. I love the way Rick Riordon blends mythology w/ modern day life and teens. Would recommend for both boy and girls of all ages...even parents!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, great sereis!

    Percy Jackson's fourth summer at camp Half-Blood is a lot like the first three; he fights monsters, prevents a momentous war, and saves the world with his friends. In Rick Rioradan's thrilling series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians, fantasy gets woven into reality so intricately that it makes you start believing in Greek gods and half-bloods yourself. The fourth installment called The Battle of the Labyrinth is both funny and exciting. His complicated relationship with Annabeth Chase, the many betrayals as some kids at camp join the enemy and his best friend, Grover's search for the truth about the lost god Pan all get a prominent part in this book, so it's not all about action and battle.
    In this imaginative novel, Percy and his friends are forced to go into a magical maze to prevent their enemies from invading their camp for people who are half-bloods, which means one of their parents is a Greek god and the other is human. Percy's enemy was planning to capture the camp and then take over Olympus through an underground maze called the Labyrinth. But, the Labyrinth is magical. It changes, tricks people, and has deadly traps.
    The Battle of the Labyrinth's adventure-seeking readers won't be able to wait for the next magical, slighty educational and altogether thrilling book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    The BEST

    It's one of the best books I've ever read. Good for both genders, and extremely funny.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Book

    Great books.
    I love the books-THEYRE AWESOME!
    IF YOU DONT LIKE THESE BOOKS YOUR CRAZY
    (not in a good way)

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4670 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 234