Customer Reviews for

The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4627 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3554)

4 Star

(727)

3 Star

(196)

2 Star

(48)

1 Star

(102)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

104 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

Good read

this series is fantastic. I recommend it to everyone

posted by Balina on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

review from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

This book in the series just didn't have the same pull as the first 3 did. The story lost me a little. I think I expected more action while they were in the labyrinth. But at times, I felt like the story was going in circles. There are parts that I really liked. Th...
This book in the series just didn't have the same pull as the first 3 did. The story lost me a little. I think I expected more action while they were in the labyrinth. But at times, I felt like the story was going in circles. There are parts that I really liked. The story of the labyrinth and it's place in the modern world was extremely interesting. I loved that an actual human plays such an intricate part of the story. I think the story weaving was better in this one. It's starts to connect everything together and sets up for the final book. Although this one made me curious what part the gods would actually play in the final battle. They seem to interfere (or help) and the strangest times and I'm not sure what they actually want out of the demigods. I still think the author does a fantastic job of weaving Greek mythology into the story. It reminds me how much I love mythology.

posted by pagese on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 727 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Book Review of the Battle of the Labyrinth

    The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan
    4 out of 5 stars

    This book starts out pretty slow but starts to pick up speed after the first or second chapter. Percy goes back to camp Half-Blood after burning down his new high school. There they find an entrance into the labyrinth.

    This book takes place across Earth. This mainly takes place in the labyrinth which is a maze. This maze seems to change and tries to trick you. In this book Percy and his friends go into the labyrinth to stop the Titan lord from rising again.

    This is overall a good book. This book is part of the Percy Jackson series. It is a great series to read.
    Conclusion
    By the time they get there the Titan lord had just risen and they barely escape. To find out more go to a library or buy the book.

    I would suggest this book to people who like adventure and books about mythical creatures.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    i cannot wait until we can read this book and i hope that we'll be able to knock these books off the shelves!!!! these books are totally awwesome

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Great Read for all ages

    When I first started this series I was afriad that it would be only for young kids but even as an adult it was able to hold my attention and I didn't want to put it down until I was finished!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Good

    A Veary good book i lovethe whole series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Angel

    I'm near the middle. I like it so far

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    big fan

    I can't wait until it comes out. I just love this series.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Should i get it?

    Should i get it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Cheese! :)

    I love to read!
    I also like tacos!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Great

    Great book but i like the others better

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Okay.

    I absolutly love these books but they can be boring at the beginning. GO PERCY JACKSON!!!!!! My favorite character was Thailia.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Not done but great

    I have nit finished but so far the book is reslly good get it. PLEASE ;) !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    PERCY IS BACK!!!!

    I found the 4th book of the percy jackson books to be an interseting read! It had alot of twists and a surprise! Rick Riordan, you've done it again!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Good but not great

    Rick Riordan has always been a favorite of mine and this series is amazing. However, this book was not his best. Often it was a bit confusing to follow but it was still overall good. I would reccomend this if you are already reading the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Very Good

    Amazing i have always liked mythology and now with this series i feel awarded because with every page you dont know whats going to happen.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    A Good Story, But All Of The Others In This Series Were Better

    The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan, was the fourth installment of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians Series. In this book, Percy is trying to find Nico, the lost son of Hades. It turns out that he, Annabeth, Tyson, and Grover, have to find him, and the way to save their camp, in the labyrinth. I found this book to be very good, although I despise the character of Rachel Elizabeth Dare. She bothers me so much. She serves almost no purpose. This story was interesting in the end, but the beginning was a little dull. I found the last book to be a little bit better. I still suggest you should read this series though. I know that I want to read The Last Olympian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Adventure Tale

    The story continues to develop in Riordan's 4th volume in this series. Though soundly aimed at a young audience, these books make for a fun, if light, read for adults too.

    Riordan knows how to write for his audience, with sharp pacing, action, and fun dialogue and situations. Even as the plot starts to darken a little, this series manages to stay fun.

    Along the way, you may even learn a little about Greek mythology and be encouraged to take that learning further.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

    The Battle of the Labyrinth in the Percy Jackson and, the Olympian series by Rick Riordan is a great book. It tells the story of Percy Jackson, Annabeth Chase, Tyson the cyclops, and Grover the satyr as they travel through the labyrinth in search of its genius creator, Deadalus, in their fourth year at Camp Half-Blood when Annabeth takes on a quest to explore the labyrinth so that they can save their camp and help win the great battle between the Olympians and the Titans. The dangerous quest brings Annabeth, Percy, Tyson, Grover, and Rachel, a girl that they used to see through the fog to help them navigate through the maze, more questions. The cursed Labyrinth has dangerous surprises at every turn and takes them to places with mythological monsters that open their eyes before the great battle to come. It has everything in it from action for boys, romance for girls, and a lot of Greek mythology. I thought that it was another great book from the series and I'll be looking forward to the last one. Overall, I think that this book would be a really good book for anyone in elementary school, middle school, or even some people in high school and that if you love mythology, you should definitely read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    Because of the movie I was interested in the series. The series is fun, light great for kids. Lots of things for the kids to be interested in. It helps to have a passing intrest in Greek Mythology and it stays pretty true to the origional mythos but makes them modern and fun. If you want a series of books that everyone in your house can read and mostly enjoy. Or if you are looking for something as an adult to just relax, read and forget, these are your books.
    Percy Jackson is a character that you want to root for, not too tragic, not too sure of himself...knows that he wins often by pure luck and is okay with that. He understands family, loyalty and the joys and dangers of both. He knows he is not perfect and often uses that to his advantage.
    These books are good for people who are trying to get interested in reading. Well written and don't make you think too hard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    A fun fantasy

    The book is both funny and action packed. There are unmistakable similarities to the characters in the Harry Potter series, though the setting is different. The reader on the audio series leaves much to be desired, having basically only two different voices, neither of which suits any of the characters particularly well. Had the story not been so engrossing, we would have turned off the cd because of the very poor voice characterizations. The author seems fairly well versed in Greek mythology, and brings the gods and goddesses to life. A fun read, though less fun listen to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan

    Are you a fan of fantasy and action? If you answered yes to either of these questions then The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan is the book for you. It is the fourth book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympian Series and it is sure to please. With it's fascinating characters and links to Greek mythology it is a book that will keep readers reading. This book is a great book for kids ages 11-15. Rick Riordan has created a world of his own through the Demigod camp "Camp Half-blood" and the dark and mysterious labyrinth. It has a humor, action, and some mystery. In my opinion this is one of the best in the series. Overall it is action packed, funny, and in its own way mysterious. So get off the video games and go check out The Battle of the Labyrinth by Rick Riordan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 727 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37