Customer Reviews for

Battlefield of the Mind: Winning the Battle in Your Mind

Average Rating 4.5
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Good Ammunition for the Battle

First to know, this is a religious-based book. The author, Joyce Meyer, is a popular Christian author and speaker. Her television and radio programs air in many languages and countries. She has also written many books on Christianity, this being one of the more popular....
First to know, this is a religious-based book. The author, Joyce Meyer, is a popular Christian author and speaker. Her television and radio programs air in many languages and countries. She has also written many books on Christianity, this being one of the more popular.

"Battlefield of the Mind: Winning the Battle in Your Mind" is about solving some of the common problems we all encounter in life, such as depression, anger, or worry, by getting you to examine the way you think about things, or as the book puts it, "you need to begin to think about what you are thinking about." And that's basically the goal of the whole book.

Other major points include:

-our actions are a direct result of our thoughts.
-thoughts take place in your mind, so your mind is in essence "the battlefield"
-if you have a negative mind, you will have a negative life
-on the other hand, if you renew you mind according to God's Word, you will have a positive life

Much of the book is devoted to getting the reader to change their thinking and discusses how to tear down the "strongholds" that the devil tries to set up in the mind. Joyce uses parables and many personal examples along the way- which makes the book very interesting to read.

In sum, if you're stuck in a rut for any number of reasons, and are looking for a book with a religious tone to help you out- I think its a good choice. Also recommend "Finding Happiness in a Frustrating World". Peace.

posted by 894458 on January 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

No thanks

I wouldn't call myself a non-Christian and was given this book by someone who knows nothing of my spiritual beliefs but who knew I was going through a hard time so maybe I shouldn't even review it. In addition to why I shouldn't review it is that I couldn't even make it...
I wouldn't call myself a non-Christian and was given this book by someone who knows nothing of my spiritual beliefs but who knew I was going through a hard time so maybe I shouldn't even review it. In addition to why I shouldn't review it is that I couldn't even make it through the first few pages. Satan Satan Satan. Come on, just blame your mother if you need to place blame on another. Satan? Really? I had no idea so many people still gave that little devil the time of day.
This book sends the same message as many other books of this genre do and that is that negative thoughts control and can ruin your life and the lives of those closest to you and that they need to be addressed and recognized. I call those thoughts my Ego and I do my best to keep it in check.

posted by 10762339 on January 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2006

    Leverage Against the Enemy's Attacks

    I never realized how much we could truly be held in bondage from things that have happened in our past....our childhood upbringing, hurtful relationships, people we should or shouldn't allow into the front seat of our lives, etc., until I read this book. If you don't tune your heart and mind into Gods and let him cleanse you and renew your mind on a DAILY basis, you are subject to constant attacks from the Enemy. This book also helped me recognize firsthand when those attacks begin and the impact it has on your spirit if you choose to listen. All I can say is WOW. Joyce is anointed and God is truly using her for the advancement and glorification of his kingdom. If you want/need help, if you're tired of being tired, if you hunger and thirst for righteousness' sake...YOU NEED TO GET THIS BOOK AND READ IT AS OFTEN AS YOU NEED. While you're at it, buy a few for some other people too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    What a blessing!!!

    Blessing to me! I needed this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Good points dull.read

    Very good points, awesome ideas and can really make you think in the riht direction. However if it were not for the video I would never have gotten throuh it. She is a much better speaker than a writter. Just really a dull read and very repetitave.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Battelfield for wars

    -lobber-

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    This is an absolute must read!

    Awesome book. Very straight forward and to the point. I will read this book over and over!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fair

    Had some good points,wasn't what I was hopeing for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    As a Teacher and a College Administrator...

    I have struggled with anger and trying to manage and supervise large numbers of people with firm love. I am still studying this book - moving back and forth between the Bible passages, my own journal reflections and Bible study, and renewed study of Joyce's Wilderness Mentalities as I go.

    I work hard not to read it too quickly so that I don't skim over a pearl - such as throwing my pearls to swine when my anger tosses love to Satan by wasting it in resentment... How often do I do that???!!!

    I will continue to study this book as I continue to try and serve my secular students and staff with Christian love ... and return to my all important family without the pent up frustration of a garbled day. Thank you, Joyce....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    you must check this out.

    This book help me get through the worst and darkest days of my life.
    Joyce put it straight how you should be thinking. It really did help me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Changing our thought process.

    This book helps in so many ways as to what we allow to enter into our thought process. Daily we listen, hear, read or see many things that later start a pattern of wrong thinking. This book help's you to allow your thoughts to be as God's thoughts. It keeps you in the positive light of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you are searching for something to make a difference in your life...

    This and almost all of Joyce Meyers writings and teachings is just what I needed to understanding my meaning in this life and how I can change not only myself, but the world around me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    Great read for those who want life to be better and to heal the pain felt in life

    I want say frist that I have been in such pain and depressed and felt my world falling apart. God has showed me this book when I saw joyce talking about this book and I knew I had to read it. I have to say this book had good change in my life. I started to see a change in me and felt the enemy trying to keep me from reading this book. I felt a weight on me as I started the book and it lifted off me as I read more. I know that the enemy was trying to keep me from reading this book more as I found the answer and message that god wanted me to know and to learn. This book can help anyone depressed and lonely and lost and start to see clear what they couldn't see. Do read and have this book and give it to those who need to get closer to God and to find that life they will be able to finally enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Wow and God Bless

    I HIGHLY recommend this book!!! By the time I got to Chapter 21 I knew what my problems were and how to get rid of what Joyce calls 'the stink'in think'in. I have had serveral epiphanies since I completed this book I finished it in three days because I couldn't put it down. Please! please get this book and tell your friends if you are newbie in Christ or a Mature Christian this book will help you with all aspects of your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Powerfull

    This book has help me so much. If a book ever talk to you this book will. As you read this book you start to see yourself and you will understand about the battle that does go on in your mind. All I can say is read the book and you will see. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain.The book is very powerful and Joyce Meyer is a very gifted auther who beleaves and walks with the Lord. I recommen reading and listening to Joyce Meyer as much as you can. You can never have enough of God's word in your life.I watch Joyce every day on TV I can never get enough of Gods Word God Bless

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    A must read for anyone who wants true healing

    This book has made me a Joyce Meyer fan. Her experience and fearless candor combine with a wonderfully concise writing style to make a book with truly something for everyone. Insightful and painstakingly backed up with (Christian) scripture, I would say without hesitation that anyone could recognize themselves (as well as the people who have hurt them) within these pages-if you dare to look, that is!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    Practical reading

    This is up there with the best books on spiritual growth. Read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    Excellent Book!

    This book is so practical! It's a must read for anyone who is looking to grow in their spirtual life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    Thoughts under control

    I have read and reread this book several times and am currently sharing this information with Sunday school classes and bible study groups. To grasp that from my mind come my thought habits, my words, my actions and who 'I be'...is more than reason enough to not let my thoughts run rampant any longer. Not one lady I've shared this information with has found it less than eyeopening. A must read....a must learn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    Outstanding

    I have not quite finished reading this yet but it is one of the best spiritual/help books I've ever read. By including her interpretations in brackets enhances the understanding of the Bible scriptures used. Meyer is easy to read. I'll probably read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2002

    EXCELLENT

    This is an awesome book!! I never knew how much our thinking affects our attitude. Must read for anyone who has difficulty with making decisions, confusion, what's amazing is that Joyce Meyer was abused, sexually, physically, verbally and if you have been in this type of situation, like me... You will relate to almost everything she says in this book. It's definitely an eye opener and it's your open door to change your attitude! It's great!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2002

    Wow!

    This is exactly what I had been searching for.This book gave my mind the understanding it needed to wage through my battles. As an added bonus, I broke through the fear and torment that had been plagueing me. It completed what I knew in my heart and brought it to my mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 290 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15