Customer Reviews for

Battling Ships

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

This is a classic, great game.

I was excited to see a Battle Ship type game in the apps store, and I am not disappointed. This is a bunch of fun to play. I like the graphics and sound effects, the touch screen is spot on and there are several different playing modes. I haven't tried the 2 player mode...
I was excited to see a Battle Ship type game in the apps store, and I am not disappointed. This is a bunch of fun to play. I like the graphics and sound effects, the touch screen is spot on and there are several different playing modes. I haven't tried the 2 player mode yet, but the single player modes are fun. I think anyone who likes the classic battleship game will love this one too. I will be wasting some time with this one for sure. :)

posted by cartooncool on July 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just Okay

Took a lomg time to complete... maybey Im just not very good

posted by 4843112 on December 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    This is a classic, great game.

    I was excited to see a Battle Ship type game in the apps store, and I am not disappointed. This is a bunch of fun to play. I like the graphics and sound effects, the touch screen is spot on and there are several different playing modes. I haven't tried the 2 player mode yet, but the single player modes are fun. I think anyone who likes the classic battleship game will love this one too. I will be wasting some time with this one for sure. :)

    54 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Love it!

    Fyi the easy level is like p,aying against someone who doesnt understand the gist of the game....which is great for morale;)

    29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Joann Bowers

    I love this battleship game for the nook. I have played over an hour now and I have not had any problems. It is a must!!!! Just like the electronic battleship game.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    Awesome.

    Finally battleship for the Nook!

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great game

    I love this game. Nothing boring about it. Different game modes makes it fun. Worth the money.highly recommended. Have fun everyone.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    GREAT GAME

    Bad reviews are bogus. If you dont like BATTLE SHIP you will mot like this game. Does not make it a bad game. I love it. Never had a prob with download or play. AGAIN I LOVE IT

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Great game

    This totally reminds me of my much younger years. I love tgis game.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Love It

    Thanks Developer/BN!! I like to see "real" games like Hearts, Cribbage and now Battleship. I am patiently awaiting for Spades.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Awesome.

    The best two player game i have!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Awesome

    This is awesome

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Great game!

    Glade to see it on the nook. I enjoy playing it- thanks!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Great

    Get it you wont regret it ( that is if you like battle ship)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    What r u guyz talkin about?

    Come on, this game is frackin epic! I played it on my friend's nook, and it worked fine! All u haterz are probably middle aged creepers or peepz who are waaayyy to critical!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Awesome

    Grab it for .99 before it goes up. It IS worth more and I would gladly pay more. I love it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    ~~~ Memories ... Good Ones ~~~

    Great game ... LOVE IT! :o}

    I was the youngest of 5, the only girl & the brother closest in age was (still is!) 6 years older than I was. Needless to say; I was an "unwanted tag-a-long" & the "bratty baby sister" most of the time, but not when it came to what we all called the "Rainy Day Games": Battleship, Slap-Jack, Crazy 8s, Yahtzee, Sorry, Life & Rock 'em Sock 'em Robots ... to name a few. Can I get an Amen from fellow "Gen-Xers"? LOL!

    I'm fine with technology, thankful for the giant leaps that help adults keep track of their freak'n schedules (sorry Mom, in that area ... you had it easier because life moved at a slower pace [IMO, a GOOD thing].

    I realize I'm playing this game on a Nook Color; and yes, I get the irony. Doesn't change the fact that it still takes me back to some of the best childhood memories of my life in the early 70's ... I'm not sensitive about my age, I'm 46.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Like the original, but better!

    You can play against another player OR a nook apponent, which is a definite advantage over the original board game. Plus, there are two extra games beside the original. There is the fog mode where fog will randomly roll on and off your board, and when it's there, you cannot see your previous moves! It really works the memory! There's also the survivor game in which you fire as many shots in a row/per turn as you have ships left. Everyone starts out with 5 shots at a time, but as you start to sink your opponent's ships you take away their extra shots! And, with both the fog and survivor games you have the option of playing the computer in easy, medium, or hard modes or you can play these specialized modes against another player. Seriously, I've always love the original board game, but this is (surprisingly) so much better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Needs an expert level

    Great game! It can glitch up rarely when playing for a long time (it may record hits against a ship you moved, in its original position) but a reset usually clears the problem. An expert mode would nice, or add better decisions to AI for hard level such that when AI finds a ship and knows what it is it doesnt take shots where the ship cannot be (like taking horizontal shots when the ship can only fit vertically). Also, when searching for the last ship or so, dont take random shots in places the remaining boats wouldnt fit. Finally, a tip for players: 9 times out of 10 when u find the destroyer, it will be vertical.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    P.O.OP

    People order our patties

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Great little app

    I love this game as do my kids.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of fun!

    This game plays just like electronic Battleship; it's lots of fun to play, either by yourself or with someone else. Works flawlessly on my Nook Color.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4