Customer Reviews for

Baudolino

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

I really enjoyed this book. My sister gave it to me for Christmas last year and I read the first chapter and decided I didn't want to read it- I was frustrated by not being able to understand the different languages, the references to the locations and events of the tim...
I really enjoyed this book. My sister gave it to me for Christmas last year and I read the first chapter and decided I didn't want to read it- I was frustrated by not being able to understand the different languages, the references to the locations and events of the time, etc., and the main character seemed a little raunchy. However, I picked it up again a few months ago and I liked it a lot. I decided to just 'go with it' and not try to figure out what everything meant, where everything was, what was going on at the time, etc. I found the entire book enjoyable (not just the end (though I did think the ending was fitting as well)... while I was reading I didn't feel like I wanted to finish to get it over with- I enjoyed the journey.) My point is this: I think the book can be read on two different levels. One, you can try to understand everything about the time period, the places, and the languages spoken, which would probably be even more interesting/exciting or two, you can just take things for face value and enjoy the story. This is what I did and I loved it. To the people who were bored by this book and thought it was too long, I would advise trying to read it again but without worrying about understanding every detail and historical reference. I have a lot of trouble finishing books, but I didn't have any trouble with this one, so I think it is a good book both for people who want a book dense with historical references, and for people who want a lighter read, just a fun read, or a 'beach book.'

posted by Anonymous on January 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing medieval myth - eventually

Umberto Eco is a master of historical novells. Ever since his world wide bestseller 'The Name of the Rose' (made into a major film with Sean Connery in the leading role) Eco has earned a place among the best writers of historic fiction. Now 'Baudolino' is about to be...
Umberto Eco is a master of historical novells. Ever since his world wide bestseller 'The Name of the Rose' (made into a major film with Sean Connery in the leading role) Eco has earned a place among the best writers of historic fiction. Now 'Baudolino' is about to be released in English. In Baudolino he tells the tale of Fredrik I Barbarossa, the germanic emperor who opposed pope Alexander the III in the 12th century. In this story he weaves the life of Baudalino - a north-italian country boy that Barbarossa adopts as his own son. I greatly enjoyed his first two novells 'The Name of the Rose' and 'Foucault's Pendulum' but was dissapointed by his third (at least the third released in Swedish) 'The Island of the Day Before' therefore I was a bit apprehensive of this book. Would be a new Rose or a new Island? As it happened I think it's more of an Island than a Rose. Fredrik Barbarossa (Red beard) lived was born about 1120 and died on the third crusade in Asia in 1190. According to my encyclopedia he was made king over 'Germany' and the western Roman empire in 1152 and had numerous problems with the more or less independent (northern) italian city states. During the period 1158-1168 he had several campaigns in Italy which Eco in his book pays utmost attention - which makes the main part of the book a slow read. The main action in this part of the book is endless travels between Paris (where Baudalino is studying), Germany and northern Italy. In the campaign Milano is won and completely destroyed. In 1167 the fortress Alessandria (just outside Baudalinos place of birth) is built and in the book turned into a small town. Eco tells the tale of how Baudalino saves the town from the besieging troups of Barbarossa, and in fact the real Alessandria was never captured by the emperor. Although it is doubtfull if it was saved in the way portraid in the book. On route from the unsuccessfull campaign against Alessandria, Barbarossas troups are set upon by troups of the north-italian league and thoroughly routed. This is also a historic fact. At the end of his reign Barbarossa engaged in the third crusade. And this is were Eco's novell is saved. Eco manages the portray the crusade and the adventures to Baudalino and his comrades in style. Barbarossa dies in 1190 by drowning in the river Salef. In the book this is turned into a question of foul play or was it natural causes? We are eventually given Eco's suggestion but we have to wait many pages for the surprising conclusion. When Barbarossa dies, Baudalino et consortes sets off on a quest to find the promised land of Johannes the mythic priest and king. The best part of the tale is of the battle at the mythic city of Pndapetzim where all sorts of groteque beings battle with the huns for their lives and the city. All in all I think the book is let down by the slow pace of the first part of the book. When we reach the tale of the crusade (if the reader manages to keep the interest up for that long) we are led on an intriguing journey in the mythological world of medieval Europe.

posted by Anonymous on July 14, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2006

    Good Read

    I really enjoyed this book. My sister gave it to me for Christmas last year and I read the first chapter and decided I didn't want to read it- I was frustrated by not being able to understand the different languages, the references to the locations and events of the time, etc., and the main character seemed a little raunchy. However, I picked it up again a few months ago and I liked it a lot. I decided to just 'go with it' and not try to figure out what everything meant, where everything was, what was going on at the time, etc. I found the entire book enjoyable (not just the end (though I did think the ending was fitting as well)... while I was reading I didn't feel like I wanted to finish to get it over with- I enjoyed the journey.) My point is this: I think the book can be read on two different levels. One, you can try to understand everything about the time period, the places, and the languages spoken, which would probably be even more interesting/exciting or two, you can just take things for face value and enjoy the story. This is what I did and I loved it. To the people who were bored by this book and thought it was too long, I would advise trying to read it again but without worrying about understanding every detail and historical reference. I have a lot of trouble finishing books, but I didn't have any trouble with this one, so I think it is a good book both for people who want a book dense with historical references, and for people who want a lighter read, just a fun read, or a 'beach book.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    OUR GRADUATE STUDIES IN SEMIO-MEDIEVALISM CONTINUE

    This is another big win for Umberto Eco. He's not really a novelist -- just like Graham Greene, he calls his fiction "entertainments" -- and instead is the leading scholar of semiotics, the philosphy of signs and symbols, and so each story is typically an extended intellectual game. Although it's very heavy going, the "hard thinking" here is made palable because, as in each of the other novels, the main character is a young man, and so the historical events and issues are juxtaposed against his coming-of-age. This time it's the 12th Century, so you get a crusade, one of the sackings of Constantinople, the Ur-german Emperor Barbarossa, conspiracy theories going back to Charlemagne, and the architecture of Prester John. It's not a cozy read, and there's a reason why it was released in the Fall; this is not beach-reading. It's not too far a stretch, instead, to compare this, and Eco's others, to the weightiest writings of any language, like Plato or Melville or Eliot. This work can be read and re-read and re-read, again and again, and will yield anew each time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    FLUID PROSE AND PROVOCATIVE THOUGHTS

    Renaissance man Umberto Eco continues to enthrall with a return to the era he so masterfully painted in "The Name Of The Rose." An intrepid, nonparallel story teller he again visits the Middle Ages with Baudolino, a marvelous blend of history and imagination. It is April 1204 and a northern Italian peasant, Baudolino, is in Constantinople, the resplendent capital of the Byzantine Empire. The city staggers under the relentless onslaught of the knights of the Fourth Crusade who pillage and burn. Oblivious to his own safety Baudolino rescues an important personage, a historian from sure death at the hands of the marauding warriors. This is the person to whom Baudolino recounts his life story - a colorful narrative laced with fantasy and adventure. Although of humble birth, we learn that Baudolino is rich in two areas: the art of inspired prevarication and an aptitude for learning languages. When still a youngster he was adopted by Emperor Frederick Barbarossa who later sent the boy to the university in Paris. Affable and quick, Baudolino soon made friends in France with those who shared his somewhat reckless taste for adventure. Together a group of them journey to the east and embark upon a search for a mythical priest-king, Prester John. It is believed that Prester John's domain is a fabled land inhabited by eunuchs, unicorns, beautiful maidens, and bizarre beings with misplaced orifices. As is his wont the unsurpassed Eco weaves his story with ruminations of weighty matters such as theology, politics, government, and history. He does this with fluid prose and provocative thoughts that inevitably draw readers into the author's unique land of enchantment, a magical place that one is reluctant to leave.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2004

    One who really likes books!

    Let's make a couple of things totally clear: 1. This is a book for bookworms. If you don't have ample historical and classic training, don't even start. 2. This is not a book for dummies. If you can not concentrate for more than 15 minutes, if you can't analyze and keep several threads of thought active simulteneously, if you don't want to pay attention to details, and if you don't appreciate elegant language and prose, don't waste your time. Go read Stephen King instead. If you can do all the above mentioned and also some serious intellectual inclination or training, this is the book for you. I thought Eco has lost his touch after 'Island of the Day Before'. But I really enjoyed this book. It is funny, interesting, and packs a lot of medieval philosophycal punch. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Intriguing medieval myth - eventually

    Umberto Eco is a master of historical novells. Ever since his world wide bestseller 'The Name of the Rose' (made into a major film with Sean Connery in the leading role) Eco has earned a place among the best writers of historic fiction. Now 'Baudolino' is about to be released in English. In Baudolino he tells the tale of Fredrik I Barbarossa, the germanic emperor who opposed pope Alexander the III in the 12th century. In this story he weaves the life of Baudalino - a north-italian country boy that Barbarossa adopts as his own son. I greatly enjoyed his first two novells 'The Name of the Rose' and 'Foucault's Pendulum' but was dissapointed by his third (at least the third released in Swedish) 'The Island of the Day Before' therefore I was a bit apprehensive of this book. Would be a new Rose or a new Island? As it happened I think it's more of an Island than a Rose. Fredrik Barbarossa (Red beard) lived was born about 1120 and died on the third crusade in Asia in 1190. According to my encyclopedia he was made king over 'Germany' and the western Roman empire in 1152 and had numerous problems with the more or less independent (northern) italian city states. During the period 1158-1168 he had several campaigns in Italy which Eco in his book pays utmost attention - which makes the main part of the book a slow read. The main action in this part of the book is endless travels between Paris (where Baudalino is studying), Germany and northern Italy. In the campaign Milano is won and completely destroyed. In 1167 the fortress Alessandria (just outside Baudalinos place of birth) is built and in the book turned into a small town. Eco tells the tale of how Baudalino saves the town from the besieging troups of Barbarossa, and in fact the real Alessandria was never captured by the emperor. Although it is doubtfull if it was saved in the way portraid in the book. On route from the unsuccessfull campaign against Alessandria, Barbarossas troups are set upon by troups of the north-italian league and thoroughly routed. This is also a historic fact. At the end of his reign Barbarossa engaged in the third crusade. And this is were Eco's novell is saved. Eco manages the portray the crusade and the adventures to Baudalino and his comrades in style. Barbarossa dies in 1190 by drowning in the river Salef. In the book this is turned into a question of foul play or was it natural causes? We are eventually given Eco's suggestion but we have to wait many pages for the surprising conclusion. When Barbarossa dies, Baudalino et consortes sets off on a quest to find the promised land of Johannes the mythic priest and king. The best part of the tale is of the battle at the mythic city of Pndapetzim where all sorts of groteque beings battle with the huns for their lives and the city. All in all I think the book is let down by the slow pace of the first part of the book. When we reach the tale of the crusade (if the reader manages to keep the interest up for that long) we are led on an intriguing journey in the mythological world of medieval Europe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    “Baudolino” is a fanciful and mythical novel by Umbe

    “Baudolino” is a fanciful and mythical novel by Umberto Eco, set in the twelfth century Europe and the Near East. Eco, best known for his masterwork “The Name of the Rose,” returns with “Baudolino” to the theme medieval Europe, albeit of somewhat earlier date. The eponymous protagonist of this novel finds himself adopted by an accident by the Holy Roman Emperor Frederick I, which sets him on the path of high adventure. During Baudolino’s years of study in Paris, he befriends a motely crew of thinkers, poets, and adventurers, and with their help conjures a plan to discover the land of mythical Prester John, who supposedly lives somewhere far in the East. Most of the second half of the novel concerns the journey of Baudolino and his companions. Most of the stories in here are told from the Baudolino’s perspective, as he narrates them to Niketas Choniates, a famous twelfth century Byzantine historian, whose life he had saved during the sacking of Constantinople.

    Frederick I and Niketas Choniates are just a couple of actual historical characters who appear in “Baudolino” under very unusual and highly fabricated circumstances. Eco knows his history very well, and is able to push the plausibility into the lacunae of our knowledge and fill them up with fanciful interconnected narrative. In the latter part of the book, though, he almost completely abandons any appeal to realism, and takes the reader on a wild ride through some of the most fantastic and imaginative scenes taken from the medieval myth and lore.

    Both readers and the literary critics have not in general been impressed by any of the Eco’s fictional works, with the notable exception of the “Name of the Rose.” That book had propelled Eco well into the stratosphere of modern literary celebrities, and he’s been able to capitalize on that reputation for the better part of the last three decades. Unfortunately, “Baudolino” does nothing to repair the generally low impression that Eco’s later novels had left. Despite the dazzling displays of erudition and mastery of medieval history and lore, the novel doesn’t have a sense of unified and coherent narrative. The characters are very colorful, but they lack the depth of emotion and are not very convincing as actual flash and blood individuals. It’s almost as if Eco had tried to develop every character around a particular idea. This can sometimes work in a short story, but in order for the reader to care about them over the course of a long novel, they needed to poses a lot more verisimilitude to the actual human beings.

    Parts of the novel are intended as a tongue-in-cheek criticism and lampooning of the medieval inter-Christian controversies and disputes. This in itself has some appeal, and it leads to some of the funnier situations and scenes in the book, but even here Eco manages to go overboard and overwork his points. Overall, “Baudolino” is an interesting exercise in adapting comedia dell’arte for the modern audience, but unfortunately it is too overwrought and overstylized for it to be either amusing or engrossingly thought provoking. It’s still an interesting enough novel, and if you are into the medieval history then you’ll find a lot of curious and fascinating material in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Worth sticking it out

    This isn't Eco's best work, but it's still very good. I noticed a lot of people give up before their even a quarter of the way through, but Eco rewards a stubborn reader. The second half of the book is really the best half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    Solo un poco entretenido

    No lo que esperaba

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2004

    A Regular Kick in the Pants

    Eco clearly enjoyed himself in writing this, and he's always sure to take advantage of his main character's (and sometime narrator's) habit of telling lies. The book is refreshingly challenging, and a fun read besides. If you don't like a good character driven story once in a while, you had probably better not read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Does not lead you anywhere

    Beware! This book is a novel about nothing. It is the fantastic hallucination of Ecco's, with a total absence of history, adventure, interesting dialogues, romance or anything else. ABSOLUTELY BORING!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Bored-O-Lino

    Definitely not my style. Made myself read the first 100 pages of this incredibly long book. Reminds me of things I had to read for college. Cure for insomnia.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Okay, a little long and boredolino

    All in all a good read. To those who know Italians from the north it is fun to read all those names. Umberto Eco wrote a fine piece here.I wonder how it would read if I could read Italian. I was charmed and put off by this spinner of yarns, and it made me think, how much hocum has passed for real history and how many lies have put upon us by political and religious leaders just to keep us 'believing?' What does the grail look like anyway? Does anyone know? Does it even matter? I got tired of the tale spinning and did't quite finish. But I think I may go back and do so.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Amazing

    Umberto Eco brilliantly tells an intriguing story set in the middle ages. He does a wonderful job of mixing history with fiction and the result of his work is this book which is truely a masterpiece, blending in the superstitions of the medieval period and myths of the mysterious Prester John. Eco weaves an enchantingly complex novel set with a rich setting that allows a classic to be born. READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    Wandering through history

    There is no doubt that this massively detailed history will be as popular as The Name of the Rose! What a goldmine for history buffs and fable readers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Great Read Though Tedious At Times

    Reading Eco is like listening to a good opera -- it is a sublime experience punctuated by embarrassing moments of slumber. Baudolino is standard Eco, a medieval period piece with the esoteric mingled with the swashbuckling. The underlying themes of truth and the sources of history give the book intellectual depth, as is common to all of Eco. Eco's only fault is his inclination to the multi-sentence listing (influence of Homer?) of things that do not serve the story, and his overambitious monologues/dialogues -- both of which slow down the pace of his stories a bit much. But that's Eco's signature, his profund learning spills out on the pages of his novels. Read it, but don't be afraid to skip paragraphs that are superfluous to the plot. Four and one-half stars, really -- close to masterpiece but a bit too Apollonian for its own good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2002

    worth reading, but Eco has written better novels

    While this book is not yet available in the American market, I have read this book in a german translation (you would not think that this book is available on the German market more than one year before it comes out in the U.S.). I would have appreciated the book a lot and I would recommend it highly, if it was not for the last third of the story line. The book starts with a brillant story about the life of medieval emperor Friedrich and his servant/advisor Baudolino. The story is told by Baudolino, who himself influences world history more than emperor Barbarossa himself. After about two thirds of the story line, the story turns almost abruptly into a 'Fantasy Tale' a la Tolkien. I found this break rather irritating, but someone else might like it. Altogether, it is still a good book. It contains an exciting story and it will certainly pose a theological/philosophical challenge to many readers. Though, if you have not read it, you should read Eco's novel 'Name of the Rose' first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2