Customer Reviews for

The Bay At Midnight

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Terrific read!

    After reading Diane Chamberlain's Secret Life of Cee Cee Wilkes and Before the Storm, I backtracked to read her earlier novels. I was not disappointed! The Bay at Midnight is a terrific novel that included complex family relationships, as well as suspense. Diane's novels always seem to include surprises in the end. I highly recommend this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Extraordinary Novel!

    The Bay at Midnight was extraordinary, as each of Diane Chamberlain’s books are unique and different. A complex story of three generations of women, hidden family secrets, death, love, relationships, romance, and mystery. I enjoyed the lake cottage bungalow setting and appreciated the era, as I was born in the 50’s and in my teens in the 60’s -- reminiscent of past summer family vacations, teenage rebellion, segregation, young and forbidden love, and all the other fun things. Making you want to return to simpler times when we were 12 and 13 yrs old. (It is always funny to hear of hidden secrets even in generations of the 30s and 40s as were capable of the same mistakes; however, kept them very taboo, due to the times.)
    Loved the writing of first person, the teenage loves of next door lake neighbors for both generations, the relation between mother and daughters, sisters, and how Diane portrays them so eloquently, with her past expertise in social work as well as being a talented author – making for a five star novel! Pulled another 3am to finish!

    1962 was the year at the Jersey Shores for the setting of the main story which involved 3 sisters (daughters), mother and father, and grandparents at their summer bungalow and another family next door with two sons and a dad with a past connection to the mother. This was the setting for a night of horror with a murder of the oldest sister, cover ups, guilt, and the wrong person dying in prison and not until years later did the mystery start to unravel which changed the lives of all involved.

    Combine this with current day events of Julie’s struggle with her pregnant daughter, the strained relationship between Julie and her mother Maria, secrets of years past, and the reentering of her past next door neighbor and a new budding friendship and romance. Faced with questions, and guilt it is now time for courage as all these families have to revisit their past and gather courage to face the complex emotions which led to the one unexplained night at midnight on the bay. Looking forward to her new books for 2013 “The First Lie” (June) and “Necessary Lies” (Sept)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Whew, this was a great book! I was completely drawn in from the

    Whew, this was a great book! I was completely drawn in from the very first page. Diane Chamberlain is moving up the ranks as one of my favorite authors (my first was The Midwife’s Confesson). This is a book about a woman who writes paperback mystery novels and is confronted by the past. The summer that she was twelve, Julie’s sister Isabel was murdered. The story begins with a woman coming to tell her that the person who went to jail for Isabel’s murder was innocent.




    From there, the book goes back and forth from that summer of 1962 and present day and is told through the eyes of Julie, her younger sister (Lucy) and their mother (Maria). Of course, it’s complete with a love story and family secrets abound, which makes it impossible to put down.




    I give this one 5 stars. If it weren’t for that little bit of sleep I got, I would have read it in one sitting. I stayed up until 3 am and grabbed the book the second I woke up (and I completely ignored my husband all day, but he was glad that I found a book that really pulled me in, so it’s okay!).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Bay at Midnight

    Another winner by dc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    by far one of the best

    this book is by far one of the best summer reads ever published! this book creates a story of romance and mystery but keeps you completley enthralled by the details. Definitly one of my new favorites. READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    GREAT READ-KEEPS YOU GUESSING

    I love this book finished it within a week it keeps you guessing until the end.This is the first book i have read from diane & im looking forward to reading others from her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    What a misscarriage of justice this one is!

    Three generations of women are invoved here in uncovering the details of the death of the heroine's older sister years ago. It starts with a note addressed to the police which is duly turned over to authorities. After some time a note by the victim is discovered & turned over also. The really bad part is the 3rd note which is a confession ( years after someone else has been convicted of the murder and died in jail.)Does this on make it to the police? Heck NO! But, not to worry, Ms Chamberlain does tie up her story with a foolish, sappy ending. Put this one on your 'C' list of authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    ¿DDD¿ 'Diane Doesn¿t Disappoint!'

    She is SUCH a good writer! I can't wait to see what she is coming up with next. Every book is different - and every one just has these unexpected twists and turns that keep you up all night! The characters in this one are just wonderful. My favorite was Maria - the grandmother, 'though most of the story is told by her other daughter, Julie, a writer of mystery novels, who was 12 when her sister dies and feels responsible for her part in her sisters death. The story goes from present day back and forth to 1962 where Maria's daughter Izzy was murdered at the age of 17 at Bay Head Shores, in New Jersey - a place her family used to spend their summers. The story is told from the perspective of the members of two different families that lived next door to one another at the shore, as they remember what happened so long ago and how this incident affected all their lives. The case is reopened when a note left by a dying man (who was the victims boyfriend in 1962) indicates that the wrong man was prosecuted for the crime. There are a few other stories going on here, be prepared to stay up late. Diane flawlessly crafts her characters so you won't easily forget them once you've finished this. I read this in two days, I wanted to savor it a bit longer, but just could not put it down, like many others of her novels. Loved it and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2004

    Another Winner from Diane Chamberlain

    As always, Diane Chamberlain has written a book that¿s absolutely fabulous. She uses the memories of a mother and her two daughters of events in 1962 when the oldest sister died and encompasses it with a story from the present. This includes a relationship between the middle sister Julie (a mystery writer) and her daughter who just graduated high school, as well as a budding relationship with her old childhood playmate, Ethan. Ethan is the brother of Ned, the person Julie thinks is responsible for the death of her sister. Things heat up after Ethan finds a rather cryptic note from Ned written just before he died. As the story wraps up and long-hidden mysteries are revealed, Julie is able to learn from her mother¿s relationship with her sister about how not to make the same mistake with her own daughter. There's a little bit of something for everyone in this book -- a great mystery, stories of relationships between men and women, stories of relationships between mothers and daughters, of between sisters, and a story of loves lost and found. I really enjoyed this book a lot and hope that perhaps Chamberlain is going to write a story about the Bohemian youngest sister, Lucy, next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting amateur sleuth

    In Westfield, Abby Worley visits Julie Bauer explaining that her father Ethan was a childhood friend in Bay Head Shores, New Jersey before the tragedy that linked their families forever forty-one years ago. Julie remembers Ethan, but had a crush on his older brother Ned, who was her older sister Isabel¿s boyfriend. Abby further explains that her Uncle Ned recently died from cirrhosis after a lifetime of drinking to forget the homicide. He left behind a note for the Point Pleasant Police Department in which he insisted that the wrong person paid for Isabel¿s murder.--- Julie wants to ignore this revelation since the convicted killer George Lewis died in prison five years ago. However, she always felt that George was innocent. She knows that the murder colored her world to the point of overprotecting her seventeen years old daughter, Shannon, who now plans to move to her father¿s home having recently graduated from high school. Even her relationships with her mother and her younger sister are tainted by the trauma. Unable to resist, Julie begins making inquiries into what really happened over four decades ago that destroyed more than just a teenager.--- This is an exciting amateur sleuth family drama that stars a fabulous ensemble cast including deceased people. The story line switches first person accounts though Julie is the prime narrator. That provides insight into various characters, but also makes for difficulty in following the plot as three families are interwoven by the homicide. Still Diane Chamberlain provides a tense engaging thriller that her fans will appreciate, but to fully cherish the tale concentration is needed to keep track.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Bay at Midnight

    Decades after a young girl died, three generations of women are drawn into the consequences of that long ago night when questions about the murder resurface. Could the wrong man have paid for that crime? Told in alternating viewpoints and multi-layered flashbacks, the past is reconstructed as the women of today relive the events that lead to the killing. This style often makes for confusing and confounding reading, making what should have been an involving novel rather disjointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Complex characters, compelling drama

    I don't usually care for books written in first person, so I was surprised when I found myself completely absorbed in this story. I couldn't put it down. Like all of Chamberlain's books, this one has a complex plot and even more complex characters. My heart broke for the young Julie as she carried the burden of her sister's death with her into adulthood. Even though you kind of know what happened to her sister, the tension as you get to that part of the book is unbearable! Chamberlain's last few books have focused on mother-daughter relationships, and this one is no exception as the reader sees the same mistakes being made generation after generation. I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to read a multi-layered story with all too human characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1