Customer Reviews for

Bayou Moon (Edge Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(155)

4 Star

(91)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a powerful swamp romantic fantasy

    The Adrianglian Secret Service asks William Sandine the Changeling to stop Spider from possessing a weapon of mass destruction that will lead to war. Loathing his long time enemy, William agrees to go to the Bayous of Louisiana to challenge Spider and his insidious ring of operatives.

    When Spider abducts her parents, Cerise Mar becomes the clan chief. To save their property the Mire swamps of the Edge, Cerise visits the Broken. Returning to her home, Cerise and William meet. The outsider realizes she and her kin may be the tool to prevent Spider from achieving his nefarious scheme and perhaps ending his terrorism all together. However, William's biggest problem is his attraction to his hostess; a foreign feeling to the Changeling who belongs nowhere and to no one.

    This is a powerful swamp romantic fantasy starring a harassed heroine, a hermit hero, a vile villain and the mad Mar mob. The story line is fast-paced with a sort of Scottish historical Highlander feud feel to the Mire while the Spider weaves his web. However, the fun in this delightful tale is the return to Ilona Andrews's Weird world of the Edge (see On the Edge) where malls and magic converge.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ilona Andrews, you are my hero

    Hoping to basically fade into the woodwork living in working in the Broken (the non-magical world) for the last few years, William is startled when he is approached by an agent of the Hand - a group of spies who serve Adriaglian in the Weird - to once-and-for-all destroy the ruthless killer known as the Spider. Having dealt with the Spider before, William absolutely understands the importance of taking down the deranged killer for good. The Spider's trail leads William directly into the Mire - a portion of swampland that separates the Weird and the Broken called the Edge - and straight into the path of the warring Mar clan. At the head of her rag-tag family is Cerise Mar and she's currently only holding her rough and tumble family together by sheer determination. Cerise's parents were kidnapped and as the oldest and best-trained fighter, it's now up to her to make sure her fiercely proud family of Edgers can protect themselves. So even though she knows it's a bad idea to bring William into her family's conflict, she can immediately see him for the trained fighter he is and knows that he just might be the only chance her family gets.

    Thank heavens Ilona Andrews decided to return to the fascinating world of the Edge, this time with a story for William. William played a bit part in ON THE EDGE as Declan's shape-shifting army buddy and I just knew from the start that he'd be buckets more interesting than Mr. Perfect Declan could ever hope to be. For starters, William is a bit damaged. He's got these dark corners in his past and already is a bit behind emotionally due to his being born a changeling -- in this case a man who shifts into a wolf. But man, is he ever so likable. For the outset, it's obvious William's got himself on this tight leash -- he refuses to become the 'animal' so many people believe he is.

    And then that's not even going into how much I loved Cerise and her off-beat family. Their magical talents range from deadly flashing sword skills to limitless good luck which can only be tapped after a bet has been placed upon the outcome. And once again Ilona Andrews showcase their trademark wit in the character of Cerise. She's smart and tough and I immensely liked her. I could have spent much more time in the Mire with the Mars family but was still immensely pleased with what I got. Whereas ON THE EDGE often felt a little too formulaic and fluffy, BAYOU MOON has some grit and substance to it -- The Spider and all of the Hand's minions are some scary dudes -- plus it's hefty. 447 pages hefty people! I'm not one to complain about that sort of thing. All total, BAYOU MOON is a fabulous second novel with plenty of good things to recommend it. I for one am already waiting to see where Ilona Andrews will take us in the Edge next.

    Even if, once again, Ilona Andrews got shafted in the cover department. Admittedly, BAYOU MOON is light-years better than the artwork for ON THE EDGE, but this one would be greatly improved by the removal of the pensive floating head of William.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A story to cheer for

    Knowing the quality of Ilona's work I was very excited about this book and I wasn't dissapointed. There are so many books out there that seem to be the same story over and over again. Ilona manages to take urban fantasy (or in this case, what they have taken to calling "rustic" fantasy) and make it feel like something new and fresh. The world she creates is so different from anything else I have read and her characters are superb. They are well developed and real. The villians in this story were done very well and they are very distubring. They definatly gave me the creeps!

    The romance was also very well done, there are so many romance/fantasy books out there that seem to just be focused on the "girl meets boy, girl and boy have sex" and that gets old, REALLY fast. With Bayou Moon, you could actually take the romance and smex out of the book and you would still have a superb plot. The romance only serves to enhance the plot and the well written characters.

    In the end I was cheering for the characters, especially William, he was my favorite. I very highly recommend this book. Ilona's imagination will blow you and away and keep your attention the entire time.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bayou Moon

    I don't find it extremely necessary have read the first book in the series (On the Edge) prior to reading this book. This is the second "Edge" book, however, IMHO it can also function as a standalone. I really procrastinated when it came to reading this second installment. I wasn't overly impressed with Williams character from the first book and had my doubts that this installment could be any good. However, the author did a great job at delving into the sleek and edgy side of Williams character. At first I had a hard time getting into story. I was fearful that this book would consist purely of the romantic aspect but I could not have been more wrong. The story reeled me in slowly, as oppose to drawing me in right away. Once the story hooked me, I was completely immersed into it. I couldn't put this book down and at the odd times when I was forced to put this book down, I couldn't wait to pick it up again. I enjoyed this installment a bit more than the first book. One negative though, at times all the different zones between the different worlds were very confusing. Besides that issue, this story was darker with more action and mystery and I love that the heroine was as sharp and deadly as a razor. SF fans, even though this story takes place on two other worlds, with "The Broken" being the earth we know, I wouldn't necessarily called this a hybrid between dark urban fantasy and Sci-Fi. However, it is still a great and exciting read. I highly recommend this book to fellow dark urban fantasy fans, and look forward to the next book Fate's Edge due out in 2012.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    This book is a stand alone sequel to "On the Edge" set

    This book is a stand alone sequel to "On the Edge" set in the same world.  One should read it first to get the background of the Edge.  I am an Ilona Andrews fan and read all of their books.  
    I have been reading sci fi and fantasy since the late 50's so I have read a few books.  Bayou Moon is one of a few books I reread often.  This is a "can't put down" page turner from front to back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Great series

    I love Ilona's books. I was sad to see ghjs series end it was anew different and brilliant concept and story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    highly recommended

    i really liked this series. this book is well written and held my interest. i couldn't wait to find out what was going to happened next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Wonderful

    Amazing author and books! Highly recomend! I read them all and cant WAIT for more! Suspense, romance, violance and action all set in a modern world with the fantasy mixed in. Must read, origional love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Love both series by these authors!! The Edge series and Kate Dan

    Love both series by these authors!! The Edge series and Kate Daniels series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    PB/Rural Fantasy: I saw all the great reviews about book two an

    PB/Rural Fantasy: I saw all the great reviews about book two and book one was a page turner with new ideas. So, when the first 120 were more like a traveling novel with the two main characters deigning any interest they had in each other, I was confused. It really was more like a romance novel and I wondered if it was going to get any better.
    As soon as William and Cerise make it to The Mire and you really meet her nutty family, it got so much better.
    The plot was really interesting. In book one, you met Rose who lived in The Edge. The Mire is part of the Edge, the poorer whiter trash part. William from book one has a job to do and travels to the mucky, yucky Mire to find his nemesis.
    The beginning was too long and too romancey, but the next 3/4 of the book makes up for it. A good addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    !

    There goes another book i wont buy because harriet klausner ruined it by revealing everything. You will be reported to bn.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Recommend

    Great worldbuilding, good writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Mmmmmmm

    I thought this book was absolutely lovely. I enjoyed it very well. I didn't believe i would like it at first but then i really began to like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Another Excellent Read

    I have really enjoyed all of this author's books. She makes me laugh and I really enjoy that when I read. I especially like her paranormal Universe.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    excellent!

    Ilona Andrews floored me with the amazing characterization in this book. William was so complex! He is a changeling-both human and wolf. There are times when he acts and thinks like a human. However, with every strong emotion, the wolf comes out-maybe not physically, but mentally. Whenever this happens his thoughts go from normal and rational to "I want...." and "Must have....." Very primal. Cerise notices when he switches to wolf-mode. She can see it in his eyes, but she doesn't know that he is a changeling. Andrews juggles the two mind-frames very well. Changelings, in their fundamental nature, act on instinct, not thought. William always has to remind himself that he is also human and he cannot just take what he wants; he has to ask for it and be ready for rejection if it comes. This was very sad yet admirable. He really wanted to be with Cerise for most of the book. He always reminded himself that women didn't want him; he was a monster that could not be loved. William had to deal with a ton of inner conflict, besides the wolf/human one. He was always scared that once Cerise found out who he was, she wouldn't want him anymore. Before he can be with Cerise, he has to come to terms with his past and that it does not define him-his actions define him.
    I felt so bad for Cerise. After her parents are kidnapped she has to lead the family in a battle not only against their rival clan, but also Spider. Meanwhile, her younger sister is slowly going insane-thinking she is a monster who deserves to live in the woods. Because she is the new head, she has to hold her emotions in so that the family respects her. The only person she truly lets in is William. She trusts him, and loves him. Because he looks like a Blueblood, noble of the Weird, she calls him Lord Bill when she first meets him. Even though it was just used to mock at first, she continues to call him this as the story progresses. I love the nickname, its so cute. It has a teasing/flirty edge to it in the book.
    There were a lot of different elements mixed into Bayou Moon. First, there was a lot of gore, violence, and family feuding going on. The action is suspenseful and bloody. The fight scenes were depicted with a great attention to detail. I felt like I was in the middle of them. There were times when I was definitely shutting my eyes and muttering "ew." Second, there was romance. William and Cerise's relationship was intense. There were a lot of "almost" scenes. They were both obviously attracted to each other. Cerise even admits to her family that she loves him, but he can't take a hint. William is very straightforward and doesn't understand flirting. He also doesn't believe she wants him so he always pulls himself back when he wants to kiss her (or more). This leads to many tension filled scenes that had me screaming "Just kiss her already!"
    I liked On the Edge a bit better than Bayou Moon. Not too sure why, but Bayou Moon is still a great book. It's emotional, action-packed, and romantic. The other characters, besides William and Cerise, are for the most part three-dimensional. There were so many, I thought I'd get confused (especially within Cerise's big family) but Ilona Andrews did such a great job writing them, that it never was the case. Rose, Declan, and the boys from On the Edge appear briefly at the end-which was nice. All in all, I thought Ilona Andrews crafted an excellent book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    A must read!

    It's official: Bayou Moon is one of my favorite reads this year!

    I have a confession to make. Sometimes when I read UF, I'm not always able to follow along with all the plot specifics. I get characters or their motivation confused, especially if there are similar names or the plot is too complicated. This book was beautifully penned - I feel like Bayou Moon was written specifically for me. The characters and settings were wonderfully and descriptively composed, I could see each character in my mind's eye as I read the book. The plot moved along at a quick pace, but I was able to follow and understand what they were doing and why. I liked the way one thing led to another but it made sense and didn't jump all over the place.

    Cerise is a fabulous heroine - she's strong and compassionate. Family oriented. Smart. All the things I look for in a heroine. While I liked her from the get-go, it was near the end that I just sat back and thought, "Thank you, Ms. Andrews, for writing such an amazing heroine." Let's just say she's a woman of her word and doesn't run from anything.

    William, *sighs* oh William, I heart you so much! I really liked William in The Edge (my review here), and was glad he was getting his own book. He's definitely a broken hero: he's feeling sorry for himself since Rose left with Declan, combine that with his horrible childhood and he has a very low perception of himself, except where his fighting skills are concerned. He's attracted to Cerise, not exactly at first sight, but when it happens - BAM!

    Strangely enough, the thing that did it for me regarding William was not related to Cerise at all. I'm not giving away spoilers, but it was his actions on pages 247-249 that did me in. Of course, when you add that to the overall hotness of his character and the way he understands and interacts with Cerise....book boyfriend status was inevitable. The back and forth between Cerise and William was riveting (and humerous) - especially when Cerise's family stepped in to "help".

    I know I'm gushing about the awesomeness of the hero/heroine, which is important, but the secondary characters were great too - I liked Cerise's family. They were a very eclectic group and had their own weird ways of showing their love and support for Cerise.

    Now, on to the bad guys - they're bad. They're pretty gross, actually. They've got all this extra "stuff" that makes them almost impossible to defeat. Luckily William has a history that involves knowledge of their "extras" and how to deal with them.

    Bayou Moon is the second book in the series, but can be read as a stand-alone. I think Ms. Andrews gives enough background at the beginning of the story that you would have no trouble jumping right in. Bayou Moon should go straight from your bookstore to "Now Reading", let it skip the TBR pile, you won't be sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I bought this book.

    I admit I was a little sad when I read the blurb on the back of this book and I realized it wasn't a direct sequel to the first Edge book, On the Edge. But Andrews is one of my auto-buys so I snatched it up on release day nonetheless. Am I glad I did.

    William is a changeling, reviled and abused by the fae-ish bluebloods from the magical Siamese sister to our world called the Weird. After playing a secondary role in the first book William, crushed at the loss of Rose to his friend Declan, hides out in the non-magical "real" world, the Broken. Between the Weird and the Broken is the Edge, where the descendents of exiled, abandoned or escaped Weird families now live.

    Tempted by one more job from his military background, and a chance to kill a long time mortal enemy who's know for slaughtering changelings, especially children, on principle, William ventures back into the Edge. The Mire is a swamp that's not just filled with Edgers trying to survive, but also with exiles from the Weird who are too strong magically to survive the crossing to the Broken. In the Mire William stumbles right into an old blood feud between two swamp-folk families that makes the Hatfields and the McCoys look like a squabble. One side has just teamed up with William's enemies and the other...is headed by the brilliant, beautiful and deadly Cerise.

    Cerise has been the head of her family for only a few days, since her parents disappeared, the first act in the flaring of an old blood feud that she'd rather move past. In fact, she'd like to move past the swamp, being poor and having to deal with the deadly (and crazy) blueblood she found in the swamp, but to do so she'd have to abandon her family, an act that would make them targets for the stronger land owners in the Mire.

    Bayou Moon is a thick book, pushing 500 pages. But it's a solid filled read, with tons to catch a reader's interest. The hot-blooded romance is tempered (a lot) by wicked fight scenes, more enemies than you can count and a surprising almost-science fiction twist. Its a fast ride, compelling with a pitch perfect take on non-human characters and a plethora of truly imaginative fantasy elements. Humor, attitude, action and some really sexy leads, Bayou Moon is an awesome addition to the urban fantasy (rural fantasy? Swamp fantasy?) genre and a great place to start for readers wanting to know what all the buzz is about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    Officially reviewed for The Romance Reviews

    The world of The Edge is an interesting one. Modern-day life is juxtaposed with an almost wild-west setting and also with a more traditional fantasy setting. The Broken is mundane earth - technology rules and there is no magic. Then there is The Weird - full of magic and shape shifters and mystical creatures. Sandwiched between is a sort of buffer zone - The Edge. People who live in The Edge have some magic, but not enough to keep them from entering The Broken. They forge a life for themselves much as did our pioneer ancestors.

    The setting of Bayou Moon intrigued me from the beginning. Being a Louisiana girl, I appreciated the swamp setting and I knew exactly what she meant when she said it had an almost primeval beauty. Something I've liked about both Edge books is the almost "old world" setting - if you back-stab an Edger or renege on a deal they aren't likely to call the law, but might shoot you, instead. It just seems like a simpler world, in some ways - even though a more dangerous one.

    The hero of Bayou Moon is William Wolf. William is a changeling - a lot of his thought processes aren't like a "typical" man's. Well, maybe they are... he does tend to be pretty straight-forward. Regarding his feelings toward Cerise, the heroine, he's just adorable. Cerise, on the other hand, is tough, a great fighter, and every bit a match for William though she does need to work on trust issues.

    The over-arching story is one of betrayal and revenge. Another Mire family, the Sheeriles, has sold out Cerise's parents to agents of The Hand from Louisiana (a territory in the Weird, not the state) and is planning on annihilating her family. Not only does Cerise have to worry about putting an end to a generations-long feud with the Sheeriles, but she's also got to rescue her parents from the ruthless Hand. The clock is ticking.

    Andrews does a great job of mixing action, danger, humor and romance in this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it. As a note, I think it's possible to enjoy Bayou Moon even if you haven't read On the Edge (Book 1), although as part of a series reading the previous books always adds to the experience. I originally thought these books were going to be Urban Fantasy similar to the Kate Daniels / Mercy Thompson books, but it looks like they are going to fall into the Paranormal Romance category since it seems like we'll be getting a new Hero / heroine in each installment. I have no problem with that, personally, and would recommend this book to any fan of Paranormal Romance or an Urban Fantasy fan who doesn't mind a bit of romance in the mix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    another great read from the Andrews team

    Bayou Moon

    Ilona Andrews

    ******

    Look at the cover.....when the author's name is as big as the title, if not bigger, then I think it means that the publishers are pretty sure that name recognition is pretty good here....people are going to be looking for the name of the author as much as they're going to be browsing for books. I think - it's not like any publishers have come to me to explain this, maybe I'm just making things up. maybe I'm just guessing...but I'm also speaking for book-buying experience. Unfortunately, I think this also means that it's just a matter of time before we start seeing Ilona Andrews' books come out in hardback....you know, as soon as an author gets popular, we have to (don't HAVE TO, unless you want to read the books before the spoilers are all out) buy hardbacks. Which is one of those bittersweet things about authors you love to read getting popular. I don't mean to sound petulant or bitter, but as a long term book buyer - I know what's coming.... Happy for the authors, but sad for my pocketbook.

    I like the cover - the swampy background - the sword.... the dark hair and different looks to the woman on the cover. They guy is kind of blond (The darker the better for my tastes), but he looks okay. Like the long hair. Wild.

    The Book - What can I say? Thoroughly enjoyed the book. There was just the right amount of wildness in the characters. Just the right amount of crazy. Just the right amount of steamy....(normally, I can do without the steamy, but Gordon and Ilona do a good job of not going overboard, and yet getting the point across that two characters are pretty hot and bothered for each other...) Bayou Moon is set in the swampy area of The Edge, and features a character from the novel The Edge. William is a changeling that has been living in the Edge, ever since the events in the novel (previous novel featuring Rose and Declan). He's approached by the special ops of the Weird's citizens to help capture...or rather KILL an operative of the opposing country in The Weird. If you've read The Edge, you know a bit of the background, if you haven't then you'll learn a bit when you read Bayou Moon. William travels to find and kill this operative (Spider) and has a run in with Cerise Mars...

    ...and later her crazy family. I LOVE her crazy family. I love the way they are brought to life by Ilona Andrews. The dialogue, the narration, the different points of view....all blends so well together that there is not one boring or "down-time moment" in this novel. I love the edgy, dark personalities of Cerise, her family members, and William. There's a scene set in the town that just gives a glimpse of the different ways of the Edge families.

    I also love the different animals that are described in both Bayou Moon and The Edge (the book). There are some seriously strange animals and wildlife in this series. Plants also - there are some crazy plants that come into play throughout this series.

    William finds that his mission and Cerise's family issues have a lot in common. Cerise, with her crazed clannish family is the perfect fit for William, which brings us a dark and mildly twisted romance - the best kind of romance to have. (lol). Part of the courtship of Cerise and William is swordplay - real swords.

    As with their other novels, Gordon and Ilona Andrews gift us with entertaining narration, great dialogue, twisted plots and some great fight/action scenes. They can also write very good &quo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Action, romance, humor, complex worldbuilding--a must-read for urban fantasy fans!

    William's life is one giant void. He's left the Weird (the magical world where he's been a soldier, an outcast, and a noble, but mostly a feared and hated wolf changeling), he's working in the Broken (the mundane world of Wal-Mart and McDonalds), and living in the Edge (the half-magic borderland between the two places), but no matter where he is in the worlds, he's 100% alone. And though solitude is William's default state, he's not a loner by nature. He'd love to have friends and a family, but he knows that they aren't meant for people like him because in the Weird, he was treated like scum and raised in a brain-washing military facility, like all changeling children in the dukedom of Adrianglia. No matter how amazing a warrior William is, he maintains a hearty dose of self-loathing; he doesn't actually hate himself, but he doesn't believe he's worthy of any of the good things in life. So he sits at his home in the Edge with only his flat screen TV and his horde of collectible action figures to keep him company, until agents of Adrianglia's secret service come to recruit him to hunt down the baddest of all bad dudes: Spider, the leader of the assassins and spies of Louisiana's Hand, who is, among other atrocities, a child murderer. At last William has a purpose to drive him.

    Cerise's life is one giant mishap. She lives in the Mire, the swampy part of the Edge between regular Louisiana and Weird Louisiana, and the property values are at an all-time low. The Weird dumps its criminals and exiles into her neighborhood, a decades-old feud between her family, the Mars, and the Sheeriles has flared to life again, and her parents have been kidnapped by the Hand, leaving her to lead the 50+ members of her family. The Mar money has dried up, and because of their poverty, toughness, and abundant numbers, the other Edgers refer to them as the Rats, to the point that their huge family residence is called the Rathole. Their life is stagnant, with no hope of advancement, and Cerise doesn't mind stealing to keep the kids fed and warm. If her family weren't too magical to survive the transition to the Broken, she would move them all in a heartbeat, but it seems that they're all irrevocably bound to feuding, scrounging and scraping out a life in the Mire. But then she finds herself on a days-long trek through the swamp with a steely-eyed blueblood from the Weird. His name is William, and they may need each other temporarily, to navigate the Mire and oppose the Hand, but there's no way she can trust him. Or is there? Perhaps something good is finally happening to Cerise, even as her world is crashing down.

    I've heard this series called rustic fantasy and romantic urban fantasy, and Bayou Moon fits both terms and more. The great mix of technology and magic is definitely UF, but the swords and monsters add a high fantasy flair. Certain important inventions could easily be found in science fiction, there are some Southern Gothic elements, and the story's so ominous in some places it has a definite H.P. Lovecraft feel to it and could qualify as dark fantasy. Whatever it is, it's tremendous. It's an ambitious longer book with a more epic scope than the previous volume, but every page has a payoff and the journey is in every way worth the time spent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 272 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14