Customer Reviews for

Be Careful What You Pray For (Reverend Curtis Black Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    Kimberly is an awesome writer. Everyone of her books I'ver read has been awesome. Once I start reading them, I can't put them down. "Be Careful What You Pray For", once you read the book, the title stands for itself. Go head Kimberly I app

    Kimberly is an awesome writer. Everyone of her books I've ever read has been awesome. Once I start reading them, I can't put them down. "Be Careful What You Pray For", once you read the book, the title stands for itself. Go head Kimberly, I applaud you for keeping the story coming on Curtis & Alicia, book after book, story after story. After reading the books, me & my girlfrieds always discuss the books & then we're wondering what's going to be next. Thanks for your writings.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Rev. Curtis Black family is "Off the Chain!"

    This is a very quick read! Once I started I could not put it down. I can not wait to see what the Curtis Black Family will be doing next.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    GREAT read . Such a fabulous page turner. read it in two days. Completely in love with this author's work. I've read every book she's written

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    Kimberla Lawson Roby has done it again...................

    I read this book in 2 days, and that's with a full and part-time job. I just couldn't put it down. Once again Alicia get caught up in materials things. She's always look for what a man can do for her, however if she had of listen to her father, she wouldn't had to go through what she went through. She thought she had a good husband, and she also thought she Carmen was a friend. I highly recommend this book, and for first time readers of Mrs. Roby, you need to start with Casting The First Stone.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Thia This book kept me on my toes.

    I thought Rev. Curtis Black was a schemer but Pastor J.T. Valentine takes scheming to a whole new level. This book was a page turner to the very end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    GREAT BOOK MUST READ

    I READ THIS BOOK IN ONE DAY I JUST COUL NOT PUT IT DOWN I WANTED TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT
    GREAT WORK!!!







    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    A must have

    Excellent reading!!! Hard to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    great read!!!!

    I could not put this book down! Finished it in three days!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    Pimping Ain't EZ

    Hat's OFF to another GREAT READ!!! I was honestly thinking like Hmmm.. how could this same story from what 10+ years still be so interesting.. that is before I started reading it.. Well Some have it, and some don't. Mrs. LAWSON ROBY, has been Blessed with that skill to keep a great series interesting and GREAT afterall this time. I LOVED this one more even than I had thought I would.. again GREAT READ!!! Can't wait to see what happens NEXT.. I'm sure this ain't OVER :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    Absolutely the best!!!!!!

    I truly enjoyed this book it was definitely a page turner. Alicia has matured alot compared to book #7. JT Valentine was a very arrogant man and truly only cared about himself. Kimberla, you did excellent job. Looking forward to book #8 .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Remember, Be Careful What You Pray For

    This title is not just a catchy phrase. It is oh such a true statement. I advise women to read this before considering marrying someone you don't really know.

    Reverend JT Valentine was the love of Alicia's life. Despite her father's warnings, she just had to marry him.

    Alicia, with the help of her dad gets her first book published. The book was to profit her, but guess who had a plan to deviate the fame?

    A preacher holds a very high position. You must also know that Preachers are human beings. They may not be living what they are preaching. You as the parishioner, the wife to be needs to know how to PRAY for the right thing.

    Alicia is the daughter of a Preacher. She has seen her father, the Reverend Curtis black in more scandalous affairs that she would care to admit. One almost cost him his life, and one that cost him his marriage to Alicia's mother.

    After her first failed marriage, she just knew that she had found Mr. Right or should I say Reverend Right?

    But little did he know, he was married to the Reverend Curtis Black's daughter. If you knew Pastor Curtis Black, you knew that Alicia is "his baby girl."

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Kimberly does it again!

    Another great book in the Curtis Black series! I would have thought by now I would tire of sequels; they are usually horrible after the second or third! However, Mrs Roby never runs out of steam. Each sequel is better than the last and I look forward to her most recent one which I just downloaded on my Nook! Kudos Mrs Roby on a phenomenal job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Excellant Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Although it is a fictional book, these things happen in real life. Therefore we must pray for our leaders everywhere and for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Excellent Read!

    This book was absolutely wonderful. I enjoyed every minute and even found myself taking my lunch break to finish up a few chapters; as opposed to eating lunch (smile). Although some of the scenes seemed a bit unrealistic, it still had me anticipating what would happen next. I can appreciate a great read such as this. Great Job Kimberla!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I prayed for a good book and I got it!

    If I didn't have to work and take care of daily life things, I could have read this book in one sitting,instead I read it in 3 days.I have read 3 other ROBY books as well and I loved them all. This was a great page turner from the first page to the last, EVEN ON MY NOOK. Yes, the cheating husband's behavior was mostly predicitable, but over the top entertaining. Readers if you haven't met an arognant man, meet Pastor JT Valentine, because he is the face of it.

    I was proud of Alicia, because she matured from the last novel and made good choices throughout; and the choices seemed realistic. I was surprised that ROBY did not include any details in any of the sex scenes (dissapointed)... I like a couple here and there.

    The twist with Levi coming back into the picture was suspensful and at the end it left you thinking is there going to be a sequal. The story moves very FAST. If you miss a page you've missed a lot.

    ROBY did a fantastic job with plot, character develpoment, and parts that made you think long after. The description details of the scenes were excellent; especially the: mansions, hospital rooms, and cars/clothes. This gave a detailed picture in your mind. Also the character dialog was very real and easy to follow. ROBY did well going back and forth between character talk, and explanantion from the authors point of view.

    This was a great 262 page sequal to The Best of Everthing. It made me want to read another ROBY book. I also loved the dedication and acknowledgement page... ROBY is so thoughtful!

    This novel is not too long, and full of twists and turns especially in the drama department. Each one of his mistresses were crazy and true risk takers. It was interesting how each one was a different age: a 55 year old cougar, a 23 year old college student, and a 34 year old middle aged wife... JT got just what he deserved and I hope Alicia and Phillip re-marry because real true love is hard to find.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Be Careful What You Pray For

    Kimberla has done it again!!! I love the Rev. Curtis Black series!!! Keep them coming.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    ya girl antwonette`

    yes i am a person that loves reading and i am a big fan of roby.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3