Customer Reviews for

Be Different: My Adventures with Asperger's and My Advice for Fellow Aspergians, Misfits, Families, and Teachers

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ!!!

"I believe those of us with Asperger's are here for a reason, and we have much to offer. This book will help you bring out those gifts." John Elder Robison I couldn't agree more. John Elder Robison has shared one of his many gifts with us by writing the invaluable guide...
"I believe those of us with Asperger's are here for a reason, and we have much to offer. This book will help you bring out those gifts." John Elder Robison I couldn't agree more. John Elder Robison has shared one of his many gifts with us by writing the invaluable guide Be Different. Using stories from his own life, both humorous and poignant, John Robison provides us with a rare glimpse into the Aspergian mind. With a great deal of self-reflection and insight, he explains his own behaviors and his reasons for adapting those he felt were obstacles to being accepted. His message, however, is not to change whom you are in order to be like others. Instead, he advises those with Asperger's and others who think differently to embrace their differences and the unique gifts that they bring. By focusing on ability and not disability, and using one's strengths to help compensate for weaknesses, individuals who previously found themselves struggling in the world of nypicals (Robison's word for neurotypicals) can find success and happiness. Be Different reminds us that difference does not have to be synonymous with disability. This is one of the best books I've ever read, not only on the topic of Asperger Syndrome, but in general. I highly recommend this book and the author's first book, Look Me in the Eye, for practical advice, inspiration and hope.

posted by LoriShery on April 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It was good

I read this book because my husband was diagnosed with Asperger's. The book was good, but I wish there was more information on his home life. What happened with his wife, etc. That would have madr it more valuable to me. Other than that, I found it interesting.

posted by Rainsga on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!

    "I believe those of us with Asperger's are here for a reason, and we have much to offer. This book will help you bring out those gifts." John Elder Robison I couldn't agree more. John Elder Robison has shared one of his many gifts with us by writing the invaluable guide Be Different. Using stories from his own life, both humorous and poignant, John Robison provides us with a rare glimpse into the Aspergian mind. With a great deal of self-reflection and insight, he explains his own behaviors and his reasons for adapting those he felt were obstacles to being accepted. His message, however, is not to change whom you are in order to be like others. Instead, he advises those with Asperger's and others who think differently to embrace their differences and the unique gifts that they bring. By focusing on ability and not disability, and using one's strengths to help compensate for weaknesses, individuals who previously found themselves struggling in the world of nypicals (Robison's word for neurotypicals) can find success and happiness. Be Different reminds us that difference does not have to be synonymous with disability. This is one of the best books I've ever read, not only on the topic of Asperger Syndrome, but in general. I highly recommend this book and the author's first book, Look Me in the Eye, for practical advice, inspiration and hope.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    This is an absolute MUST READ! Anyone who has Asperger's/Autism

    This is an absolute MUST READ! Anyone who has Asperger's/Autism or knows someone on the spectrum will benefit from this humorous insight into the Aspie mind. Mr. Robison uses some very personal stories to demonstrate how each of the "behaviors" associated with Autism, can be helped with some good old fashioned "manners". These methods will help the Aspie or Autistic person to navigate the "crazy" world of nypicals.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Amazing!

    I have a 11 year old son diagnosed with PDD-NOS both "look me in the eyes" and "be different" are incredible reads that help you see the world through the eyes of an autistic child/adult. "Be different" is very inspirational and a must read for any parent/teacher that has a child with autism!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I found the book very insightful. I have a granddaughter
    with Aspergers so am always looking for articles and
    books that will help me to understand her better.
    This is one of the better books I have read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    This Is a Great Book- Read It!

    John Elder Robison deftly writes about his experiences on the autism spectrum, specifically, growing up with Asperger's Syndrome and not realizing it. This book is affirming if you have Asperger's, because Robison several times points out the advantages. Yet he also acknowledges the weaknesses, and offers advice on how to combat them. I would recommend this book to anyone who has Asperger's or who suspects he/she does, and for family members and teachers of people with AS.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    Superior insight into the life and times of a gifted Aspergian!

    Having read John's first book, it was with great anticipation that I waited for the release date for "be different". The suspense and anticipation were well worth it as this is yet again such a witty and informative book, written by a wonderful author who is an enthralling storyteller. The fact that it is about a person who just happens to be on the Autism Spectrum is secondary to the fine gift he has given us in this second installment of his life's journey. Can't wait for the third edition....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    An inspiration

    With aspergers I just did not get it and though most read it to understand aspergarians ,but I read it to get what other people think and how to help fix my lack of social understanding so if as an aspergarian you hink you can go on on your own good luck but I will be fine and finnal understand jpkes as jokes not jerks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Absolutely Fabulous !!!

    My daughter and grandson Jacob saw John at a book signing in Milwaukee and had him sign a book for me, Jacob (13) has Aspergers and I thought it would be great to get jacob a book too. After I started reading it and realized he needed to know what John was going thru at his age. Jaime bought a book for her nook, and they read a chapter every day and I asked him how he liked it and he said " It's good Meme "

    So, this is a great book for Teens and adults..

    April Captain

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Finally

    Practical and not clinical insight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    be different

    This ebook was a great story of an adult with altism. he found out when he was an adult. What he accomplished because of it. I would recommend especially for parents who have children who don't make friends socially.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1