Customer Reviews for

Be Honest--You're Not That into Him Either: Raise Your Standards and Reach for the Love You Deserve

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    A must-Read!

    Very informative, witty, provacative look into the world of dating. With very useful and helpful information and insight. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    Be Honest--You're Not That Into Him Either: Raise Your Standards and Reach for the Love You Deserve

    start thinking about what's happening in yours. I was an early adopter of Kerner's first book, She Comes First, and I had no problem giving it to my boyfriend and getting better satisfaction. That was then, this is now...I'm single and bummed and Kerner's book was just what I needed to hit the spot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Should have been included in my master's degree work

    Excellent & practical advice I wish my Marriage & Family Therapy degree covered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2006

    Worse than less than helpful

    This book was less than helpful is an understatement. Trying to go off his popular He's not that into you fame, which was only guided because of Oprah and it was featured in Sex and the City (and most of us men and I am a professional reviewer don't think that way). This book takes what a man knows of a woman, which is nothing and tries to make it sound like he's a famed psychologist. Terrible book. Don't waste your time or money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    amazed at the negative reviews

    I thought this book was extremely worth my time. I could not recommend this book more to all of my friends as a reminder of how we have to stop lowering our standards hoping that one day all the frogs you are dating will turn into a prince. I picked up this book at barnes and noble and couldn't put it down. I'm not that into 'self help' books, but if you are feeling heartbroken or wondering why guys don't return your phone calls then READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    A good reminder...

    Not as good as some books on dating and romance by far, but what it does do is very simple...it reminds you to value yourself and what you're looking for. It's not telling you anything you don't already know deep down (ala you just weren't into hime either!) but it's a friendly kick in the butt to ask you why you're still hanging around hoping he'll 'get into you' knowing you don't even really want him permanently. I needed that reminder so I appreciated this book and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2005

    An Opportunity without Depth

    I found this book to be less then helpful. After reading 'He's just not that into you', this book had no answers, reasons, nor valuable models of examples to go by. I found the book to be drawn out like a bad movie never getting to the point. There was a lot of mumble jumble in words and subject matter yet no truth or final resolution. In other words a lot of beating around the bush writing in essay format that keep dragging out with no conclusion or final outlook. I feel this book was a bad play on a popular book to get in the game, but not even close to being what it could have been if the author had only taken the time instead of throwing it out to get it sold on the name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Excellent Advice!!!

    Finally, a book that empowers me and reminds me that I don't need to settle for less. Ladies, please read this book! We all need to realize how special we are. If a man makes you feel bad about yourself, then get rid of him. No man should ever dictate your happiness, and this book helps you to remember that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    The Single Girls Bible!

    This was one of the best books I have ever read! I just couldn¿t put it down, in fact I read it three times back to back and still keep it on my night stand table for quick reference and encouragement. Let¿s face it girls, dating and casual relationships can be a lot of fun but, you must know what you¿re doing to be able to navigate through it all to remain healthy and optimistic. Ian really puts it in modern and realistic terms so you can obtain what you deserve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    He's not into you, you're not into him, so who's into who?

    It's obvious this was a takeoff on the other book which had advice plus humor. This is the advice without the funny. It's all okay, just not spectacular. If you like Self-Help books, it works... but chick lit is more fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2005

    I heart this book

    Brilliant! I feel like Dr. Kerner has been secretly following me around my whole life--I recognized so much of myself in this insightful book! Well-written and funny, it's like a best friend staging an intervention to my loser-magnet antics. More than anything, I appreciate this book for inspiring me and giving me new hope. A reformed self-help book junkie, this book was worth falling-off-the-wagon for. Recommended reading for every woman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    Be Honest--You're Not That Into Him Either: Raise Your Standards and Reach for the Love You Deserve

    It helped me gain perspective and the author's tone was very honest and conversational and unpretentious. The book is very helpful who want to be in ongoing committed relationships and are tired of just hooking up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    reinforces social and sexual stereotypes

    I don't 'feel pressure' to enjoy sexual pursuits as the author states -- I do so because I am truly liberated. I see the value of a trusting devoted relationship but I am not driven by some deep biological imperative. This is the same old stuff that used to limit women in the past. Sure, if you want a traditional relationship, this will be helpful, but not all women WANT that. I wish someone would actually write a book about how some women TRULY want their freedom. Ugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    picking myself up off the floor

    The first book only said one thing: tough luck, he's not into you. It didn't even attempt to offer any practical advice, it just kept saying over and over and over HE'S NOT INTO YOU until I wanted to hide under a rock, i just felt so beaten up. i get it, i get, he's not into me. that's the easy part. the hard part is figuring out why and what to do about it, and while this book only touches on many of the issues, it at least attempts to offer guidance and advice in a practical way. After being punched over and over again in the gut by He's Just Not That Into You, this book helped me get up off the floow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1