Customer Reviews for

Be with Me: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic... What I Loved: I

Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic...

What I Loved: I was really excited to read this and I didn't think it was possible to love any New Adult book guy more than Cam Hamilton from WAIT FOR YOU (I have a cupcake named after him for cookies' sake), but J. Lynn h...
Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic...

What I Loved: I was really excited to read this and I didn't think it was possible to love any New Adult book guy more than Cam Hamilton from WAIT FOR YOU (I have a cupcake named after him for cookies' sake), but J. Lynn has done it again! Jase Winstead had me at cupcake. ;)

Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic, Be With Me is a story of love, loss, and discovering that some of life's biggest blessings come from our darkest moments.

Complex and completely relateable, Tess and Jase are characters doing their best to navigate through some tough issues while figuring out how they fit into each others lives. Tess has already been through so much by the time she gets to college and putting her painful past behind her isn't as easy as she thought it would be. Neither is facing a future that looks different than she imagined.

Jase on the other hand, is so used to doing what's best for everyone else that he may lose the one thing he needs most if he can't figure out how to forgive himself for his own mistakes. They find comfort in each other as well as those little pink boxes of confectionery perfection, but it may not be enough, especially when things take a turn for the dangerous and whatever time they have together could be cut short.

I liked that Tess didn't let Jase get away with much and that she didn't give up on him when he was being stupid. While I understood where Jase was coming from, there were still moments when I wanted to shake some sense into him. However, he did have a way of redeeming himself with those little pink boxes.

Fans of Cam and Avery will be happy to know that they make an appearance too.

What Left Me Wanting More: Nothing. Although, I did wish I had a cupcake on hand while reading. ;)

Final Verdict: A sweet addition to the Wait For You series!

On a personal note: Thank you J. Lynn for featuring my cupcakes and making me a fictional character. I owe you a lifetime supply of chocolate peanut butter cupcakes! ;D

posted by Cupcakegirly on February 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Eh...

Just finished it. I felt like I kept reading hoping it would get better and it just got worse, and then it was over. Dont get me wrong I liked Jase and Teresa, they worked well together....it was the story that I didnt like. It read like a cheesy afterschool special at ...
Just finished it. I felt like I kept reading hoping it would get better and it just got worse, and then it was over. Dont get me wrong I liked Jase and Teresa, they worked well together....it was the story that I didnt like. It read like a cheesy afterschool special at times. Jase's "twists" in his backstory were very predictible, and her side drama was stupid and unecessary. I liked the first book a lot, and with this book she added too much into it, so much where you just roll your eyes with every new drama thats added. Im not sure if ill read another in this series.

posted by 10574985 on February 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic... What I Loved: I

    Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic...

    What I Loved: I was really excited to read this and I didn't think it was possible to love any New Adult book guy more than Cam Hamilton from WAIT FOR YOU (I have a cupcake named after him for cookies' sake), but J. Lynn has done it again! Jase Winstead had me at cupcake. ;)

    Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic, Be With Me is a story of love, loss, and discovering that some of life's biggest blessings come from our darkest moments.

    Complex and completely relateable, Tess and Jase are characters doing their best to navigate through some tough issues while figuring out how they fit into each others lives. Tess has already been through so much by the time she gets to college and putting her painful past behind her isn't as easy as she thought it would be. Neither is facing a future that looks different than she imagined.

    Jase on the other hand, is so used to doing what's best for everyone else that he may lose the one thing he needs most if he can't figure out how to forgive himself for his own mistakes. They find comfort in each other as well as those little pink boxes of confectionery perfection, but it may not be enough, especially when things take a turn for the dangerous and whatever time they have together could be cut short.

    I liked that Tess didn't let Jase get away with much and that she didn't give up on him when he was being stupid. While I understood where Jase was coming from, there were still moments when I wanted to shake some sense into him. However, he did have a way of redeeming himself with those little pink boxes.

    Fans of Cam and Avery will be happy to know that they make an appearance too.

    What Left Me Wanting More: Nothing. Although, I did wish I had a cupcake on hand while reading. ;)

    Final Verdict: A sweet addition to the Wait For You series!

    On a personal note: Thank you J. Lynn for featuring my cupcakes and making me a fictional character. I owe you a lifetime supply of chocolate peanut butter cupcakes! ;D

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I loved enjoyed this book, Jase and Theresa are such awesome cha

    I loved enjoyed this book, Jase and Theresa are such awesome characters and you really become emotionally invested in them so that you can't possibly stop reading until you've found out what's going to happen with them. As always Jennifer's writing style was just superb and it pulls you in right from the start and leaves you wanting for more. Whenever I finish a JLA book I want another one. I want to go back and re-read every single one of them again because her writing and her characters are so incredible you just want to go back on their journey's all over again.




    The issues addressed in this book are not light, they're heart-wrenching, gritty and raw but they're handled with so much care and in such a realistic way that it's neither depressing nor offensive. There are plenty of laughs, kisses and heart-racing swoons but above all, there is hope. Hope that what happens in the past, whether by choice or not, does not define who you become unless you allow it to.Hope that finding true love is possible. Hope that you will grow from the lessons that life has thrown you. You will not regret reading "Be With Me"

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    So I basically love any book that Jennifer Armentrout AKA J Lynn

    So I basically love any book that Jennifer Armentrout AKA J Lynn writes. She is a phenomenal writer and knows exactly how to describe her characters and story in a way that makes you feel as though you are right there with me experiencing everything they are. I jumped at the opportunity to review Be With Me. 








    J Lynn's novel Wait For Me is the predecessor to Be With Me and is the story of Cam and Avery and their love affair. Be With Me introduces us to Cam's little sister,  Teresa (Tess) Hamilton and begins her story. First of all, I loved Tess's character. She is a strong, yet emotional character who wears her feelings on her shoulders. She experienced an injury to her knee which caused her to put off her dance career and attend college instead. She attend the same college as her brother Cam and his girlfriend Avery which in turn allows us to gain bits and pieces of their ongoing relationship. I loved the fact that we get to see what is happening with Cam and Avery as well as learning a new story with Tess.




    Jace Winstead is one of Cam's life long friends and therefore Tess has known him her entire life. Jace is handsome, funny, and just absolutely adoring...oh and not to mention HOT. Tess and Jace experienced a "truly amazing, mind-blowing, change-your-life kiss" a  year ago and they have not seen each other since. They went their separate ways afterwards but still cant deny their feelings for each other. 




    "Over three years of crushing on him, a year since the last time our lips met, and Jase... oh God, he was finally kissing me."




    Mind reeling and senses spinning, I trembled as he nipped at my lower lip the same way he had at my neck before and then flicked the edge of his tongue over the seam of my lips, coaxing them open. He deepened the kiss, tasting me---owning me, and in the same instance, setting me free. This kiss was nothing like the one stolen a year ago. It blew out the water as a deep, nearly primitive rumble rose up from his chest."




    They begin a love affair and fall madly for each other. Little does Tess know, but Jace is keeping a life-changing secret from her and he is continually pulled toward his responsibilities and away from Tess. 




    Not only do we get to experience Tess and Jace's romance but there is also so much more going on in the story. Tess experienced an awful, painful, possessive relationship before Jace and is still recovering from the effects. Her experience with her ex-boyfriend opened her eyes to the world and she begins to feel as though one of her friends is experiencing the same issues with her boyfriend. 




    "Fury snapped at the heels of the rising fear, and I did something I'd never done with Jeremy, no matter how bad it got." 




    "I wasn't a victim anymore. I would never be the victim again."




    There is not only romance but drama, mystery, and intense suspense in this story. I loved it. I turned pages deep into the night just to see what would happen next. Each chapter is more intense and fascinating. By the close of the story the mysteries are solved and some left me stunned. I love these types of stories....ones that stay with you long after the last page is read. This is a talent that J Lynn has with each and every book she writes and is the exact reason why she is a best-selling author. If you want romance, drama, mystery, suspense and just an absolute PHENOMENAL book then this is the book for you. It was just incredible. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    very good

    I liked this book it kept you wanting to know what was going to happen next and not wanting to put the book down. I gave it only 4 stars just because it was a little predictable and had some spelling errors in it, but all in all I liked the book a lot and would recommend it as a nice easy read that keeps your interest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Theresa and Jase know each other through her older brother, Cam.

    Theresa and Jase know each other through her older brother, Cam. She’s been crushing on Jase since she met him (understandably!), but with the exception of one kiss, he’s never given an indication he thinks of her as anything more than a little sister. But believe me, he does. JLA tells the Theresa and Jase’s story with her trademark heart and humor. It’s absolutely another of the unputdownable variety.

    Jase. My word. This boy is hot, deep and absolutely perfectly imperfect. A country guy with a soft heart, he’s a good guy with a lot of baggage. The things he said made me all melty. His chemistry with Theresa was out of this world. It was obvious he cared a lot about her. Theresa was a likable main female character. I’d be friends with her. She might not have had the same amount of baggage Jase had, but she’s been through her fair share of crap recently. With her injury, she finds her future unclear and she has to do a lot of adapting. Part romance, part coming of age story, part focusing on friendship and family relationships, Be with Me truly had it all. It also had its fair share of surprises along the way and it hit on some pretty serious issues that I wasn’t expecting at all.

    Be with Me was swoony, sexy, sweet, suspenseful and surprising. I can’t tell you just how much I loved this book. The characters were fantastic. The plot was realistic. I felt all the feels… and then some. You all know I love JLA’s books, regardless of whether they are YA or NA, contemporary or paranormal, but this is my new all-time favorite across all the genres. I thought it didn’t get any better than Cam from Wait for You, but I was wrong. So very wrong. Jase is officially my new favorite book boyfriend… at least of the NA genre. ;) So many swoony boys, so little time.

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Eh...

    Just finished it. I felt like I kept reading hoping it would get better and it just got worse, and then it was over. Dont get me wrong I liked Jase and Teresa, they worked well together....it was the story that I didnt like. It read like a cheesy afterschool special at times. Jase's "twists" in his backstory were very predictible, and her side drama was stupid and unecessary. I liked the first book a lot, and with this book she added too much into it, so much where you just roll your eyes with every new drama thats added. Im not sure if ill read another in this series.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Perfect

    Fell in love with Jase! He was just as great as Cam, if not better!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Predictable. Disappointing. Melodramatic. Fail.

    One thing I hate more than instalove is a character obsessing and pining pathetically over another character who's so hot and cold it gives me whiplash.

    Full of stupid melodrama and predictability at every turn, this novel is an utter disappointment. I'm surprised my eyes didn't fall out my sockets with how often I rolled them.

    It's safe to assume that I'll be leaving this series alone as of now. I cannot even recommend this book as an entertaining read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Boring

    Lost interest halfway through and it was a srtuggle to finish

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Cant wait for the next book!! Ollie and Bridget???

    Cant wait for the next book!! Ollie and Bridget???



    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Good

    I really liked Wait For Me. I waited patiently for this book release but it was just ok. A lot of pointless drama it seemed like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    AMAZING

    This book was just as amazing as the last! You will not be dissapointed. I felt as if I was tess, and in my opinion can only be done by a great author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Average story I kept waiting for the storyline to pick up....Jas

    Average story
    I kept waiting for the storyline to pick up....Jase was so frustrating. How many times can a girl get turned down before she finally gets the hint? The fact that Tess kept sticking around was so maddening. I wanted her to focus on recovering from her injury and dancing. Not focuses on Jase and his dumbass problems. I LOVED J. Lynn's Wait for You and Trust in Me. I was hoping this book would also be good but it just fell short.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2015

    Dean

    "Jenn?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2015

    Recommend this book.

    Good story and series so far. I haven't read them all, but I will for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2015

    Loved!!

    Such a great read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2015

    Great book

    This book rocks im a guy who reads romance i get judge bouit all the time but this book reminds me why i put up with it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2015

    Absolutely loving these books! I have read these out of order af

    Absolutely loving these books! I have read these out of order after being given an arc of book 3, and now im hooked!

    This installment followed Cams sister Teresa and best friend Jase! The chemistry between the pair was hot the entire way through, and the twists and turns in this book keep you on the edge of your seat! I cannot wait for the next installment to see what the author can come up with next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This was a good quick read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2014

    J. Lynn does not disappoint!

    Great book! Jase is very sexy and sweet! ;) I liked Teresa's character a lot. I also loved seeing Cam and Avery as well. I honestly don't think Jennifer Armentrout can write a bad book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10