Customer Reviews for

Be with Me: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic... What I Loved: I

Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic...

What I Loved: I was really excited to read this and I didn't think it was possible to love any New Adult book guy more than Cam Hamilton from WAIT FOR YOU (I have a cupcake named after him for cookies' sake), but J. Lynn h...
Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic...

What I Loved: I was really excited to read this and I didn't think it was possible to love any New Adult book guy more than Cam Hamilton from WAIT FOR YOU (I have a cupcake named after him for cookies' sake), but J. Lynn has done it again! Jase Winstead had me at cupcake. ;)

Well-crafted, funny, and intensely romantic, Be With Me is a story of love, loss, and discovering that some of life's biggest blessings come from our darkest moments.

Complex and completely relateable, Tess and Jase are characters doing their best to navigate through some tough issues while figuring out how they fit into each others lives. Tess has already been through so much by the time she gets to college and putting her painful past behind her isn't as easy as she thought it would be. Neither is facing a future that looks different than she imagined.

Jase on the other hand, is so used to doing what's best for everyone else that he may lose the one thing he needs most if he can't figure out how to forgive himself for his own mistakes. They find comfort in each other as well as those little pink boxes of confectionery perfection, but it may not be enough, especially when things take a turn for the dangerous and whatever time they have together could be cut short.

I liked that Tess didn't let Jase get away with much and that she didn't give up on him when he was being stupid. While I understood where Jase was coming from, there were still moments when I wanted to shake some sense into him. However, he did have a way of redeeming himself with those little pink boxes.

Fans of Cam and Avery will be happy to know that they make an appearance too.

What Left Me Wanting More: Nothing. Although, I did wish I had a cupcake on hand while reading. ;)

Final Verdict: A sweet addition to the Wait For You series!

On a personal note: Thank you J. Lynn for featuring my cupcakes and making me a fictional character. I owe you a lifetime supply of chocolate peanut butter cupcakes! ;D

posted by Cupcakegirly on February 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Eh...

Just finished it. I felt like I kept reading hoping it would get better and it just got worse, and then it was over. Dont get me wrong I liked Jase and Teresa, they worked well together....it was the story that I didnt like. It read like a cheesy afterschool special at ...
Just finished it. I felt like I kept reading hoping it would get better and it just got worse, and then it was over. Dont get me wrong I liked Jase and Teresa, they worked well together....it was the story that I didnt like. It read like a cheesy afterschool special at times. Jase's "twists" in his backstory were very predictible, and her side drama was stupid and unecessary. I liked the first book a lot, and with this book she added too much into it, so much where you just roll your eyes with every new drama thats added. Im not sure if ill read another in this series.

posted by 10574985 on February 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    Great read!

    I absolutely loved the beautiful bond they shared. Loved how this book really showed how both characters struggled with themselves and found strength with in eachother. Beautifully written and really captivated the real aspect of a relationship. I also loved how thr forbidden love was what brough them together! Totally recommend! Not the first book I read from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    Like always.. I am in awe with Jennifer.  I cannot explain my af

    Like always.. I am in awe with Jennifer.  I cannot explain my affection for this series. I absolutely adored Cameron and Avery's story, but I am so very infatuated with Teresa and Jase. They're both such different lively characters. Teresa is just like her brother, they're both so passionate, understanding, and strong willed. They seem to make every bad situation into a positive. Teresa goes through a lot in this book and I'm honestly so bewildered by how she keeps a smile on her face. Kuddos to her and her strong spirit! Ah, now for some Jase. He's very broken, selfless, confused, "caveman", and loving. The chase in the book is very different. It wasn't innocent or flirty, it was hot and heavy. I felt the desire they held for one another. This goes for all Jennifer's books. She doesn't just write novels.. She brings them to life.. I'm extremely satisfied and still can't get over how much I enjoyed this! The novel is full of suspense, romance, and secrets.. I lost sleep because I couldn't put it down! And you know what? I did not regret my decision at work while running on two hours of sleep.. 




    I sort of see a similarity with "Wait for you" and "Be with me" but just one. Other than that one, the whole story is different. The plot is captivating, the characters were real, and I was engulfed. I also did really enjoy the little cameos with Avery and Cam. I love how Jennifer answered all the lingering questions about Cam and Avery. I'm so happy to witness their love continue even for just a little bit. There wasn't a moment in this book where I wasn't laughing out old, crying, giggling, or smiling from ear to ear like the joker! 




    Five stars for another phenomenal book by J. Lynn! My questions about Avery and Cam were answered, high five for the strong, beautiful independent character Teresa, and of course the hot steamy-ness that occurred whenever Jase and her were within breathing space! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Romantic

    Keeps your intetest!. Can't wait for Ollie and Bridget's book. Great series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    emaz

    Fantastic read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Mwah .

    Reaad in one day cx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Wonderful love story

    This is a wonderful read. Could not wait for the next chapter. From start to finish, I enjoyed being in these charaters lives. The auther is wondeful. Only wish there was another book continuing thier story. What will Jack do, when he finds out the truth. Where do thier lives go from here? Awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    A shadow

    Stalks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Megan

    "Well aint this sad."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Good

    I fell in love with wait for me and was waiting for this book it was good but not as good as wait for me with Cam and AVERY looking forward to thenext one!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Read in one day

    Great read. Was glad to read Jase and Teresas story after reading Wait For You

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Great

    Great book! I loved reading Jase and Tessa's story! Ahhh Jase is my new book boy friend! ;) I really enjoyed the plot and characters! This book had a little bit of everything in it! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Another great JLynn novel

    Loved it! J Lynn does not disappoint. I was looking forward to this book. I loved how there were bits of Cam and Avery in this too. Tess and Jase's story was awesome. I'm hoping there will be more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Great read

    I love this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Sweet story

    This was a sweet story but I feel like it left me hanging at the end because the author didn't really give me any closure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Seeing as Wait for You by J. Lynn was the book that actually ope

    Seeing as Wait for You by J. Lynn was the book that actually opened my eyes when it came to New Adult (and had me loving the reads), I had totally high expectations for Be With me (Wait for you #2).  And let me tell you guys, it sure as hell didn’t disappoint.  Dare I say that I loved it even more than Wait for You *raised eyebrow*…

    Where Wait for You showed us the beautiful story of Cam and Avery, Be with Me immerses readers in the captivating story of Teresa and Jase…and what a story it is…

    Teresa had what most teenage girls only dream of…the boy that she was madly in love with in high school kisses her (aka Jace Winstead).  Not just a peck on the cheek…the fireworks exploding all over the place kind of kiss.  Problem is, he’s her brother Cam’s best friend…and after that kiss, the heat fizzled to a stop and he never spoke to her again.

    So in true drama fashion, Tess leaves her small town to go to college and perhaps pursue her dream as a professional dancer.  But, in true drama fashion, things go horribly wrong.  Tess injures herself causing her dream of dance to fade into the background, and Tess gets out of a really bad relationship.  So where else can she go but back home.

    Securing her own apartment and a job, Tess decides to give college life a go in town.  What Tess didn’t expect was the guy who she wanted to avoid at all costs but can’t stop thinking about is now a constantly around!  Things go from bad to amazing to worse in a blink of an eye…

    But Tess isn’t the only one battling her own personal demons.  Jace has a secret…a deep dark secret that not very many people know about…and one that he’s trying to deal with every day.  When Tess enters back into the picture, Jace does whatever he has to do to keep his feelings at bay, and to keep Tess away from him.  But fate is a funny thing…and sometimes it takes a crazy event to make one realize what is truly in front of them.

    All the feels guys…Be with Me had me feeling ALL the feels.  I will admit that I was very hesitant to start this second installment in the Wait for You series by J. Lynn.  I had fallen so head over heels in love with the first book and its characters that I didn’t want to lose the magic high that I was still riding from reading it all those months ago…

    But then…I felt a whole new set of magical highs while reading this book.  It only took a matter of a few pages to feel author J. Lynn’s writing magic start to creep its way into my soul.  And before I knew it, I was freakin’ hooked like no other.  I found myself totally enveloped into the lives of Tess and Jace.  I was breathing it all in and had to pace myself as I didn’t want it to end all to soon.

    What I really loved about Be with Me was that a lot of the background story that was in Wait for You comes to light in this book.  Don’t get me wrong.  You do not at ALL have to read Wait for Me to fully appreciate Be with Me.  There’s just some things about Cam’s past regarding his sister, Tess, that gets revisited, and you get to see those events unfold while told in a different voice.

    And of course, I loved that we got to be with both Cam and Avery again.  And it’s not a brief encounter.  Oh no no, they are in for the long haul.  Appearances galore (along with some familiar faces that had me going “oh yah!”)  And yah, I was totally annoyed about how much of a CB Cam was!  I know he was doing what is expected of a big brother, but argh!  A girl needs a little fun…

    I found that when I loved the character, I totally loved them!  And when I hated them…I loathed them to the very core of my being….Oh the fun times I had while reading this.  And the sexy times…don’t even get me started on that!  There was quite a bit of waiting and anticipating and suffering through some very obvious sexual tension between Jace and Tess…but so worth the wait my friends!  So. Worth. The. Wait.

    I’d recommend Be with Me to fans of Wait for You (obviously), and to fans of New Adult reads.  If you’re looking for a read that will totally capture your attention; whether it be through the writing itself, or characters that all amazing in their own ways, or with gasp worthy twists and turns and revealed secrets that will leave you reeling; this book is totally for you.  Don’t hesitate.  Get it now!  Fall in love with Jace as I did.  I think my image of feeding horses is totally corrupted now…and that’s totally fine by me…

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    YardieBookFanatic

    Loved Tess and Jase and the story behind them. Caught glimpses lfCam and Avery too. Good read.
    LOVETOREAD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Must Read!

    I fell in love with Cam and Avery.... But, I fell harder for Jase and Theresa. Another great read from Jennifer! Love all her books! Once you start, you'll go broke! :) All of them are spectacular!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    Great follow up to "Wait for Me".  Great story line..l

    Great follow up to "Wait for Me".  Great story line..loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    I have loved every single book this amazing author has written.

    I have loved every single book this amazing author has written. Whether its the Lux series, the covenant series or her writing as J. Lynn I loved them all. I honestly wanted to all off of work just so I could finish reading this book because I didn't want to put it down. The book is so well written. Everything just flows so smoothly. Jennifer Armentrout can do no wrong in my book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Absolutely amazing! !

    I absolutely loved this book. The story was really good and I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9