Customer Reviews for

Be a Better Dad Today: Ten Tools Every Father Needs

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    From the Author...

    I grew up without a real father - but was able to study effective (and ineffective) Fatherhood practices on five different continents AND raise four great kids with my wife of 23 years. Yes, by God's grace I know the importance of a good Father...and the challenges, joys and wonders of the Fatherhood Journey.

    The best news is that good Dads are made...not born. And wherever you are in the Fatherhood Journey - contemplating fatherhood, right in the middle of it or nearing the end - you can grow to be a better Father, a better Husband and a better Man. Growing into the fullness of fatherhood is an exciting journey of self-discovery, service and significance. In fact, it is the most important journey any of us dads will ever make.

    Like any significant journey - you're going to need a good map, the right tools and some trustworthy allies to help you get there. And that is what "Be A Better Dad Today" provides. The 'map' is the Noble Family Vision that is the focus of Chapter Three. The 'tools' are the Ten Tools of Fatherhood that we explore in Section Two (the 'Tools Section') of the book. And the allies are the "Other Good Men" that are emphasized in Tool #8.

    Please know that this is not some theoretical book for academics. This is a father's book for fathers. It's a roll up your sleeves and put it to work book. It's a 'let's be gut level honest' book. It's a 'getting better instead of getting bitter' book. It's a man's book for men...but I do think your wife and kids are going to love it too. Because this book is not about head knowledge - it's about truly becoming a better Father, a better Husband and a Better Dad.

    That's why there is a "Put it to Work" section at the end of every tools chapter. And that's why there's a Men's Group Study Guide at the back of the book - to help us as men to help each other on the Fatherhood Journey.

    It took me three full years to write this book - and about three million fathering mistakes. But I've loved writing it; it's been a true labor of love. And that's because the Fatherhood Journey is the most important journey any of us dads will ever undertake. In fact, we (my wife and I) feel so strongly about this that we are giving 100% of the royalty profits from the book to Christian Fatherhood Charities.

    So I do hope you will check out "Be A Better Dad Today." And I truly hope and pray that it will be a rich blessing to you, your family and your future. I look forward to seeing you on the Journey!!

    Onward and Upward...

    Gregory W. Slayton

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    For the father in your life!

    I have just finished reading an advance copy of Be A Better Dad Today, written by The Honorable Gregory Slayton. For any dads looking for hints on how to improve their fathering, as well as their marriage, this book will inspire you to truly make changes to be the best dad for your family. This is an excellent book for a group study, since questions and reflection points are included to make your reading really hit home. Be A Better Dad Today is an excellent book for any men's ministry discussions!

    CMKM

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    I took a class in college on masculinity and read a few books on

    I took a class in college on masculinity and read a few books on fatherhood. I can confidently say that Gregory Slayton's work is an absolutely wonderful and creative addition to a line of necessary literature. I bought the book for my father and it has sparked great conversation about some of the struggles faced in every father-son relationship. Definitely recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    I read this thinking I would give it to my brother, but as a sin

    I read this thinking I would give it to my brother, but as a single mom, there are a lot of transferable principles that even I can apply. I found it extremely useful in it's practical application points.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Great read, easy to follow! The advise and applications on the T

    Great read, easy to follow! The advise and applications on the Tools of Fatherhood seem to work for anyone. I'll be passing this along to my buddy who is also a dad, once I finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    What an Engaging, Helpful Book!

    Great kudos to author Gregory Slayton for writing a very accessible and sensible guide of fatherhood. His first-hand experiences, biblical references and historical knowledge aided my overall enjoyment. As a Christian, I am always looking for helpful guides to help me and others be better in our life roles - as Dads, Husbands, Children and Stewards of His resources. Slayton provides a great tool to furthering the Christian understanding of fatherhood. Any reader will quickly grasp his advice as practical, approachable and meaningful - regardless of his faith background. I am greatly encouraged to dive-in and put Gregory Slayton's suggestion into practice. This readable, simple book was just the parenting advice I needed! I am ready to be a better dad today - and will be buying copies of this book for my father and brother and the guys in my bible study!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    When I first read this book, I was surprised how useful it was.

    When I first read this book, I was surprised how useful it was. I expected it to be one of those motivational self help type, but this book was different. The author is somehow able to not only inspire, but also lay out action points that I can get my head around. It met me where I was and didn't require that my life be in order before I could start benefiting from its suggestions. Be a Better Dad is one of the few books I will keep but also use more than three months.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    When I first read this book, I was surprised how useful it was.

    When I first read this book, I was surprised how useful it was. I expected it to be one of those motivational self help type, but this book was different. The author is somehow able to not only inspire, but also lay out action points that I can get my head around. It met me where I was and didn't require that my life be in order before I could start benefiting from its suggestions. Be a Better Dad is one of the few books I will keep but also use more than three months.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Powerful, Practical, Personal

    Mr. Slayton offers a powerful book on fatherhood - full of practical ideas and personal insights. You come away not only inspired with a vision for the high calling of fatherhood, but also equipped with a set of tools and lots of encouragement to get started and keep going. Slayton draws from a wide array of experiences; there is insight here for every father.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I have just finished reading an advance copy of Be A Better Dad Today, written by The Honorable Gregory Slayton (former Ambassador to Bermuda). For any dads looking for hints on how to improve their fathering, as well as their marriage, this book will inspire you to truly make changes to be the best dad you can be for your unique family.
    This is an excellent book for a group study, since questions and reflection points are included to make your reading really hit home. This book will bring men together for inspiring conversation!
    Dads everywhere will appreciate a gift of Be A Better Dad for Father's Day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Be a Better Dad Today has been a wonderful tool in my life--it h

    Be a Better Dad Today has been a wonderful tool in my life--it has allowed me to fully understand that discipline, hard work, and self-sacrifice are always helpful tools as I strive to better myself as a human being and as a man for others.  Gregory Slayton's Noble Family Vision has inspired me to dial in on a framework for what I want my family to be like.  It also helps me understand my family as it is now.  I also really appreciate Slayton's holistic approach; his tools for becoming a better father are the same tools that one can use to become a whole person and a servant of God.  Young men who are searching for guidance can always refer to this book as a daily reflection to go towards the light and to be a light for others.  Every word in this book is written with God's will--its success as a national bestseller is no surprise because Slayton is consistently attuned to the Truth.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    This is definitely a brilliant book on fatherhood, but it is nev

    This is definitely a brilliant book on fatherhood, but it is never only about fatherhood from my perspective. It is also about THE figure of being a good man, a great husband and a lovely dad and a faithful person. It is about all these positive attitudes and values that a man should have towards his life, family and faith, a man of believing, loving, committing and persisting along with all other great characteristics that he should possess. A man, who wants to be a good man, should go ahead and read this book. I personally love the chapter which talks about the tool of All-in Marriage which clarifies the importance of commitment to your beloved wife, kids and the whole family.

    My mom brought me up alone. What I’ve always been taught was to have a heart of love and hope, being grateful and appreciate what you are given. Being polite and always introspect yourself. Stay away from hatred which could have led me to a whole another different path of life and ruin it all. I’m glad that I have somewhat listened to my mom even I was being rebellious to my only parent. Even though we now live on two different continents and are separated by the Pacific Ocean, a 12 hour time zone difference, all these values instilled by her and stayed with me along the way of growing up, are now serving as my principles and compass of being a good man that I am so determined to be, a great husband, a great dad, a great son and a man of faith.

    Go read this book, no matter you are already a dad or about to be one soon. It is never too early and it is never too late for someone who intends to be a better man! If you do, go for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Great book for all dads!

    If you really want to be a better dad today, this is a good book to read and put into practice. It gives you sound practical ways to improve yourself as a father. The ten tools for fatherhood are principles that will work for you and your family. Slayton's down to earth and honest style will touch your heart and encourage you that you, too, can truly be a better dad. He notes that we all have failures and weaknesses, but that does not have to stop us from improving as dads. There is also a website with a "put it to work"
    tool for each chapter. If you agree with Slayton's statement that "fatherhood is the most important job a man will ever have", then this book is for you. Get a copy, read it and get to work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1