BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

BeSwitched

Average Rating 4
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

good story

I really liked this story! It was a sweet funny story about witches,talking black cats,and high school cliques with just a little revenge at the ending. I will read more by this author

posted by 18027776 on August 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

3.5 Stars: A short, sweet, and interesting read

BeSwitched was a quick, sweet, and fun Middle-Grade read that I quite enjoyed.

The story starts out with a bit of a bang. Instead of the usual long and dreary introductions that we get, the author launches straight into Surla's escape from Idis' home and her BeSwitch...
BeSwitched was a quick, sweet, and fun Middle-Grade read that I quite enjoyed.

The story starts out with a bit of a bang. Instead of the usual long and dreary introductions that we get, the author launches straight into Surla's escape from Idis' home and her BeSwitching with Cathy. I felt a little detached to the story at the start since it moved a tiny bit too fast for my linking, but it was otherwise a very interesting beginning and would keep most readers hooked.

There were lots of things I enjoyed about this book. I remember being considerably younger and whizzing through through a book each hour, because middle grade fiction is so easy and so fun to read. BeSwitched definitely had this quality--once I started reading, I didn't put the story down. It was something short and sweet that I could go through in one sitting and that's definitely something I loved.

There's a moral--a story that the author has to tell, and I think that's a rare quality in MG/YA books these days. From what I perceived, it tells us to be comfortable in our own skin, that self-esteem is an important quality, not to try and stick to the 'popular' crowd but to be ourselves, that we will make friends even if we are socially isolated. It's about the importance of friendship. And I really liked the message.

I fell in love with Surla instantly, as I do like cats (though I'm a bigger fan of dogs) and her voice was very believable. The characters in the story were all very likeable (apart from the villains, of course) but I thought that some of the secondary characters like Chrissy and Todd lacked some backstory. They seemed rather two-dimensional and flat, and I would've liked to see more reason behind their actions, although I guess there's only so much you can fit into a novella. There is a sequel to the story which I do hope to read, and I assume that the characters will be further developed there.

There were a few minor grammatical and spelling errors that I did find in the text, and I think this book would benefit from another re-read. Otherwise, the quality of writing was quite good. Molly Snow's writing is simple and clean. She doesn't describe things in graphic detail but instead narrates the story with Surla's quirky thoughts and draws us straight the mind of this girl-turned-into-cat, another element that I loved.

However, I do have a quibble with some parts of the story. Being turned into a human (if one were a cat) would be one of the most bizarre situations one could ever find themselves in, and yet somehow, Surla doesn't seem overly surprised when she gets switched into a human. She doesn't know what a 'number' is, for instance, but the speed at which she adapted to a human life and human school completely befuddled me. If I were a cat and I'd spent my life locked in a witch's house doing magic spells for her, I definitely wouldn't be able to blend in at a high school so quickly.

Overview: The book itself was a little predictable but I think that's the nature of middle-grade fiction. Otherwise, it was a short, enjoyable read that many preteens (and the preteens-at-heart like me) will lap up. The story could benefit from some more plot dimensions and a few of the characters could use some more personality, but the flaws weren't so huge that they completely undermined my enjoyment of the book and the bigger picture. Three and a half stars.

posted by Nicole_Spencer on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must Buy for lovers of Freaky Friday!!

    So, as the synopsis tells us, we have a bit of a Freaky Friday situation going on except it's between a cat and a human. Now the cat doesn't know acceptable human behavior, after all, she's been living with a mean witch for the past three hundred years and the human doesn't know acceptable cat behavior. What ensues is a learning experience for both of them. Cathy, the human is your typical shy girl who doesn't know that she's actually pretty. There is a mean girl, of course, Tiffany who bullies her with her posse of friends. Cathy just tries to avoid Tiffany. Easier said than done, especially when they walk home the same way. But, when Surla possess Cathy's body, things change and Cathy starts wearing makeup and showing her full potential. Now I don't think you have to wear makeup to look pretty or tight clothes to look good, but Cathy is no longer hiding in plain boring clothes and wan looking skin. That's Cathy/Surla. But Cathy/Surla doesn't really know what acceptable behavior is so she gets into trouble, like not knowing what a phone number is and licking a boy when he wants to kiss her. Yeah, gross! But it's kind of funny, too! But this lack of knowledge gets her into real trouble. The first half of the book seemed a little predictable to me until Cathy/Surla got into trouble and up until that point I would have said it was an MG book, but not that kind of trouble. Got your interest now, haven't I?? Well, let's just say I'd never have wanted to get caught like that! Neither would you! From mid point on, the book takes some unusual twists and Cathy as in they cat is in danger of being discovered. Mix Idis, the witch that owns Surla who can't do magic without her, with Cathy as a cat and Surla as a human and Surla's cousin together along with 13 witches and black magic and there is bound to be a lot of trouble. And guess what- there is character growth, even though Surla working as Cathy does most of the work, Cathy changes. And Surla's circumstances change for the better as well. And you actually do get to see a lot into the characters of Cathy and Surla (even if she is a cat). This is a short, fun book to read and there is a follow up novel I'll review later in the week. I recommend it when you want something light and enjoyable that won't be keeping you up at night. I'd say the 13+ crowd is just right for this. And don't you just love the cover??

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Katy Perry says...

    Great book guys! Great book about anti- bullying in a funny way. Remember to keep reading!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    Fun

    Cute, quick, fun teen read. Nice messages in a very enjoyable form. And there is magic and a cat. Enjoyable read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Terrific

    Loved this boook hope you do to!!!!!!!!:)
    Simsim

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    I enjoyed this book from cover, very entertaining!!!!

    I enjoyed this book from cover, very entertaining!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    To:person with age groups

    Id say about grade 6+

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Good.

    This book is perfect for 12yrs old or older.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Amazing

    The book was amazing and is great for kids 7and up...im not sure somebody younger would understand it but they might. Its about a witches cat who switches places with a human being. Again it is an amazing book...

    Note there are a few inappropiate parts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book my favorate charater was surla

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    Gem

    Hey all! Nice xmas lists;) so, one of my clueless bros stepped on my nook and completely broke it. Like dead. So im not gonna b on. Im hoping to get a new one for xmas, but idrk. Im using my sis nooks to tell u guys. Dont forget about me! Love ya all. Love, gem

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    My Christmas List

    Iphone6,headphones,KD's,clothes,and any other tomboy things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    From B is BOSS

    Since we are all saying what we want for christmas i guess ill share my wishlist too. I really really really want a new phone because all that i have right now is a stupid flip phone from '99 and all of friends have a snapchat and instagram on thier IPhone 6 which is getting really annoying. One of my friends got an IPhone 5 last year and begged her mom for a new one cause it couldnt hold enough storage for all of her social apps. And get this, on a plain old day last week ( it wasnt even her b- day) she got the IPhone 6. Which totally amazes me. Not trying to be a hater but she is sort of a spoiled brat. All she does on the bus the whole time is stare at her phone ignoring the outside world. Of corse i wouldnt do that i would take really pretty photographs, cause im really interested in photographery. But anyways id also like a mip you know the robot. Btw i know my mom will probably get neither of these for me and just get me a bunch of clothes i dont need. Another btw i LOVE Star Wars! From B is BOSS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2014

    Love it!

    Great story,it was one that you can just snuggle up in a comfy spot and enjoy a nice book. Loved the suspence as well..... kept you on the edge of your seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    To below

    Hey i am Hazel. I want Kings Camo jacket. New cowgirl boots cause the ones i am wearing now are so worn they wont last me one more week. And two pairs of wranglers. I am so excited. I dont care about ipods or iphones. Just cowgirl boots. Are you a country girl?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    loved the book

    a light funny read. I found the book ever entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    To bella and fle. From skylar.

    Thank you for being my friend bella. How old are you? And i would love to be friends with you fle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2014

    My christmas list

    Ipad american girl doll

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2014

    Dean

    16 year old, male

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Jake

    Ok and i play tackle footabll for my middle school team the montour spartans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Gem

    Ummm headphones so i can use my awesome mp3 player with my fav songs on it, a board game called telestrations, the movie God's Not Dead, which is absolutly the Best movie ever!!!! A copy of thee Peter Pan Live! Dvd and um oh yeah i would really love to get a nice camera but ik im not gonna get one. If u got a wii would u do wii sports or what? I didnt kno u like pokemon dogears!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4