Customer Reviews for

The Beach

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    Kick Ass Book

    This book rocks it is much better thain the movie, in the movie a bunch of things dont make anysence but in the book it all makes sence and the ending was mind blowing, this has got to be my fav book from the video game refrences and vietnam,its a rad book u gotta read it i cant wait to check out some other of ALex Garlands books..............................................read the book on x it blows your mind

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    Read it now!!!

    Although I just started reading this incredible book, I can hardly put it down. The adventure as well as the heart-stopping drama is compelling and motivating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Ashley

    K babe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Shawnlets go back to hello yhere

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Giggles, Ceecat, Tanner, Rascel, Keke and all of the surfers including Mack and Brady:

    All hang out at the beach,dancing and listeng to the blastin music, eating s'mores, walking on the beach and juggling banjos.
    Giggles: Hey bikers, you guys should join our party!
    Ceecat: hey giggles, those are some rad skits. Says ceecat pointing at giggles pink top with the glittery beads and matching skirt.
    Giggles: I keep moving them Ceecat, and they cannnt stoppp!!! Says giggles shaking the beads on her outfit.
    Brady and Mack laugh.
    They were all having fun on the warm crisp night air and the colorful lights lit up on Big Mommas porch was breathtaking and beutiful:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Sylvie Bea

    "Um...I'm Sylvie." Sylvie says quietly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    intense

    The Beach is sort of a cross between Lord of the Flies and Apocalypse Now. It's a wonderfully intense story! While Richard is backpacking through southeast Asia, he discovers the map to "the Beach", which is supposedly a mythical Eden commune. Richard and a young French couple make it to this deserted island and discover paradise. They swim, fish, dance and have access to all the marijuana they can smoke. Then things start to go bad when two catastrophes happen in the same week. The tenuous order that these people hold starts to slide away into chaos. People become paranoid and dangerous and in the end some lose their humanity. The Beach hooked me in right from the beginning with it's exotic storyline, beautiful scenery and great writing. The New York Times Book Review called The Beach "....impressive in its group portrait of a new generation of young vagabonds. Raised in an era of diminished confidence, they have set out in search of something that feels genuine and fulfilling. What they find turns out to be not utopia but hell."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Great book- like taking a vacation!

    this book is a lot of fun, it's light- and creates vivid imagery! Who doesn't want to find a beach in Thailand to live on for a while, without the responsibilities of modern day society? All the means to keep you relaxed, the abundance of the island, swimming, fishing, dancing, games,-uhm, I'd want to leave too after things started getting 'messy'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I had high expectations...

    I did not enjoy this book. It had so many positive reviews that I thought I'd give it a try. I just never got hooked to it, I just kept reading hoping it would get better but it never did. This book is not worth your time. It is painfully boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    Amazing

    I loved both the book and the movie. I don't care if the movie had holes in it, it was still an amazing story. I was a wee bit disappointed that there was no love affair between Richard and Francoise in the book, I loved that about the movie. But whatever, it was still all good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Loved It

    I highly reccommend this book to anyone who loves travel or adventure. I found the book to be a lot better then the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    a fair adventure

    This book is as good as the movie. I think it was wise that Mr. Garland didn't have Richard sleep around with any of the girls in the book. A good adventure book, and I like the psychological aproach to it. This is the kind of book just about anyone would like (especially for men under 25 or 30).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    A GOOD READ

    I find it astonishing that people are picking apart the details of this book! It is written from Richard's point of view, in the first person, so whatever details he has not asked about or worked out (such as money, pregnancy, sex, etc. in the community) should not be revealed to the reader! This book has holes in it, true, but overall it is a fast, suspenseful, and intelligent read, as well as fun, especially considering it is this author's first novel. And I in fact appreciate that there is no sex (and SPOILER!!! that Richard and Francoise don't have an affair), as all too often the sex is gratuitous and unnecessary. It is also much better than the movie. Bravo to Garland!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2003

    Garland's writing is Outstanding!

    Wow, this book was great. I couldn't stop reading it. Everything flows together so well, and and the characters seem so real. I watched the movie right after I finished the book. No comparison...The character 'Richard' is so much different, it made it hard for me to enjoy the movie at all. The whole time I was comparing Richard in the book, to Richard in the movie. Anyways you can tell I think the book was awesome, and the movie pretty much stunk leaving alot of holes in the story. They basically butchered it. But read the book its great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2003

    spectacular

    'the beach' is an amazing novel. the pages turn themselves. i am not much of a reader but this book was an exception, alex garland is an amazing storyteller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    As good as the movie!

    It captures a persons thirst to experience it all, that I haven't read since Clint Borgen's autobiography. The Beach is a fascinating look at longing to live a life less ordinary and doing so. It really appeals to the international crowd, but anyone will enjoy this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2003

    BEST BOOK EVER

    If I could read this book over and over and over and over and over again for the next 20 years I would do it! The ending is brilliant! The pages turned easily!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Mesmerising and captivating read!

    The Beach is fantastic. Its rich setting and descriptions develop it into an inquisitive and entertaining novel. The plot is great and the character and events are very intersting. The hallucinations the main character has add greater intricacy to the novel, however, sometimes they drag on a bit. The novel is a clever analsyis of the human psyche and also critiques society today. Can a perfect world, a Utopia, exist in contemporary society?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2002

    Insight On Human Tendency

    This is truely my favorite book. Though I am only 15, I know a good book when I read one. I found that as I read the book, not only is the story line unique and captivating, but it's a metaphorical genius! Richard, the travelor looking for something extraordinary, finds that paradise doesn't come without a cost. IT shows how humans will resort to selfish tendencys when the worst case scenario comes into play. It shows a young boy becoming a man by ending crazy dreams and entering the reality of the harsh world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    the beach and inspiring book in itself

    this book is truly the best ive ever read. The storyline is so much different than a lot of books. I see it as a book of dreams in which you always dream of going to a remote island, paradise as most call it and you never want to leave. read it, love it, never put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5