Customer Reviews for

The Beach

Average Rating 4.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2000

    Read it now!!!

    Although I just started reading this incredible book, I can hardly put it down. The adventure as well as the heart-stopping drama is compelling and motivating.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2008

    Great book- like taking a vacation!

    this book is a lot of fun, it's light- and creates vivid imagery! Who doesn't want to find a beach in Thailand to live on for a while, without the responsibilities of modern day society? All the means to keep you relaxed, the abundance of the island, swimming, fishing, dancing, games,-uhm, I'd want to leave too after things started getting 'messy'!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2005

    A GOOD READ

    I find it astonishing that people are picking apart the details of this book! It is written from Richard's point of view, in the first person, so whatever details he has not asked about or worked out (such as money, pregnancy, sex, etc. in the community) should not be revealed to the reader! This book has holes in it, true, but overall it is a fast, suspenseful, and intelligent read, as well as fun, especially considering it is this author's first novel. And I in fact appreciate that there is no sex (and SPOILER!!! that Richard and Francoise don't have an affair), as all too often the sex is gratuitous and unnecessary. It is also much better than the movie. Bravo to Garland!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    A major artistic achievment for 'Gen. X'

    Like Fight Club, Kurt Cobain's music, & even the Nader presidential campaign, this book marks a major achievment in the evocation of the anger and despair so many young men and women in American society struggle with. Those of previous generations would be wise to read this book and think about why it has appealed to so many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    Simple read with complexly explored themes and ideas

    This novel really deserves it's praise. It's probably the only novel I've read that captures the mind/thought process of a young person living in the post-Vietnam/video game age. The narrators voice is authentic and he's easy for us generation-X'ers to relate to. It's like Lord of the Flies, but definitely adds something unique if for nothing else because the characters are older, and have more life experience and depth. Some interesting things are explored about human nature and our desire for an escape from the world, but just as intriguing as this is the introspection on the condition of our generation. I definitely reccomend this book, especially to those age 15-29. P.S. The movie doesn't even come close to the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Gripping..

    Never have i read such a book where the words seem to roll of the page and into your mind. It challenged my thinking, and made me reassess my ideas of paradise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    Very descriptive writing...

    I made myself read this book before seeing the movie (which I still have not seen!). I'm sure I'll be glad I did. The images Garland calls up in the imagination will be hard to top. Interesting story of young people (with no responsibilities?! sorry, devil's advocate!) who find an island paradise, but as we all know, there is no Utopia... Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    ONE QUICK READ!

    Fast paced. The ending was a little wierd for my liking, but then, it is definitly unforgetable. Didn't quite understand the Vietnam references.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 1999

    Lord of the Flies protege

    Very entertaining, vivid and imagintive, presented the characters well, creative plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2