Customer Reviews for

Beach Girls

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Another must read

    The perfect book for summer reading at the beach, the pool, or just curled up in a chair with a glass of lemonade. Luann Rice never lets me down. I have read almost all of her books, and have the rest on my Nook for reading when I have time to get to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    A Very Easy Read

    Just a good old story. Relaxing and nice to read right before falling asleep ( not that it is a sleeper ) it is just a good nice clean book and story. ENJOY !!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    This book was a touching read. I felt so sad for Nell, the little girl lost. And in a way a lot of the main characters were. All affected by this one event. Jack the devastated widower who's desperate to reconcile his life and his daughter. Stevie the recluse who's so wise and caring, yet fearful of life. She and Jack both running for different reasons. And how the past comes back to haunt you in ways you'd never guess. I was a bit thrown at times how the main characters were so upset over the deceased friend/wife, when in most flashbacks she was cold, selfish and self-serving. She seemed like a horrible person, not someone who you'd associate warm feelings and think 'No wonder they miss her, she was a great woman.' I enjoyed more the building of each person's story, you got into their heads and it really wove everything into a much tighter plot. Later we find out it wasn't so much just hurt but the hurt caused that set a snowball effect into motion. I was so glad when things worked themselves out and the ending was warm and right. Humor, friendship, self-discovery, romance, this one offers a lot in a very interesting way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Not Worth Your Time

    This novel is trite and you can see where it is going within the first few chapters. Stevie, the heroine, is an unrealistic character...the only character I even liked was the child, Nell. The writing style made me yawn and I was soooo excited when I finished the book because I could start reading something else!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2007

    Nice

    This is a sweet, non-controversial story. It's a safe read for a teenager and something easy for all you grown-ups who don't want to think too much in the evenings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    Hardcovered Harlequin Romance

    Once again a man has to come to the rescue of some poor inept women who can't seem to solve their own problems even though they are supposedly smart educated women. You can fiqure out in the first twenty or so pages where this book is going. Susan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Good Read

    I thought this was a very sweet and touching book. I have to admit, it took me a while to read it because I let it sit on my shelf for a while because it didn't grab my attention right away, but when I finally decided to finish it, I thought it was great. I cried in the end because it's a sweet story. I recommend this book but not really on the top of my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    awesome!

    Absolutely a great book! Truly entertaining and a great summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    More of Maddie

    I am enjoying Beach Girls, I think the Maddie character could have been more developed she is enteresting and the actress that Maddie was excellent thank-you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    I loved it!

    This was the first book of hers that I read and I adored it. I will admit that I found it because it is being made into a movie, but I think that if you are looking for a good, makes you feel happy,read-while-you-lay-in-the-sun-book, this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Very predictable

    There's light summer reading, then there's boring, juvenile, disappointing reading like Beach Girls. I skimmed through at least half the story and still missed nothing. What a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    Excellant summer time reading

    I love all of her books. They help take me away from all of the 'have to' business reading that an office job requires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Beach Girls

    I was so disappointed by this book. This was my first exposure to LuAnne Rice's writing and judging from this book, it will be my last. Too many random characters, too many cliches, I never really connected with any of the characters, I hated how she destroyed some relationships merely to serve the Stevie character and her eventual relationships with the other characters. I never got a feel or any sort of resolution about the character of Emma and felt like she existed merely to be destroyed bit by bit over the course of the book, which was frustrating because I found her interesting and fantastically complex in comparison to the Mary Sue character of Stevie whose imperfections are written off as adding to her perfection and sensitivity and who is the cureall for everyone who exists in the pages of the Beach Girls story. The dialogue was horrific, I never felt like any of these conversations would ever take place in real life, that a child of nine would talk like Nell does. And I resented the very tired cliche of women who work in corporate settings and don't embrace a creative lifestyle, who dare to enjoy sex for sex sake, who don't aspire to marry are cold, unfeeling and insensitive. Unless her other stories are markedly different from this formula and include better characterization and plotting, I would highly recommend skipping this author's work. Outside of the descriptions of the beach setting which were vivid and beautiful, this book was a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Beach Girls

    Boring, plodding and insulting. No humor whatsoever, bad dialogue, horrible characterization, an interesting concept but the execution is far off the mark. I was surprised at how little there was of actual Beach Girls interactions and how the author so obviously and blatantly used one character to further another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2005

    Disappointed

    I was so excited to read Beach Girls and it was such a let down. You can figure out the ending. People get introducted into the book to keep the plot alive. It lacked interest,was too drawn out and had a weak story line. The story could have ended half way through the book. It was a struggle to finish this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Awesome!

    I loved this book! it's the first of hers i've ever read and i can't wait to read more by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    book lover

    I had a hard time finishing this book. It was to simple not enough suprise. I like to read a book that makes me feel the author has an amasing imagination. I thing I could do better than this. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2004

    Not a Favorite

    I usually like her books a lot but this one lacked any real pulling story line. It seemed like it was a book of re-hashing the same thing and same hurts over and over again. I found it boring and just wanted to hurry and finish it only because I dont leave a book unread. I thought some of Nells thoughts and actions were not realistic at her age, Just oculdnt get into this story at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    Verry Disappointed

    I usually love Luanne Rice's books and was anticipating loving this one too but I hated this one. Very boring and could not connect with the characters at all. I never write reviews but felt I had to warn people to save your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Absoultely loved it!

    can't wait to read more books from her. She is one of a kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2