Customer Reviews for

The Beach House

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A great summer read

I liked how the author wrote this book. The book is divided into parts; each part represents a summer month. During the month, different renters reside in the beach house and the reader is allowed a glimpse into their lives. Near month's end, the current renters prepare...
I liked how the author wrote this book. The book is divided into parts; each part represents a summer month. During the month, different renters reside in the beach house and the reader is allowed a glimpse into their lives. Near month's end, the current renters prepare the house for the new renters, as everyone knows one another.

It was though I was reading three short stories in one book, however the author did a fantastic job of tying the renters' stories together. The Beach House is about picking up the pieces after a loss and beginning again.

4.5 stars

posted by IHeart2Read on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Review. Not chat!

B&N needs to do something about the babies and their games and many times disgusting posts. I have complained to B&N many times as I am sure others have. Enough already! If you want to keep your good customers from switching over to Kindle & Amazon, you need to fix this...
B&N needs to do something about the babies and their games and many times disgusting posts. I have complained to B&N many times as I am sure others have. Enough already! If you want to keep your good customers from switching over to Kindle & Amazon, you need to fix this garbage as well as the 2 page "reviews" . That is what is going to happen if you don't make this end. Better start thinking of your bottom line..you know $$$? These review people dont pay for the books & the kids are here only to play kitty cat games. Better think about that before the good customers jump ship and we WILL!

posted by 7382316 on January 8, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great summer read

    I liked how the author wrote this book. The book is divided into parts; each part represents a summer month. During the month, different renters reside in the beach house and the reader is allowed a glimpse into their lives. Near month's end, the current renters prepare the house for the new renters, as everyone knows one another.

    It was though I was reading three short stories in one book, however the author did a fantastic job of tying the renters' stories together. The Beach House is about picking up the pieces after a loss and beginning again.

    4.5 stars

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put this book down

    This was such a good read. The story takes place in Nantucket, and the way it was described I want to go so bad. I pictured myself in the story- walking the beaches, relaxing on a porch. I could see myself so there. This book is HIGHLY a good read.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Review. Not chat!

    B&N needs to do something about the babies and their games and many times disgusting posts. I have complained to B&N many times as I am sure others have. Enough already! If you want to keep your good customers from switching over to Kindle & Amazon, you need to fix this garbage as well as the 2 page "reviews" . That is what is going to happen if you don't make this end. Better start thinking of your bottom line..you know $$$? These review people dont pay for the books & the kids are here only to play kitty cat games. Better think about that before the good customers jump ship and we WILL!

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    wish

    Wish all the kiddies would walk on out with their kiddie chatter and let the adults have some space

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Amazing Read!!!

    This book is written with such passion! It's the best romance/drama book I've ever read! Definitely worth reading, especially if you're laying on the beach listening to the waves crash!! VERY GREAT BOOK!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    What the heck did I just read?  It switched gears so abruptly at

    What the heck did I just read?  It switched gears so abruptly at te end of each section, it was jarring.  There was absolutely no sense of closure at the end, either.  Just a "thanks for playing, here, read this excerpt...."

    So not worth it.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    This was a very good book. Well worth reading...sad in spots. Ve

    This was a very good book. Well worth reading...sad in spots. Very well written.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Highly recommend!!

    If you love the beach and love to read about relationships, strong women and such, then pick up this book! I was sad when it was over, I enjoyed it that much!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    Did not like this book

    I'm sorry but I did not like this book at all. I thought the writing was very poor and the characters were not believable. The only thing I did like about it was that the author wrote about the characters in sections. I stuck with it because I paid for it, otherwise I would not have finished it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Loved this book. It was agreat easy summer time read. I liked

    Loved this book. It was agreat easy summer time read. I liked reading about different people with different lives and problems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Good enough

    Nothing outstanding here. It was a pleasant read. Loved the old folk and the teen boy. The adults were stereotypical romance fare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Enjoyed the book

    I enjoyed this book. Each section was narrated by a different family each month that they rented a beach house. I really felt these peoples pain and joy. It's just life and what it can dish out. I could relate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    I enjoyed this book, I would like to see a sequel, follow up on

    I enjoyed this book, I would like to see a sequel, follow up on what happens next.  I liked the way it was written.  Each month broken up,but would love to know what happens next. I will probably purchase/read more of Georgia Bockoven books, this is my first.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Loved this story love all the characters that took turns staying at the beach house. All blended into each other very well.
    Highly recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Not impressed

    I got so caught up in part one that i became frusterated when the book switched gears.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Gabriel

    *schlouches in a chair not knowing who to talk to and what to say*

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    You should read it if you like danielle steel

    It's great book because of the wonderful storyline with perfectly sketched characters! It's a book with a simple storyline yet you get drawn into it beacuse of each of the completely personal characters who reach out to you and become real!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Bri

    Took two tests on the same day. I HATE TESTS!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    Mavey

    Me too sista!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Wonderful Story!

    I really enjoyed this book & the various storylines involving the people who rented the beach house during the summer. I would recommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6